We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay on Ambergris Caye” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay on Ambergris Caye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I took my family here in February 2014 for vacation, but also wanted to do some fishing with my 14 year old son while there. We had an incredible time. The staff at Coco Beach is the friendliest, most accommodating staff I have encountered, including letting us add another day onto our vacation without having to change rooms.
Belize is a wonderful country with so much to do and many sites to see. All you have to do is ask, and someone at Coco Beach will help you make whatever arrangements you need. I love this place so much I will be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    153
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
241
489
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I chose the Coco Beach Resort as our honeymoon hotel and couldn't have been more happy with this choice. From the moment we were greeted dockside by their staff, we felt at home and relaxed. We stayed in a standard hotel room and found it wonderfully appointed and the calm escape we were looking for. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful too. For everything we got, it was a great value and we would certainly return, hopefully one day with a family as the multiple pools and casitas would be a perfect fit.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on an upper floor if you are staying in a standard room -- unless climbing steps i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

-Arrival was instant and easy at San Pedro Water Taxi dock and we were picked up by Coco Beach local ferry drive. Rum punch and hot towels awaited us during a tour of the resort.
-The Cocoblanca Restaurant on the hotel grounds has quick service, however was extremely overpriced. It was clear we were paying for decor and the fish had very small portions.
-Local water taxis available at end of Coco Beach Pier via Coastal Express or Tuff e'nuff
-There is a Volleyball net at 1 foot deep pool, a swim up bar pool that is 4 feet deep and luke warm, and a hot tub that was cold. The largest pool was 8 feet deep and had a rock tower to jump off of which was awesome!
-At the front desk the water bottles are complimentary and with room service, including extra towels. The food is available while sitting at the pool and comes from the restaurant.
-Room had a clean large bed, plenty complimentary soaps, open shower, good a/c and fans, rooms open to pool, crown molding on walls, beach paintings, good cold fridge, many cable channels.
-THe Tuff Enuff Tours and Dive shop in front of sister resort is 5 min walk from room. Great stay just expensive at $288/ night in March.

Room Tip: Any room by the pool is perfect and it rarely gets loud during day or night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff at the resort is fantastic. All of them are super friendly and really care that you enjoy their resort. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and very well maintained. We had a 2 BR Sea Villa and it worked out great for 4 adults. It was well furnished with newer everything. Both rooms had king sized beds. We enjoyed using the pools and the kayaks. We did eat at the restaurant both in the bar area and the actual restaurant and both were good. The water taxis into San Pedro ($10 round trip) worked really well for us. They have a schedule that is pretty convenient on the times there and back. You don't need to rent a golf cart for the week, We rented one just for 4 hours and it was more than enough time to get to San Pedro for a little sight seeing, shopping and a quick happy hour. I think we paid $50 for that adventure and rented it right at the resort. The resort has a association with Tuff Enough tours and you can book trips at the end of the dock with them. They were a first class operation also. Loved the resort. We would go back for sure. Bring a flashlight for the walks along the beach to area restaurants. Lazy Croc is a must visit for great bbq. I cannot thank all of the staff (Coco Beach and Tuff Enough) enough for everything they did.

Room Tip: The Sea Villas all have ocean views. The other rooms/areas face a really nice pool with a slide. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I booked our trip to San Pedro in March and found a decent deal on Coco Beach Resort. Since I had never been to the island, I wasn't sure what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was stunning, the staff was great and the overall vacation was fabulous.

Travel by air from the US was non-eventful. There is basically one flight into the island and back to the US each day by the 3 major airlines in the states. From Atlanta, the flight was about 3 hours and there was a two hour time difference.

We did splurge and booked additional air travel from the mainland to the island via Tropic Air. Travel was quick and efficient and without issue. I was happy not to have to take a boat for the longer ride from the mainland. However, I understand that the travel via boat from the mainland is also an easy trip, once you get from the airport to the docks.

We stayed for a week in April 2014, traveling from Wednesday to Wednesday. I would highly recommend mid-week travel and the prices were a little lower and the airports, check-ins, etc. were a bit faster. Still, given the upcoming holiday it was a fairly 'full' hotel, but you might not have ever realized it! The resort was fairly empty on Friday afternoon thru late Saturday afternoon as this is the time that most guests either arrive or depart.

The hotel took care of our transportation from the San Pedro airport to the hotel. We took a 2 minute taxi ride from the airport to the dock... and then a 15 minute boat ride to the hotel from there. Same for the way back upon checkout. No issues!

The hotel is well maintained and our basic hotel room was lovely. In fact, the ENTIRE hotel was lovely!! It was equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, lovely king bed, fabulous HUGE shower. They provided 2 nice size bottles of water daily, but the hotel water was 'drinkable' too. The hotel was clean and comfortable and well appointed. We had no issue with water pressure or bugs of any kind. We had a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool but never found it too be too loud.. well except when the power went out for 4 hours and there was no hum of the air conditioner to cover the sounds of the kiddos in the pool.

We had no problems with our internet connection UNTIL the power went out, but in talking to the desk and explaining we needed the connection to be able to communicate with our kiddos at home, they provided us with a myFi and we were set.

The was one day with an afternoon power outage that effected the entire island and I was very surprised to find there was no back up generator for the hotel.. but there was one for the restaurant. We lost power for several hours in the evening but by bed time, it had been restored. We did have the power go out 4 other times throughout the middle of the night, but it was quickly restored (and each time it happened, we were awakened by all the off and on of the systems kicking off and on).

The food on the island is pricey and it is really not much of a better deal to get your own snacks, etc a the little grocery stores in town. Simply put, EVERYTHING is shipped in so the prices reflect that. So, plan a little more for a food and beverage budget and ENJOY the amazing fresh fish and seafood options.

The 'fancy' Italian restaurant in the resort was pricey and nothing great. I ordered gnocchi (a favorite) only to find that their supposed Italian Chef served it so overcooked it just was a mush. My hubby had a steak (which I was told had to be flown in (yep, that makes sense) and it was ok.

According to the hotel concierge, the hotel restaurant and bar are not actually run by the hotel itself. Instead, they are managed and serviced by outside companies. They will however allow you to charge food and beverages to your room without issue.

The pools and grounds were sparkling clean, the beach well maintained and the property was lovely! There really doesn't seem to be a bad room in the place.

We found our hotel was a bit out of the way, as we were a good 3.5 miles north of the bridge into downtown. The golf cart rentals via the hotel were OUTRAGEOUS but we did get around by water taxi quite well.

We found it cheapest and easiest to get a weekly pass for the Tuff Enuf Water taxi and just had to time our outings into town by their schedule. They would basically take you from the hotel dock to the heart of downtown to a dock at 'Ruby's.

We basically went into the 'downtown' area of San Pedro for most of our meals and outings. (I will do reviews of the restaurants separately). We learned that if you ask, the taxi will drop you off at the resorts and/or restaurants along their routes as long as you can time your outings to their standard schedule and they will stop at other places as long as you ask!

My husband and I are certified scuba divers, so basically, we spent our days doing that. Before we left for our trip, I scoured TripAdviser for reviews and recommendations on the local dive shops and chose BelizeProDivers in advance of our arrival. Via email, I set us up for 3 days of diving prior to our arrival. We were happily diving as early as our 2nd morning. I have also reviewed the dive shop separately, but I will say here that they were FABULOUS!!

On our arrival on Wednesday afternoon, we got checked into the hotel and found that we were going to want to get some snacks etc. and made the decision to have dinner 'downtown'. We went to the tour desk (right on the Coco Beach dock) and purchased the taxi pass and set off for the 'heart of the city'. Tickets were priced at $40 usd each for unlimited one week travel.

Once downtown, we had dinner at Elvi's Kitchen (fabulous, and again, I reviewed separately) and then found a local shop to pick up groceries for the room. We headed back to the hotel, had a nice evening beverage at the pool bar and slept soundly!

For the next five mornings, the BelizeProDiver shop picked up us in their boat right at our hotel dock (times varied a bit but mostly they arrived by 8:30am) and we set off for a 20 minute boat ride to the shop. We had only planned to dive for 3 days but had such a splendid time that we made arrangements to add 2 more days of diving to our plan. For 5 days of diving, for 2 persons, including transport to the dive shop, air, boat fees, snacks between dives, etc, we paid $600 usd!!! We couldn't be more pleased!! (remember we had all our own equipment!)

At the end of each day of diving, we would either come back to the hotel and nap.. or have the dive shop drop us off downtown so we could get a nice lunch and then head back to the hotel for some afternoon sun and drinks! Later, we would venture into town for dinner or other. Most nights, we simply dropped into bed by 9pm (it gets dark very early here compared to Indiana) and slept like babies.

Since we didn't dive on the last full day, we did our own version of the 'Walk Down the Beach Pub Crawl'. We left at 11am and walked a good 2 miles down the beach, ending at Palapa's Bar for lunch. It was a long and warm walk, so we stopped several times along the way at various resorts and bars to 'sample' their offerings. It was not an 'easy' walk that I would recommend to any one not in decent shape due simply to the distance and the heat (90 degree day, full sun).

Along the walk, we found an abandoned Mormon Retreat center (closed), A Yoga Hotel, Captain Morgan's retreat (complete with a hotel room size casino that that is a MUST MISS), Aji's Tapas bar (where we returned for dinner it was so cute) and more. We passed lovely seaside mansions and condos.

I never really like to go back to the same vacation spot more than once (simply because we have a huge world to explore!) .. but I will seriously consider a repeat of this one!

Kuddos!

Room Tip: No spa or fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Resort was amazing. We were a little hesitant to book so "far" from San Pedro but never felt it was an issue being away from town. Tuff E Nuff is an excursion agency located on the property that also runs the water taxi service from the resort to town and back at various times throughout the day, and we found that to be sufficient to get us into town twice during our 6 day stay. Otherwise we strolled the beach and found places both north and south of Coco for food (10-20 minute walks on the beach-ideal after lounging in the sun all day!). I did think the food on the property was overpriced (spaghetti for $30?!) so we always went elsewhere (would rather spend $30 for fresh fish, authentic cuisine, etc).

A few things that may our stay especially wonderful:

-Coco Beach took care of arranging our flight from Belize City to San Pedro, then the water taxi was waiting for us. Upon arrival in San Pedro and prior to getting into the water taxi, we were shown a grocery and stocked up on breakfast basics for the week. Other reviewers complained about food prices...we bought a dozen eggs, several bags of chips, fresh tortillas, cheese, salsa, cereal and milk for $40 USD...didnt think it was bad at all. Also awesome that we didnt make a separate trip to find this-it was immediately offered up as an option and couldnt have been simpler.

-Larry the pool guy. This guy rules. He gave us a heads up of places he loved to eat in town, told us about the Chicken Drop (hilarious gambling event in town where money is bet on numbers 1-100 and a chicken, after being fed coconut milk, is shaken and whatever number it poos on, that person wins $100). He got us fresh coconuts almost daily at the pool and threw down some rap at our request. Just a cool, charming guy that really stood out.

-Zoby and Marcie were also especially hospitable, helping to arrange tours, recommending places in town, and just generally being extra friendly, remembering our names, etc.

-Tuff E Nuff excursions were great. We did the Mexico rock snorkeling, Hol Chan, and a Xunantunich tour and all were smooth, the guides were EXTREMELY informative, and just all in all memorable trips that were well worth the price tags.

-Food-belizean cuisine is to die for. Again, we read countless reviews of crazy prices, but people, get off the resorts to get more authentic and affordable food!!! We actually had a night where we ate from street vendors only, off carts in town, spent $10 USD total, and it was some of our favorites (tacos, tamales, pupusas, fresh papaya, etc). Elvis is not to be missed in town-have the grouper with black bean sauce-best bite of Belizean food hands down. Ahi, about a 20 min walk towards town from coco beach, was great with a spectacular atmosphere/setting (xmas lights strung from tree canopies on the beach!). We thought Capricorn was good, but the above were far superior.

-Casita #1-gave us privacy, was amazingly soundproof, and allowed for cooking breakfast, stashing snacks, etc. Also had filtered water from the fridge so would fill up waterbottles throughout the day.

-Weather was perfect-mid 80's, no humidity, breeze. Never had an issue with bugs (we would spray just in case at night).

My only other gripe about the resort (other than the mildly offensive price tags of Cocoblanca, the onsite restaurant) is no gym/treadmill, anything. We are a family of runners/marathoners and while we made the pot holed road work for running purposes, the heat was brutal. For all of the amenities, a small gym seems like an obvious addition to an otherwise really exceptional resort.

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We are big international travellers and never think about going back to a place twice, but found Belize and the island of San Pedro to be an exception to our otherwise fairly tight rule.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful property - just like pictures on site and just as big. We stayed in a 3BR penthouse. I read a lot of reviews and have a few comments: the bugs weren't bad at all since we went not during the rainy season and had a breeze the whole week. Yes, showers had horrible water pressure (could only use one shower at a time) and it was COLD water... but we knew it was an issue and accepted it ahead of time. The property mgr said the units were originally planned as residential and not as a resort so the wrong size of pipe was installed? How they kept building units with the same problem, I don't know.

Staff there and anywhere we went were always friendly. Ordered our groceries and they were in our unit upon arrival.

We got there by water taxi (which I did not read anyone reviewing - seems like most fly). The trip there and back was not bad - hot on the way there, but much less expensive if you are traveling in a bigger group - which we were. 1.5 hour trip - on a "city bus" on the water is a good way to think of it. Only stops at one other caye before Arbergris caye - but it's a quick stop.

Pool is awesome - bar food is fine, drinks are very weak. Buy your own rum and juice to make your own in your room if that bothers you.

Very quiet at night, construction next door - but that didn't bother us. Beds very comfortable. Resort very clean.

Our boys rented bikes and rode to San Pedro many days (they are 17/18) and had no trouble. They also rented a golf cart - were stopped once to have their license checked in San Pedro. Back rode is very potholed 1/2 the way to town and then was a smooth ride - but it didn't rain once when we were there.

You will not be lounging on the beach - which I wondered about before going - but since the pool was so nice, it didn't matter. Looked at other resorts and none had a better pool, for sure. Even the sister resort next door. If you do go to eat at Belize Shores next door, be prepared for the manager to intrude on your conversation and just feel very uncomfortable there. He probably thinks he is being welcoming, but it's just awkward. Food was fine though.

Ajis was the best meal, "The Bar" was dirty and overrated unless you are looking for a place to get smashed. NOT the "best burger" ever as some are advertising - burger at Coco Beach was better. Winery/bar down the beach had very friendly bartender (and dogs).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, Hammocks and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking and volleyball, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.