We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotal Inn & Cabanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cocotal Inn & Cabanas to your Saves list
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Beachfront 2 1/2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night, we would have stayed longer if we didn't have a wedding we needed to go to more north on the island. We were trying to get to a rehearsal dinner when the water taxi didn't stop for us. The staff at Cocotal was amazing and helped us get to our rehearsal dinner safely and on time. The cabana was wonderful and we wished we could have stayed longer. If we return to San Pedro we will stay here again. My only recommendation is to make sure you know how you are getting to Cocotal if you are coming from San Pedro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Cocotal in 03/2013. We were picked up at the San Pedro airport and dropped off right at the doorstep of our lovely little cabana, #5. I say little cabana, but in reality the space was more than ample. Inside was a well outfitted kitchen with refrigerator, clean bathroom, and comfortable king-sized bed (plus a television that got very little use). Cabana #5 was located halfway between the road and the beach on the large very nicely maintained property, a short step to either the oceanside or lagoon docks.

Ernesto, who is on-site from 8:30 - 5:00, was a great concierge. He hooked us up with 1/2 day snorkeling trips (Mexico Rocks one day, Hol Chan the next), water taxis to town, restaurant recommendations, and of course daily use of the bikes and kayak. I think our bike rides up the beach to Sundivers (bar and restaurant) and down to Jolly Rogers (bar and restaurant) were some of our best times...good food and beachside Belikins. Also loved kayaking out to the reef where we tied up in chest-high water for some easy, unguided snorkeling.

Long story short? Highly recommended! A great introduction to Belize and Ambergris Caye, in my humble opinion.

One recommendation? If you're getting picked up by Cocotal's appointed taxi, if you're looking to buy any fruit or veg, be sure to stop by the stand next door to the liquor store...Much better selection of fresh stuff than the grocery. (The grocery did offer some terrific fresh salsa and tortillas.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Loved the quiet location outside of San Pedro. Free use of bikes and kayaks, hammocks on the beach. The cabana # 4 was the best for proximity to the beach with a view - but not too close. Rum punch welcome drink on arrival. Friendly staff and nice pool. The honor bar was really appreciated as well as full kitchen facilities. Nice deck to relax on after a ride into town. Value was good too. Would definitely come back to Cocotal Inn when on Ambergris Cay. Oh yes, free taxi ride if you stay 4 or more nights and the driver will stop at the grocery store on the way out to the cabana.

Room Tip: Cabana number 4 is the best location for a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any Warm Dive Site
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Ambergris Caye for the first time. Selecting Cocotal was a matter of blind selection, and we were very impressed.

Personnel were polite and helpful. The Cabana was well equipped with A/C, full kitchen, shower and comfortable bed.

As an aside, I dropped my expensive serengeti sunglasses after returning one night and, in conversation, mentioned to the staff that I had lost them and wondered where to get a new pair. Almost immediately I was hailed by one of the employees. He had found the glasses and had secured them hoping the owner would be found. In many places we've been to I would be still missing them.

A concern with us was the location north of town and north of the bridge. Do not worry about this. The resort bikes are free to use and water taxis are available.

In closing, we could not have asked for anything more. Clean, comfy bug-free rooms; pleasant, honest, helpful staff; well-appointed kitchen.

We highly recommend Cocotal to anyone interested in visiting Ambergris Caye.

NWD

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our 6 night stay at Cocotal was perfect. First the location. We stayed at the cabana closest to the beach. It was beautiful, spacious and had a wonderful porch to watch the world go by. We loved waiting for the tamale/burrito man on his bike delivering each morning. Good restaurants are a short walk away but the kitchen was well stocked for cooking meals. Complimentary bikes make for an easy trek into San Pedro either along the beach or road. The water taxi is available next door as well. If you take their kayaks out about 1/2 mile and tie off at the buoy, the reef was incredible for snorkeling and no crowds. Take an evening to go to the back of the property to their other pier to watch the sunset by the lagoon. The setting is idyllic.
Second, the staff (including Mara, the four legged ambassador). This is a small and personal inn where the staff makes your day better than the last. They are available if you need anything but quietly go about their business to keep the property pristine. Getting to know the staff made our vacation that much richer. This is a setting where you can do as little or as much as you like with ease. Living in Denver, we make frequent trips to Mexico. I would make the extra effort to return to Ambergris Caye just to stay at Cocotal Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Every review that I read here on Trip Advisor said the same about Cocotal. Fantastic staff, beautiful and clean accommodations, and an overall wonderful experience. And that's just what I found. We were not disappointed in the least, instead, we were surprised and delighted at how well the staff took care of us. Tanya (The owner) and Ernesto (office manager) felt like good friends by the end of our stay. They took care of everything and made sure that we had the best time possible. Going out of their way to be up at 6:30 to make sure the boat picked us up for the day, or saving our food for us from the golf cart lady so we could have something to eat when we got back from a big tour. It was so relaxing and enjoyable. I can not say enough about this place!! We stayed in the Casita, and had an amazing view of the water, and could also hear the 'taco man' on his bike in the mornings. Loved every minute of our stay and would absolutely recommend this place. The one thing that you need to consider is the fact that it is a little ways out of the city (which makes it so nice, but transportation to San Pedro is best by golf cart or water taxi)

Room Tip: Casita has the best view of the water and most privacy off the back porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cocotal is a very lovely place. Rooms are attractive, spacious, comfortable, clean, very well laid out and have everything one could possibly need. Because my husband had fractured his ankle earlier in the trip, we spent alot of time sitting around....and this is a beautiful spot to sit around either outside the casita watching the birds and iguanas or down by the water watching the boats and the people. Because of this injury, we weren't able to do many of the things we had planned, such as taking advantage of the bikes, kayaks, and beautiful pool that are available for guests.
Ernesto knows a great deal about everything on the island and could not have been more helpful and accomodating.
One needs to rent a golf cart to go into San Pedro if you want to do any activities or eat there. And the 2.5 miles takes much longer than you would think because of the poor condition of the dirt roads. Instead, just spend your time at this beautiful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocotal Inn & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotal Inn & Cabanas

Address: Beachfront 2 1/2 Miles North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocotal Inn and Cabanas is a beachfront vacation property located 2- 1/2 miles north of San Pedro. There are five units available for nightly rental. Intimate and low key, Cocotal is still only a bike ride from town in a great up and coming area. Our units are well appointed with fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, and maid service. There is an in-ground pool, honor bar, BBQ, and free bicycles and kayaks for guest use - a beautiful property and a great value! This description is based on information provided by the specialty lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cocotal Inn & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas Hotel San Pedro
Cocotal Inn And Cabanas
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocotal Inn & Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.