We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Happy Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
“My Happy Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You know when you're in a tough spot and you need to visualize your "happy place" to bring peace and calm? Sunset Beach is literally my happy place. It is difficult to describe the pristine beauty walking down a few steps from the condo to the beach and pier, right outside your door. You can walk to live music, good eats, and a fun local watering hole just up the beach, or grab a bike and head up the cobblestone road right into town. The accommodations inside were just what we needed - modern world amenities with local charm and comfort. If I could figure out how to work remotely, I'd live there! A true gem that I can't wait to visit again-

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a great week. Condo was clean, quiet and on the beach. I could not imagine a better vacation. Close to town, great team taking care of the property. They were very helpful. There is a great tour company on site. They will set up snorkeling, tubing or fishing for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in C2 and I loved it. Plenty of room, fully equipped kitchen (I juiced oranges every morning!) The sunrises were lovely, the porch and hammocks very comfortable. We booked two snorkeling tours with Suya Tours and we left from our dock. Our daughter was married on the beach and it will always be a beautiful memory for us.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were here on january 2013 , right after NY . the weather were very nice , 75-80, partly cloud, and wind ... nice warm wind ...
Location is perfect if you like to walk !! You don't have to rent a golf cart , again, if you like to walk :). It's about 30-40 min, but on vacation when you have all time in the World and trying all types of new food it IS very helpful:). On the way back to resort you can always take a cab - about $10 US.
The Condo was nice, big and clean with very convenient kitchen . We were cooking vegetables at home a lot . The best , extremely cheap way to buy food -when you go on a tour to the main land , just ask your driver to stop at the food station . They usually know the good inexpensive places .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit here (C2). Nice big balcony overlooking the beach. well equipped full kitchen, stocked with lots of spices if you want to make your own meals. There is about 9 units in the development, with another similar development right next door. small pool, horseshoe pit, dock. Suya Tours right outside the unit, small corner market, small tex-mex restaurant nearby. this is at mile 2.5 south of San Pedro and at our time of travel, the paved road ends at mile 2. About a dozen bicycles available for guests for free to ride and they provide the locks as well - we took this downtown in the late afternoon and it was a pleasant ride. also several free kayaks/life vests for guests to use as well. All the snorkel/dive operators do pick up from the dock. Taxi rides are approx equivalent of USD10 one way into town.
Only complaint I have is wireless connectivity - intermittent at best. Not clear if it is the provider, or set up, or both.No tech support available but onsite manager will reboot when you ask.

Room Tip: I believe all units have balconies facing the beach, southeast facing. great for watching sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently stayed in B1 at the Sunset Beach condos. All of the condos were outwardly very well maintained. And I can only vouch for B1 that the interior was as well. The grounds were very well kept. Chapin cleaned the pool every day and was always about taking care of everything. He even rehung a hammock for us that had fallen down prior to our arrival. The pictures on the internet are exactly what the facilities look like -- not like some of the deceiving pictures that some facilities put on the internet. Dee was especially helpful with the many questions we had prior to arrival and with restuarant and shopping suggestions after our arrival. The corner market was very handy, as was the Suya tours right across the street! Very happy with the Cave Tubing tour through Suya Tours. Also took the Catamaran Snorkeling with Lady Leslie Tours. It was great! Their equipment is top notch as well as their staff. Highly recommend Sunset Beach condos!

The trip into town takes about 10 minutes by golf cart, so golf cart is a must, in my opinion. But the fact that the location was a little bit out of town made it all the more quiet and relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at sunset condos in February and had a wonderful time. There was a mix up with our golf cart delivery when we arrived but was rectified and the cart delivered within the hour. Our condo was three bedrooms and two baths. It was spacious, clean and well supplied. In fact we wanted for nothing. We were very close to a corner store, a pub, and a tour provider (200 steps in all three cases!) and a ten minute drive to down town San Pedro.The grounds were well kept and the lovely staff were very helpful when we needed assistance or had a question. I cant wait to go back! Actually I am booking for next February right now!

Room Tip: our three bedroom was
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Specialty lodging in San Pedro
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel San Pedro
Sunset Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list