We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoulutely one of best resorts I have ever stayed at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    132
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
203
435
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Transfered to Coco Beach from the property next door, Belizean Shores. Both properties are managed by the same company. Although it was difficult and required much negotiating, we were pleased with the quality difference as compared to Belizean Shores. Coco Beach is a new condo development with a decent pool. That's it, nothing more, nothing less. There is no restaurant and no food service of any kind. There is no store to buy anything on the property and you are several miles and an expensive boat trip from town. There was a pool bar with limited hours and unreasonably high prices. You have to walk to Belizean Shores to eat at their restaurant which is is only okay and priced high enough you would never see a local eat there.

The condos at Coco Beach are beautiful and new. All high end appliances and very nice craftsmanship. Just keep in mind if you plan on eating or drinking anything in your condo, you have to make it into town to shop. Boat is $8.00 each way and it runs every two hours during day and hourly in the evening.

There are several restaurants within walking distance at neighboring resorts. We tried each of them and we were very disappointed. VERY high priced and the food was marginal. Again, the restaurants are designed for tourists only, you will never see a local dining in any of the restaurants nor would they ever pay the prices.

This was our second trip to San Pedro. Over 16 days in San Pedro, we had the opportunity to try many restaurants in town and out. We strongly recommend the Lazy Croc, excellent BBQ food. Also, you must eat at Mangos in town. It is probably the best food on the island. The tackle Box does have good burgers as adverstised.

Bottom line is this, if you are thinking "resort", you will be disappointed. There is no room service, restaurant, entertainment or service of any kind, with the exception of very limited bar service at the pool. But if you are prepared and are willing to pack in your own supplies, you can have a relaxing stay at a beautiful waterfront condo. Maid service is marginal, they do a very basic job.

DO NOT use the tour operator at the Belizean Shores dock. Rude, horrible service and higher prices than you can find in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

I just got back from spending a week at Coco Beach! The staff was sooo friendly and the pool was the best on the island! There is some construction on the back section of the property but is did not affect our vacation at all, the front part of the resort where our room was is completely finished. I spent lots of time hanging out at the swim up pool bar, great service and awesome drinks! You have to try the Mud Slide drink at the bar at least once! The accomodations are beautiful and the bed was more comfortable than the one I have at home. We walked up and down the beach and nothing else compares, FYI definitely stay here! They offer lots of excursions, the snorkel trip we took on the catamaran was the best, another must do while you are visiting. I would recommend Coco Beach to anyone, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We just returned from the most relaxing week of our lives, and it was largely thanks to Coco Beach Resort! From the minute we arrived, we were continuously impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the beauty of the resort (especially the pool!), and the cleanliness and quality of our room. On top of all that, we needed only walk out to the resort's dock to sign up for snorkeling, scuba diving, or sailing!

During our stay, we visited several other resorts on Ambergris Caye for drinks/appetizers, and we couldn't find any that we thought looked nicer than Coco Beach. We could not have asked for a better resort experience! I HIGHLY recommend it if Ambergris Caye is in your travel plans.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Coco Beach was undoubtedly one of the nicer hotels/condos I saw while visiting Belize. When I first arrived, I was under the impression that the place was not under construction, but it was. The major downside was that there is no restaurant. Belizean Shores which is the neighboring hotel has a restaurant and the menu did not offer a huge selection. The houskeeping services did the best they could, but I have to admit that upon return from snorkeling, I found a tampon in the toilet. It was not mine and I was not happy to see this. For those of you planning on staying at Coco Beach be aware that the electricity went out just about everyday at 8 in the morning. I advise you about this, because it kept us from getting into the safe when we were getting ready to leave. Plan to get your things out of the safe before 8 in the morning because the electricity is out for at least half an hour. Despite the construction and the tampon incident, I would say this is a nice place. The pool is beautiful. Sandra at the front desk was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fabulous Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye in Belize. Our beachfront resort is just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town. The resort provides complimentary water taxi shuttle from San Pedro airport to the property. A short boat ride, bicycle ride or golf cart ride back to town will get you to the shops and restaurants located in the town center. A Belize vacation in paradise is the ideal therapy for those who just want to get away from it all! The weather in Belize is ideal. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, Hammocks and the most incredible swimming pool on the island. Coco Beach offers luxurious accommodations in a quaint environment. Coco Beach offers numerous activities including diving, fishing, day tours, volleyball, sailing, kayaking and much more! Plus there is an outside Coco Cafe Providing fresh pastries goodies and specialty coffee as well as quick lunch options. The Coco Cabana Pool Bar features a swim up bar, snacks and a selection of specialty drinks. Coco Beach Resort is the right choice for your Barefoot Vacation in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.