We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and walking distance from hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jambel's Jerk Pit

Jambel's Jerk Pit
1) On the Beach at the Sun Breeze Suites | 2) North of Town 5 Miles, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501-226-3515
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Description: We are specialized in Jamaican/Belizean Cuisine. Irie Dinning Experience.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food and walking distance from hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Restaurant is conveniently located next door to La Perla del Caribe, where we stayed.

Food was good and prices were very reasonable. Jerk chicken is really good. Staff is very friendly. They do have a full bar as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Jamaican me crazy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fitz, the owner and chef at Jambel's Jerk Pit is as genuine as they come! Combining his friendly islander persona with some fantastic seafood makes Jambel's a must!

I will note there are two locations - we dined at the North one, in-between Matachica Resort and Portofino.

Just after sunset we walked the beach up to Jambel's. Being on the early side of the dinner hour, we had the entire restaurant to ourselves. For a starter we had the conch fritters - moist, fresh and delicious. We then split the jerk seafood mixed plate - a combination of lobster, fish and shrimp. There was not too much spice, but just enough Jamaican flare to make it a meal to remember!

If in the area, stop in, say hello to Fitz, enjoy a cold Belikin and some fantastic food that is sure to Jamaica you crazy too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayettville, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in a house just a short walk up the beach on North Ambergis and went to Jambel's twice for dinner, once ate in, once to take out. We had the jerk chicken and pork, both were great and the key lime pie is like none you've ever tasted before. Fitz is fun to chat with and you can tell he really loves to cook for people. The oxtail gravy is over the top good! We were there during the slow season, yet the food was gourmet, add an ice cold beer - What could be better????
Jack, Sharon, Alan & Juli

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great spicy ceviche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed very close and ate every night of my stay, six days. I felt very at home eating here. The ja making me crazy shrimp was awesome. A must to visit if your in Ambergris Caye.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Tibás, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Jamaican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food is soooo good, the only bad thing is the service, its like if the guyz get angry when someone goes to the restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambel's Jerk Pit also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Jambel's Jerk Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jambel's Jerk Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.