We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort and pool is amazing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
February Special - 20%OFF
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Resort and pool is amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just got back from Coco Beach, great resort, pools are very nicely designed, swim up bar in the shade was great. We were in the two room suites at the rear of the property, full kitchen, loved the blender for cocktails. Nick the site manager greeted us at the resort dock. Walked us to the lobby, checked in and walked us over to our suite. Stunning views! WOW!

We walked over to Captain Morgan's store for breakfast stuff our second day there. Not used to their milk or eggs, but we made our toast and coffee daily. We asked for more creamer from front desk and they can sell you a packet, so it would be easier to just buy a container at the market. We purchased a case of their Belikan beer for $40.30 USD just had to leave an $8 deposit for bottles. The Captain Morgan's store staff even got us a ride back with our case of beer! Nice!
Overall AMAZING place. Milton, Michael, Deon and Joe were at the bar every day, saying hello by name when we walked by, ready with a beer as we sat down.
Larry the pool guy I believe was THE best staff person. He had the same personality as the bartenders but he went a step further to address any need we had poolside. Brought towels, moved umbrellas and ALWAYS with a huge smile. Just a really happy person.
It would be wonderful if the front lobby staff caught some of Larry's energy. They were unfriendly almost, every time we went into the lobby it felt as we were bothering them, not once or twice but every time. At other resorts or hotels you feel welcomed by lobby staff, smile on their face and asking what they can do to improve your visit. That was just not the case when we went into the lobby. No one was down right rude, just unfriendly.

Few helpful hints, front office shared two days into our trip that guests can use the phone to make calls for free using Vonage. (Would have been nice to know so we could have checked in with the family that we had arrived safely.)
Instead of paying $6 per trip for water taxi, we paid $30 USD charged to our room for unlimited trips.
It would have been nice to hear from the resort staff that there are weekly events going on. Tuesdays Captain Morgans has street vendors come to their facility with music and food for purchase.
Wednesday's the sister resort Belizean Shores next door has an event with music and food for purchase.

Few small things, but overall the facility was amazing, pools and areas surroundings were absolutely immaculate.
Did NOT care for food at Shells next door.
Finally the resort has been saying they will have a restaurant, but everyone we spoke with NOT staff said that seems like it will never happen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Advance, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful resort with a wonderful staff to make your stay unforgettable. Only thing that kept it from being rated excellent by me was the resturant not being completed and open. Weather was perfect! We took a snorkeling tour to Holo Chan and Shark Alley which we booked thru White Sands. The tour ended up being my husband,myself, and Andy our tour guide. Great time would go back again. We chose not to do too many activities so we wouldn't wear ourselves out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie31998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a great hotel with friendly staff willing to do what it takes to make you happy so long as it doesn't involve food.
Absolutely everything about this place was good to great except the food which was un-Belizeable bad.
There was some maintenance issues, the hot tub wasn't working, the men were power-washing and painting one of the buildings (by the pool).

Room Tip: Casitas are the way to go if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PseudonymPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Coco Beach is a Beautiful pristine resort located on the beach. The condos are absolutely gorgeous yet cozy. Full kitchens with state of the art appliances & the essentials. All of the staff are friendly and have impeccable manners. On site restaurant. Had a amazing private cabana dinner beachside here. You can see the Barrier reef from the condos & rooms at this resort. There is a casino walking distance next door. Of all the hotels & resorts in the area this resort is by far the classiest. Lastly, the General Manager of the resort personally greets each guest & he gives you all of the helpful information needed to get by during your vacation on the island & more. True gentleman indeed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wonderful husband surprised me with a trip to Belize for my 50th bday. Although he had the trip planned for several months, I only had a day to pack and prepare. I quickly looked online to read about Coco Beach. The website made this resort look fabulous...and it truly was! Coco Beach was an incredible place, friendly staff, gorgeous grounds, excellent accommodations, spectacular pool. In honor of my bday, they even decorated our room for our arrival. Their sister property next door also provided a great excursion company that handled our day trips. Being there during the low season made us feel like we often had the place to ourselves. It was truly Un-Belize-able!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just returned from 5 days at Coco Beach Resort, it was fantastic. Belize is amazing, the people and town of San Pedro are like no other destination in the Caribbean! It is enchanting! At Coco Beach we were greeted with a warm welcome and quickly made friends with Joe and Deon at the bar. They remembered our names through the week, were attentive and fun and made sure we had a great time! Gloria at Tuff Enuff Tours took great care in helping us plan our activities. We snorkeled Hol Chen, swam with Rays and Nurse Sharks, dove the Blue Hole, visited Mayan ruins and went cave tubing. Tuff Enuff provides private guides that ensures a customized day. Louis provided a great day of snorkeling by being our personal guide through Hol Chen. In many other locations I have been just dumped off at a sight and left to fend for myself as I explored. This was the best snorkel trip ever due to the personal attention. For some downtime we got massages on the beach with Claudia. She was fantastic!! My only advice to Coco Beach is the food needs to be improved! I recommend eating out until they update their menu and provide tastier food. Also wireless is available but mainly only at the pool. So when we were hanging at the pool bar with Deon and Joe the wireless was great but it is not available in room which is a bummer. But don't let those 2 small things prevent you from staying at Coco Beach. You will have the time of your life and be sad to leave just as we were. We are already planning to return in April!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Belize...Ambergris Caye. We chose Coco Beach resort because of the many great reviews and now reading them again - they all have said what we experienced. We found it to be a wonderful vacation spot and would certainly consider coming back again. We also found the people to be so genuinely friendly. Zoby was our first point of contact when we arrived. She really made us feel most welcome and extended such great service throughout our stay. The Resort is truly what you see on all the photos... Extremely clean, very well planned out, great pool design - we loved the Rock slide with the extra deep area for swimming, diving etc. The guys at the bar/lounge were always very attentive (but not pushy) ..so drinks or snacks by the pool were served up with a smile. The guys at Tuff E Nuff were great in organizing our tour. They were very helpful, very friendly and helpful on and off the job no matter where you met them in town. The resort has cycles and golf carts for access to San Pedro or a ride down the beach highway :-) . We had breakfast at the neighboring resort - Belizian Shores - Segret was always there to welcome us with great service and a fabulous smile. I cant say anything negative about our experience. The desk staff was always great in giving us restaurant advice, booking reservations for us at other restaurants and ensuring we were picked up and delivered by water taxi. Yes...be sure to take your OFF spray - at dusk the mosquitos are out ..so beware if they like you. If you like coffee in your room..we chose the starbucks instant route and picked up some cream at the little grocery storey. We just had a microwave/fridge/little coffee maker...but the micro and fridge did their job well for what we needed. Next time we'd pick a room with a kitchen for lighter fare and enjoy dining out in the evenings. All round - we had a fabulous time...a great vacation....and would come back without hesitation. You'll love the place.

Room Tip: The Resort has been very well laid out so I can't see there being any "bad" rooms. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
7.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#41 of 55 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#23 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
4.4 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
3.9 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#18 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar reserved for the exclusive use of our registered guests. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking, paddle boarding and weekday water aerobics, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing