We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Rio
Save
You added Hotel del Rio to your Saves list
1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special 10% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have been to the Ambergris caye twice now and stayed at 4 of the most recommended hotels under $100. Hotel del Rio has been the best! Great location, not far from the action.The staff are amazing, and always available to help. We got our room cleaned every day, even on Christmas day. The towels and sheets are brand new and very soft, the rooms are clean, and the ground are well cared for. I will say the bed was on the firm side. We stayed in the second floor palms veranda and had a great view. We did not find the room too rustic for the price it was quite the opposite, with new paint, art, and nice tile floors it was very comfortable without losing the island charm. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    57
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff went above and beyond the call of duty, especially with Jock our dog. They helped us enjoy a very nice quiet stay. While staying there Javier helped us book another two days for the 'End of the World Party' and a place for the next day Just in case. ha ha They just ran out of space on the Mayan calendar. Javier went out of his way to help us, along with the house- keeping staff and her children who took care of Jock and would not take any money for a tip.

Room Tip: Two South Palapas have best view of the Carabbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i spent a few days there and this was the best anyone can ask for==we were welcomed by javier who booked mayan ruins visits and snorkeling trips for us on the great barrier reef... it is a place where u and ur boys can come lay low for a bit..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This extremely well located hotel is north of sSan Pedro major attractions, in a quiet, breezy environment directly on th beach
Beautiful well equipped cabanas give you the confort you re expecting form a good hotel, and you ll find a team that welcomes you like a real guest who deserves attention : they are always helpfull and ready to take care of you; if you like it you can meet and play chess with the local Kasparov: his name is Javier and he will take care of you in any information you require

Room Tip: try cabanas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved staying at the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and helped us find excursions to our liking. The owner stayed on the property during our stay and we thought he was another guest. He mingled with everyone in the common area. The hotel was in a great location and we literally walked everywhere we went. Unlike many other hotels, the website accurately depicted the rooms and property. Our cabana was directly off of the beach and the breeze was beautiful. There certainly wasn't a need for AC. Even though the cabana was directly off the beach, there was privacy. Sitting off the dock or on the hammock at night with the ocean breeze, I don't see how anyone would have trouble relaxing. I was sad to leave the hotel and island, but can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Reserved the casita and was pleasantly surprised that I did not miss TV or A/C.
The hotel is right on the beach and has access to a dock for swimming. The cool
night breezes actually had me closing the windows! Javier was most helpful acquiring
a golf cart for me to rent. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We loved this place! It is nicely situated on the north side of town (an easy, waterfront 5-10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of town), which is perfect because downtown is pretty loud at night.

The views everywhere on the Caye are spectacular, and Hotel del Rio's are particularly wonderfully enjoyed from the center courtyard.

We stayed in the cabana casita in July, and we were fine with just the breeze at night. Don't let the lack of AC scare you!

Javier and Tomas were very friendly and tried to help us with any and all of our requests.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Rio

Address: 1/4 Mile North of Downtown | Beach Front Boco Del Rio Before the Bridge, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minute walk from the center of town, on a quite beach north of town, Hotel del Rio has clean and comfortable; Thatch Roof Cabanas on the Beach, Air Condition units and Standard Rooms all with a great beach front view. We also have 2 large cabanas with a complete Kitchen. All our units have private bathroom with hot and cold showers, refrigerators and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Rio Hotel
Hotel Del Rio Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.