We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Colony Island Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Colony Island Villas to your Saves list
Grand Colony Island Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath pool side unit and were very satisfied with the convenience to the pool and ocean. We vacation at least once a year in Belize and really enjoy our stay at Grand Colony. The accommodations were comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful and we hope to return again next year.

Room Tip: Pool side is very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmopan, Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our first impression (and our last) was "wow!". We first visited 2 months ago and had to come back. Our first visit was with extended family (from my 6 yr old to my 60+ relatives) and everyone absolutely enjoyed the fabulous environment ... from the gorgeous deco of the comfortable apartments to the lush beautiful garden surrounding the grounds and the pool. I know its for holidays but one of my favorite was that the kitchenette had everything, almost every gadget you could need to prepare any meal - and a gourmet one for that! We even found books and family games in the apartment! It was more than a home away from home! Have had 100% satisfaction on both occasions and will be back! Keep up the great job Grand Colony staff!

Room Tip: You get the best rates in Summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were so pleased with the Grand Colony Villas. We had a 2-bedroom/2-bath pool side and thought the villa was very large, well-equipped, and beautifully decorated. It had everything we needed and more. The staff was very friendly and helpful - although we didn't have much need to ask for help. The security guards were also friendly and quite helpful.
We felt the walk to town was just about right - maybe 20-25 minutes - and was our daily exercise but if you don't like to walk then a golf cart would be helpful here. We brought lots of food with us in our checked bags and once we purchased just a few perishables, we were able to prepare one or two meals a day in the villa and saved a lot of $$.
The beach was well-maintained and one of the better beaches around - though the rope ladder off the pier was very difficult to use - so we didn't swim all that much.
Rico's restaurant next door was very good and you can charge meals to your room. It's in a beautiful location right on the water.
The Grand Colony was a perfect place to stay - far enough from San Pedro to be quiet, but close enough to walk in every day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We wanted to break out of the traditional Hawaii-like resort to feel like we were part of this small fishing colony vs. American tourists. So, we were very happy with this spacious two bedroom, two bath condo. It provided a great balance of "resort-like" ocean views and amenities (spacious living area with vaulted ceilings, wooden beams, gorgeous granites and tiles, jacuzzi tub, modern appliances, HDTV et al), combined with a friendly, more intimate experience which we attribute to Romar and is wonderful staff. Pool was also nice but we most most of the time on their beautiful beach... right in front of us. We treated the teenagers to their own golf cart which gave them some independence during the day to tool around the island - and June Flowers - their wonderful guest services representative helped us find all of the best restaurants for family time every evening. They don't have a restaurant on the premise which we originally thought would be an issue, but there is a great breakfast/ lunch and I think dinner venue a five minute walk away sitting out on the ocean on the neighboring hotel property - so it was close enough to feel "on premise". I believe that this restaurant also provides room service to the Grand Colony as they are part of the same property. It was also nice to have the grocery store down the street - a five minute walk. Great location to ... everything! A wonderful 10-minute drive into town every day on our golf carts. Many thanks for a wonderful family experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Grand Colony with our friends in early June. The condo was fantastic -- clean, well-maintained and with an air conditioner that kicked butt. (This was important.) The patio with the beach view was fantastic as well. We also spent a lot of time at the pool, which was also well maintained and clean.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The security guard was very helpful in providing directions and tips and even helped carry groceries from the golf cart to our building.

Lots of great restaurants nearby too, including a couple that are within easy walking distance.

If you're looking for a relaxed, laid-back beach vacation, this is the spot for you.

We will definitely be back to San Pedro and Grand Colony Island Villas. Just wish it could be sooner!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The best thing of all was our hostess - June. Belize was Awesome. we will definately be back. The Grand Colony property and location are unbeatable. we didnt want to leave.

Room Tip: the grand colony is great, rooms/local were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We reluctantly just returned from two weeks at Grand Colony that we shared with friends and family. This is our 6th time at GC and it only gets better each year. We stay in the three bedroom unit on the water and wake early each morning to drink our coffee and watch the sun come up. The three bed units are spacious and luxurious with virtually everything we need including daily housekeeping services by Maria.

Frank, Romar, Sylvia and the rest of the staff seem to anticipate our needs and are quick to respond. They pick us up at the airport and make sure our unit is stocked with whatever we have ordered in advance. We always get spoiled at GC and it takes a while to adjust back to the real world.

If you plan to visit, contact Frank in advance and he can make all the arrangements you need for transportation, golf carts, snorkeling and scuba and mainland trips. Makes your trip easy and enjoyable.

When we visit, we always like to take a day for fishing, snappers and barracuda are wonderful. We catch them in the morning and take next door to La Divino to have them prepared for our dinner. Broiled, blackened and fried. Perfect end to a perfect day.

Speaking of food, there are many wonderful restaurants in the San Pedro area, a short list would be. El Divinio for burgers and your fish; Victoria House for gourmet food and desserts (molten chocolate!); Georges for breakfast and lunch with a local flavor; Fidos for burgers and wonderful conch fritters, plus live entertainment-Dennis Wolfe; Rico's for any meal, right on the water with a beautiful breeze; Blue River Grill for dinner or pizza and Belikin beer, and finally Sunset Bar and Grill for lobster and wine and a chance to feed the tarpons. Too many more fine places to dine to mention and half the fun is to wander down Front Street and Middle street and explore for yourself. No matter where, you need to try the Belizian staple of stew chicken with rice an bean (suggest Elvi's on Middle Street).

If you like the water, suggest a trip with Mercedes in his glass bottom boat out to Shark/Ray alley and Hol Chan. There are faster boats, but have used Mercedes for years and always enjoy the trip. He seems to be more interested in making sure you have a good experience than how many folks he can take and how fast he can get back.
For fishing, ask for Eric and take a half or full day trip out to the reef or back in the mangroves for a fun day. Eric will clean the fish at your dock and then off to El Divino for dinner.

If you want, there are lots of trips to the mainland for cave tubing, ruins tours and zip lining. Again, check with Frank and he can be a big help.

We always feel comfortable any place on Ambergris Caye, thesre is virtually no crime and the local folks are very friendly and willing to help when they can. We have never had a problem of any nature.

As you might expect, we love our time at Grand Colony and San Pedro. We always enjoy bringing folks with us and introducing them to everything there is to do, as well as just sitting on the front deck and watching the waves roll in and the world go by. Our little slice of paradise!

If you have not considred San Pedro and Amergris Caye and it's laid back life style, you should and when you do I suggest you consider Grand Colony for true luxury and convenience. Better hurry, San Pedro is still quaint and charming, but that too will change as time goes on.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Colony Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Colony Island Villas

Address: Sea Grape Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Colony Island Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colony Island Villas is an exclusive beachfront development on the tropical island of Ambergris Caye(San Pedro), Belize. There are three magnificent buildings (2 ocean front, 1 poolside). Grand Colony features luxury two and three bedroom residences. Ambergris Caye is a jewel in the Caribbean Sea. The pool is located in the center of the resort with ocean views with a fabulous beach only 100 feet away. Grand Colony Island Villas is a luxury retreat and whether you’re seeking a tranquil atmosphere with good friends, an intimate hideaway for two or the ideal spot for quality family time. Grand Colony Island Villas offers accommodations that will suit any taste and budget while ensuring your trip to be a memory of a life time. Our Island is famous for its world class snorkeling & diving activities, with the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere. We know that that you will experience the genuine hospitality of the island itself. Fashion your own luxurious home away from home in true island style. Grand Colony Island Villas is dedicated to providing the selective and stylish traveler a unique Caribbean island vacation. Guests enjoy a first hand experience of service, in a stylish accommodation against the exotic backdrop of white sandy beaches, palm trees and tropical rainforests. Grand Colony Island Villas is known worldwide for providing discerning travelers with world-class service and distinguished amenities. Come and enjoy our sandy beaches and freshwater pool and stay in the island's best accommodations with full amenities such as living room area, dining room area, full kitchen, two full baths, Jacuzzi and more with private balconies facing the ocean or pool. With its perfect amenities such as a diving & activity center and full service restaurant the resort offers its guests the best of Belize., Grand Colony Island Villas takes pleasure in providing you a tranquil comfort for your next travel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Colony Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Colony Island Villas Hotel San Pedro
Grand Colony Island Villas Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Colony Island Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.