We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelizable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Unbelizable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can barely find the words to describe how incredible this resort was. The rooms were IMMACULATE, the staff was so friendly and attentive, and went out of their way to assure that you were having the time of your life.. from the bar tenders, to even the grounds keepers, everyone made our comfort their priority.

Each morning the sandy areas were raked so that you could enjoy fresh, clean patterns to walk upon - that is attention to detail right there!

What we didn't know going into this vacation was that the resort is about 70% privately owned, so while there are only about 13 hotel rooms, the other buildings on the resort hold condos... what this meant to us, was that the experience was personal and intimate. There was never a struggle to find an open pool lounge chair, and you rarely had to wait for service at the swim up pool bar.

All of our wants and needs were catered to without flaw or second thought.

Cannot wait to visit again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101, and the only complaint was that it was directly next to the maintenance close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    135
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
211
454
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband & I stayed at Coco Beach Resort in May 2014, in a casita. We would highly recommend this resort. The staff was amazing. We had no complaints our entire trip, the snorkeling was incredible and the pool was great as well. We can't wait to book our next trip here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I went on a double honeymoon here (with her sister and her husband) and it was awesome! We stayed at Coco Beach Jan 8 - 15, 2015. I'll break it down in order. When you get to the Belize International Airport I would recommend taking the puddle jumper plane from there or the Municipal airport to San pedro instead of the water taxi. We took the water taxi and it was hella scary....they said the water was pretty rough that evening but still...crazy hour and a half ride....with the side door to the boat flying open half way through the ride and the front windows falling down letting all the rain in (we ended up flying back to Belize City when the vacation was over even though we had paid for round trip boat ride). I believe the round trip water taxi was $35US. The one-way flight from San Pedro to Belize International Airport was $83US (same price for both airlines out of San Pedro). Pay the extra $$ and fly.

We had booked the two bedroom seaview suite, but once we arrived to check-in we were pleasantly suprised that they had upgraded us to the Penthouse (room D5) Suite free of charge! In our 3 bed 2 bath penthouse there were two bottles of champagne waiting and lovely hearts (made of towels) and flowers on our beds. The room was amazing with a full kitchen, AC, fans in every room and a HUGE balcony overlooking the pool with the volleyball net. The beds were comfortable as well.

The first thing we did was head down to the outdoor (swim-up) bar. This is a super nice area! The bartenders were just fantastic. Armando, Little Eddy, Mike, Deon...all of them were great and even remembered our names. They made the bar a fun place to hang out and would give you a shout out if they saw you walking around the resort. It's also nice that you can start a bar tab say at 9am when they open and keep it open the entire day until you pay the bill at night. Ohh and the water around the swim-up bar is like hot-tub water (the normal pool water is fairly chilly, not heated). I also have to give a shout-out to Larry the Pool Guy!! He is such an asset to Coco Beach, so friendly and helpful. He is always smiling and very outgoing. He cut fresh coconuts for us to drink the water and gave the girls flowers to put in their hair. It's too bad that the resort puts him on "towel duty" where he can't leave the towel stand; it seemed like he would much rather be walking around tending to all the needs of pool guests; this is something management should look into. Anyhow, the staff in the front office were great as well. We had a few maintenance requests for the room (like our microwave just stopped working) and after telling the front desk, the maintenance staff were in our room within a couple hours to make the fixes (which included installing a brand new microwave). I think that covers all the staff...just great people.

You can purchase a weekly water taxi pass for $30/5days or $40/7days from the Tuff E Nuff crew at the dock outside the resort. Or you can pay $10 round-trip to go into town each time (the boats run about every couple hours). Tuff E Nuff was great for excursions (we went snorkeling Hol Chan & Shark Ray Alley; also went to Lamanai Mayan Ruins) If you have 4 or more people it makes more sense to just rent a 4-person golf cart for 4 hours to go into town (I think it was about $45US 4/hours; or $55US 6/hours). We rented the cart to go check out San Pedro and get some groceries for the room; it's mostly paved road all the way into town (there are some rough patches of dirt/puddles they are working on). Also, you can rent bikes for $5 each/day. This was really fun, we rented 4 bikes and rode down the beach to the Palapa Bar, which sits above the water and has innertubes where you can sit in the water and drink beer (but the water was kind of gross there so we didn't).

From what I saw, Coco Beach was the nices resort on the island of Ambergris Caye (although I didn't make it North of Coco Beach). They surely made our honeymoon one to remember and i'd like to say thanks to all the staff at Coco Beach and Tuff E Nuff. Soooooooo THANKS! We'll be back! Almost forgot - the Wi-Fi in the rooms is basically un-usable so make sure to go to the front desk and ask for a Wi-Fi booster...it worked great.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All the above reviews are accurate. Not one complaint. Stayed there 1-15 to 1-20, 2015 and it was fabulous. Very clean. Professional, happy and helpful staff. There was no waiting for anything---you ask for it and you got it immediately. Food was very good. Complementary items were a nice touch--in room coffee and bottled water, kayaks, paddleboards, hammocks, and a hobie cat sail boat. Excellent concierge service.

Room Tip: all rooms are fabulous no matter what location it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned last Friday from a phenomenal vacation at the Coco Beach Resort in San Pedro. The resort is beautiful and well taken care of, with the most amazing pools. There are 2 pool areas at the resort. One are is shallow and has the hot tub and pool bar located there. The other pool is deeper with a slide and a rock cliff built in the middle which kids can play and can jump from, of course I had to try it at least once. Larry the pool guy is great and always has a smile and flower for the ladies. The Cocoblanca restaurant is fabulous with many things to choose from. It is ran by Rick and Tami Farmer. They are the most friendly hosts, and go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying the food. If you go, you must ask to meet them. The pool bar food is also served from out of the restaurant, which is also outstanding. Try the bang bang shrimp, or the chicken wings, yummy! We received great service from Marcia many times while we were there. She was super friendly and made sure we were well taken care of. Our room was spotless and housekeeping did a great job each day. The view from the patio was outstanding! For breakfast, try Coco Cafe for a breakfast burrito or any of the pastries that are offered each day, very good. Another tip when visiting, there is a salvadorian restaurant on middle street in San pedro that has an awesome lobster burrito, when in season. So big it was easily split with my wife. Had it twice, wanted to go for a third but ran out of time. Can't say enough good things about Coco Beach Resort and San Pedro, Belize. Place is great, food is great, and the people are very friendly.

Room Tip: Stayed in D2. Two bedroom with an ocean and pool view. Very convient to get to beach or pool, almo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, myself and an other couple stayed here the week of January 10th. We where greeted by Julianna with cool clothes to wipe our travel weariness away. Julianna than gave us a tour of the resort and guided to the front desk where Rum punch awaited us. Yum! We meet Larry who than gave us all a welcome hug and fresh coconut filled with its natural water. Through out our stay both Julianna and Larry made sure our stay was a wonderful experience, they are lovely people. The staff are all wonderful and go out of there way to help, the resort is beautiful and immaculate as are the rooms. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here January 11-17, 2015. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is immaculate, staff is friendly and efficient, rooms lovely, pools are beautiful and the food (cafe, pool bar area & inside restaurant) good too. The location of the resort is convenient to several other good restaurants, diving, and just about a 10 minute golf cart or boat ride into town. We do not have one complaint about our experience at Coco Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2nd floor 2 BR / 1 BA unit at the rear of the complex and it was very quiet and plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 90210, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fabulous Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye in Belize. Our beachfront resort is just 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town. The resort provides complimentary water taxi shuttle from San Pedro airport to the property. A short boat ride, bicycle ride or golf cart ride back to town will get you to the shops and restaurants located in the town center. A Belize vacation in paradise is the ideal therapy for those who just want to get away from it all! The weather in Belize is ideal. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, Hammocks and the most incredible swimming pool on the island. Coco Beach offers luxurious accommodations in a quaint environment. Coco Beach offers numerous activities including diving, fishing, day tours, volleyball, sailing, kayaking and much more! Plus there is an outside Coco Cafe Providing fresh pastries goodies and specialty coffee as well as quick lunch options. The Coco Cabana Pool Bar features a swim up bar, snacks and a selection of specialty drinks. Coco Beach Resort is the right choice for your Barefoot Vacation in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.