We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Colony Island Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Colony Island Villas to your Saves list
Grand Colony Island Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Special
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have stayed at the Grand Colony for over 4 years and would not stay anywhere else. The property is new, only a few years old and the best on Ambergris Caye. Spacious and , comfortable, with all the amenities one would expect of a luxury property, including a large state of the art kitchen.

We are conveniently located a mile south of San Pedro and the airport, a pleasant walk on the beach, and near some of the best restaurants on the island. Large beachfront as well as a large pool area that is never busy.

Service is always prompt and most helpful if needed. Daily cleaning and frequent changing of beds keeps things looking just great.

We like to share Grand Colony with family and friends and have brought guests on several occasions and they have always been impressed. We have spent time on other Caribbean islands, but have never found a better combination of rooms, beach location and price anywhere. This is our home in Belize.

If you appreciate a bit of luxury in your vacation plans I would strongly recommend you consider Grand Colony Villas, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Our stay at Grand Colony Island Villas was better than anticipated. We stayed in a third floor 2 Bedroom middle unit. Although there are no elevators on the property, the third floor unit was worth the exercise to have a view of the ocean from our balcony.

The unit was complete and well appointed with all the necessary ammenities, such as dishwasher, microwave, kitchen utensils, jacuzzi tub, and washer/dryer. We cooked our morning meal and chose to go to the many local resturants in the area during the evening. Many resturants can be reached with just a short walk along the beach- One of our favorites was Wild Mangos.

The room service was fantastic. Each day, our linens and towels were changed. In addition, new pool towels were supplied. The service personnel were very attentive and even turned on our dishwasher when we forgot so we could have clean dishes upon our return.

The staff at GCIV was very helpful and a high level of concern for our comfort and satisfaction. At one point, a storm had knocked out the power and the circuit breaker to the hot water heater was tripped. Romar came to fix the problem after hearing of our cold shower. GCIV has a power generator back up so electricity outages are not normally an issue.

We chose to use the local dive shop, Bottom Time, and was very happy with the location to our villa and the level of expertise with local divemasters- Eddy and Will.

Some things to be aware of are the wifi internet is not always available and there is some road noise close to the bedrooms. Otherwise, GCIV is a wonderful place to plan a vacation. We would definately stay here again if we return to Ambergris Caye!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Grand Colony. We had a two bedroom villa which was very spacious and had a pool side view. We also had a porch that was right next to the pool where we could eat our meals or just relax. The pool is probably one of the best features. It was large, deep enough, but not too deep and had side wading pools.

The villa also had a full kitchen. Although we ate out several times, we purchased a lot of groceries during our stay which helped to keep our meal costs in check. I loved being able to get up, have my cereal and coffee, and be ready for action!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

If you know of the hidden treasure of Belize - and you are looking for great accommodation - then Grand Colony Villa's is one of the best options.

Having been to Belize 5 times - staying at lots of different resorts - this was definitely the best value - best option.

Facility is well finished - luxurious - comfortable.

Pool is great for the kids. Beach is immaculate.

Close to town - but not too close.

Super friendly staff.

Highly recommended for family and groups.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Really nice palce to stay. The rooms are very nice and have every amenity. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I can think of not one complaint. The rooms and grounds were spotless, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Grand Colony exceeded my expectaions. The place was immaculate, and looked as if it new. The value was incredible.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.4 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
8.5 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
5.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Colony Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Colony Island Villas

Address: Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Colony Island Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Hotel in San Pedro Belize. Grand Colony Island Villas is self catering Beachfront Hotel consisting of 15 Luxurious Superior Villas, conveniently located on a luxury haven beach front property. Which is a paradise of well being, with panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean with pristine Sunrise. Step into luxury with unprecedented accommodations and service, since 2005. Grand Colony Island Villas is the perfect place for Belize Vacation, whether its a family, Weddings, Honeymooners or Anniversaries. If you are traveling for relaxation, looking for a bit of adventure, come to our paradise Hotel, we can help you to plan an array of outdoor island activities including snorkelling, scuba certification, Free paddle boarding, Free Kayaks, Fee Bicycles, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Colony Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Colony Island Villas Hotel San Pedro
Grand Colony Island Villas Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Colony Island Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.