We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Pricey, limited selection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro Portofino

Le Bistro Portofino
6 Miles North of San Pedro | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501 220 5096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 114 restaurants in San Pedro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Pricey, limited selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We heard lots of good things about this place from the resort before going so our expectations were high. Don't get me wrong it was good but didn't live up to all the hipe. It was pricey with a limited selection. The staff was very frienldly though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    18
    10
    5
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice setting, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were so looking forward to coming to this restaurant, but we experienced very poor service. My husband and I got our food and my son got his food 20 minutes later. We had to send my husbands food back because it was so bad. He still could not eat it. The staff had no idea what they were doing. It was our worst dinning experience and one of the most expensive. You would think they would have offered a dessert complimentary. My husband had bread and a Martini for dinner, at least that was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Porto Fino restaurant overpriced and not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at Portofino but we went there for dinner. Although the free water taxi is a nice feature, the food was not very good the menu was not very inspiring, there were biting sandflies, we were happy to leave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slow service, beautiful setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We tried Portofino because we were staying north of San Pedro and they have a boat that will pick up at no charge. The boat operators were very professional and it was a beautiful night. The restaurant is very beautiful and it is like eating in a tree house. The service was painfully slow which was compounded by the fact that everyone got off the boat at the same time. My conch trio appetizer was not good and i did not eat it. I had the shrimp special that was actually pretty good but at those prices ( averaging $28 USD per entree) way too much money for what you got.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“glad we stopped for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were staying at a nearby villa and found Portofino on a walk. We decided to come back for dinner and are glad we did. The food was first rate.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Portofino also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Le Bistro Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.