We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt welcomed first step of water taxi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Felt welcomed first step of water taxi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Bartenders (Joe, Deon, Milton, Cesar) were so funny and friendly. Increadible how they could get a party started around the bar. They made us feel like instance friends. Belize shores restaurant staff worked so hard to make us feel welcome and were so hospitable. Larry the pool guy was always there to make sure we were enjoying our stay. No request of him was to big! Larry always greeted us every morning with flowers in his hand. Room was clean and welcoming!

Room Tip: Our suite overlook the pool and was close to front desk worked out well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    153
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
241
489
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Coco beach resort was gorgeous!! The view was beautiful and the bar was awesome. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Larry the pool guy was the best. He was on top of everything, making sure that we had towels, chairs, etc. and he kept the pool area very clean and organized. He even showed us how to open a coconut! He went out of his way to create a heart in the sand for our honeymoon. I would recommend this resort 100%. I would recommend going during regular season, seeing as though there were many restaurants within walking distance that were closed during low season (September).

Room Tip: If you go during low season get a room with a kitchen, otherwise you're going into town for all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was such an awesome hotel! The views were gorgeous, the food was great, the staff was excellent! I don't know what else to say about them! The Bartenders (Joe, Deon, Milton, Cesar) were so funny and friendly. Segrit at the resort next door was excellent and friendly at the restaurant and such a hard worker. She was very open and we were able to ask her all kinds of questions and she was so helpful. The front desk was incredible setting everything up for us. While we were there we had trouble with our phone in the room and they let us make international calls from the front desk. The room was amazing. We were in E3 and I would recommend anyone who goes here to spend the money and get this room. Its directly above the bar and over looks the ocean and pools. The beaches we amazing as well with awesome little shells and fish. We had massages in our room which were amazing. I can't say enough about this resort. Its the one place we decided we would actually go back! We're already planning it!

Room Tip: Anything above the pool is amazing but they are all good! They are so spacious and everything is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you know you are going to the Ambergis Caye and need a beautiful and accomodating place to stay then Coco Beach is the place. We were slow to warm because had just come from a 5 star eco-lodge in the jungle, but after after getting acquainted with the area it is was evident that Coco Beach is far superior to all others. The pool area was absolutely amazing and worth the stay in itself! The pool accommodates honeymooners wanting privacy and families wanting to play hard. The rooms were very comfortable....A/C...hallelujah! The resort is away from a lot of the action so plan on funds to help you commute. Golf carts and water taxis are expensive. The other down side was accesibility to food. The restaurant was in a weird place, and although you could order good food poolside, it just felt strange because they had to tote the food so far. There are not many restuarants close to the hotel, hence the $$$ needed for transport or long beach walks (which were actually kinda nice).

The half day snorkel tour was by far the highlight. I have snorkeled all over the world and have never seen the diversity in species of fish and coral in my life! Absolutely amazing!

Be forewarned that they are doing construction on the building near the pools and all around the perimeter of the hotel. Also there is no wall or fence around the resort which just felt weird...like it was unfinished or something. I think they are still working out kinks, but it seems well managed and getting better every day! You won't find anything better...the next closest might be the Grand Caribe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As soon as you step onto the dock at Coco Beach Resort you are greeted by Zoby. She has cool wash cloths on a tray to refresh you after your long journey. She then walks you pass the massage tables on the beach and through the paths along the pools and swim up bar to the reception area. There you are encouraged to quench your thirst with a Tropical rum beverage and showed to your room. Our beautiful hotel room had a wide balcony overlooking the pool with the rock water slide and sandy beach. We were guests at the end of the hurricane season, which I was told by the locals, was the best time for scuba diving and snorkeling because the waters along the reef are the calmest. We kayaked and snorkeled out at the reef, which is just as short kayak ride from the dock. Our excursions on the mainland were planned with the help of the onsite services of the Tuff E Nuff Tour Guides. The only downside was that the restaurant wasn't completed yet, so we had to walk across to the sister resort Belizean Shores, which really wasn't bad at all. It was a great time to go because we basically had the resort to ourselves. Quiet and peaceful. There is no way you won't leave here well rested and planning your next trip back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

coco beach Offers a great View of the Barrier reef and offers a great place for Family reunions.
Also a great place for family to have fun in the Huge water slide.
Come Prove me correct....Hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Best service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband booked a surprise dive trip to Ambergris Caye, Belize, at this amazing Resort. We stayed in one of the Villas and it was absolutely beautiful! After a quick water taxi from town to the resort, Zoby, the guest manager, greeted us at the dock with cool wet towels to freshen after our trip. She then took us on a tour of the grounds as our bags were looked after. We were also greeted with a tropical punch (optional rum). Zoby was wonderful and ended our tour in our villa with a sincere promise to take care of anything we might need. All staff at Coco Beach were so warm and pleasant. Can't go without mentioning Larry, the pool guy! He offered great suggestions for our trips into town. The pools are beautiful. The beach is pretty, but not for swimming, as because there is a barrier reef, seaweed grows in the shallows. The complimentary kayaks are a fun little snorkle trip out to the reef. We used Tuff E Nuff for our diving, which is located at the sister resort next door. They were wonderful! Although it was their slow season, I was shocked how few divers there were! Truly, that was fine by us! More personal dives! "AC," our dive master, and our boat captain(Adrian?, sorry, bad with names) were a blast! A beautiful live reef, tropical fish, rays, turtles, and sharks. He saved the best for last as we fed the nurse sharks the last day! We got to pet them like puppies! Amazing! Especially for someone who prefer not to see sharks! The restaurant and coffee shop were closed, but you could get food from the bar and room service. We had dinner at Shells @ the Shores next door at the sister resort. It was delicious! Since it was slow season, a lot of restaurants were closed, but we still felt we had enough to chose from. Town was a quick water taxi ride to more restaurants and bars. When I read Trip Advisor reviews, some people complained about lack of food choices, but I would not let that dissuade you from staying at Coco Beach. It was paradise for us and we will definitely go back...during the slow season!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1 | San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye xxxxx, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning waterfront Coco Beach Resort is located on the island of Ambergris Caye, Belize, 3.5 miles north of San Pedro Town and the island's only airstrip. Resort guests can expect a subtropical climate, Palm trees, Coconuts, Hammocks and the island's most incredible free form swimming pool and swim up bar. Luxurious accommodations, great staff, complimentary kayaking and volleyball, various food and beverage options, on call spa services, complimentary WIFI in public areas and onsite vacation planning/concierge service ensure an unforgettable vacation experience. A team of dedicated reservations professionals are available to plan your stay as well as your transfers from the Belize International airport to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel San Pedro
Coco Beach San Pedro
Coco Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.