We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a bargain and nothing to complain about whatsoever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Rio
Save
You added Hotel del Rio to your Saves list
North of town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite a bargain and nothing to complain about whatsoever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent two nights here on arrival in San Pedro. Staff were friendly; took me quickly to my room, which was a nice little cabana near the water.

To be honest I was expected a lot less for what I paid. I was very happy with the overall cleanliness and the place.

It's not luxurious by any stretch; the bathroom was dorm-like and the towels a bit rough but that is really a small concession to make for a great deal and a pretty scenic location.

The whole place had a very laid back, quiet, friendly vibe - guests lying about reading, all smiles and waving to one another. I quite liked it.

The only knock is that it's a bit far from town, which even so isn't saying much - if you have a cart you'd be there in 10 minutes from the airport.

Hope all the good reviews don't drive your price up guys - you're a great bargain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
62
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a room upstairs with 2 beds overlooking the beach. It had a very clean bathroom and a little verandah. It was perfect for us: quiet, very clean with a view and right on the beach. At the quiet end of town we could still walk to everything. Several hammocks were available for the guests to use. Staff was very helpful and everything was spotless. Best little hotel in San Pedro!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. We stayed in the Palms Veranda-at the Sea double unit. For 3 of us there was plenty of room. The view was beautiful. We were given clean towels and our beds were made daily. We had a refrigerator, there was a ceiling fan and floor fan in each room which kept us plenty cool.There was a clothesline outside our room (which we used a lot). The area was safe at night, which is a must for 3 young women, we even ran into the security guy a few nights. The only problem we ran into was that our room controlled the only outside light, so we kind of felt bad for the single unit when we forgot to turn on the outside light at night for them to get into their room in the dark.

This is definitely not a 5 star resort, it is a very simple room, and definitely shows wear and tear, but its clean. A great place to sleep and shower if you are on a budget. I would absolutely stay here again. It was a great location, just a short walk into the city, but far enough that we didn't have to deal with the noise from the bars at night. I would definitely recommend taking a taxi to the hotel when you have luggage, but otherwise you can walk pretty much anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

very good place to stay, with great service and help from staff. this is a quiet location, and has great views, and a perfect choice if you are looking to spend only a few days in san pedro.

The location serves well for the nightlife and to the many restaurants accessible in the main region, yet quiet enough and along the waterfront to wake up to an awesome sunrise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Javier at the office is awesome. So helpful and friendly. Not too expensive at Hotel del Rio and has a great location. Only downside is occassional barking dog to wake you at night, so bring earplugs. However, that one small aspect does not leave any negative impressions of the place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Javier Tomas and Ruth will treat u right! Fifteen minute walk from town center, quiet and yet funky neighborhood w bakery and small shop meters away! Beachside Casita is a bargain...gotta love mangrove shaded beach for morning yoga!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a friendly, clean, quiet base in San Pedro. The location is perfect, just south of the bridge so easy access to the busy centre at the south of the island, as well as the resorts and bars to the north.

Our room was simple and clean with an en-suite bathroom, fridge and small balcony with sea glimpses. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful and the room was kept really clean and well maintained. We felt at home and at ease for the duration of our stay (one week).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Address: North of town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.