We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tranquility Bay Resort
Save Saved
You added Tranquility Bay Resort to your Saves list
Basil Jones Beach | San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize, Ambergris Caye P.O.Box 149, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
October 2014 Special
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

On the way back to San Pedro after 5 nights at Tranquility Bay, my son pointed out that the problem with all the other places we passed is that there were no yellow t-shirts. This was after a truly heart-warming sendoff from the dock by several of the people who took such great care of us and became our friends in this piece of paradise. I am reluctant to name names as I don't want to miss anyone, but thank you to everyone who made our vacation so wonderful.

The isolation, the proximity to the reef, and the beautiful beach are all wonderful reasons to choose Tranquility. It would be excellent for anyone, but for a family I can't imagine a better place to go. My kids (ages 8 and 11) were never bored - they swam, they snorkeled, they played in the sand, and they sat with their friends who worked there and chatted. On the snorkeling tour we did all the guides watched out for them and made sure they were safe and included. The restaurant staff knew them and their preferences and treated them with much kindness.

The cabins were clean and comfortable, and quiet. The resort was full, but even at that it usually felt like we almost had the beach to ourselves.

We would love to return to Belize, and if it works out one day we would certainly return to Tranquility Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    49
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
176
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newjersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at Tranquility Bay in early Feb. The resort is small and private which we liked. The beach is beautiful and the water was warm. We had a great half day snorkelling trip. The restaurant was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaints are that the windows in our cabana , # 6, could not be opened, and the snorkelling and fly fishing at the resort grounds were disappointing. Overall we had an enjoyable time at the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want lots of activity and hussle bussle go closer to San Pedro. If you want a great room, wonderful food, snorkling, sailing, and kayaking done at your own pace tis is the place. Oh I forgot to say the view is second to none.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This picturesque spot is further afield than other options in the area, but if you want an isolated location with a gracious staff, Tranquility Bay is ideal. With only about 10 beach-front "cabanas," the grounds make for a small compound. Beautiful views of the reef, the sunrise and the crystal blue-green waters. And with no TVs, no phones, and wireless service only available outside of the "office," you can truly unplug from the rest of the world. Any minor issues we had (one with the microwave, one with the second air conditioning unit) were resolved immediately or as soon as reasonably possible. Very sad to leave (my wife actually teared up saying "goodbye" to the staff), as this place left us with a top notch first impression of Belize.


Upside: The people. The outstanding staff members are phenomenal with the guests and seem to enjoy each others' company as well. Diving/snorkeling are available right off the resort's beach or through arranged half/full day tours. It was some of the best diving we've ever done; dive masters made all involved very comfortable even those that are only occasional divers. Fry jacks - yum. Did I mention the people?

Downside: Captive audience. A single restaurant and bar is the only food/drink option unless you bring your own. Otherwise, you can take a daily boat trip into San Pedro to re-stock with other/cheaper options. This wasn't an issue at all for us (the TB food was great and we didn't mind paying for drinks) but if you're here for a week or more it could get repetitive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a long overdue review of Tranquility Bay. While I have relied on TripAdvisor for vacations we have taken all around the world, this is finally the first review I am writing - this place deserves it! We were there in late December 2011 with our family (including three daughters ages 8, 10, 13). We had a fantastic trip and absolutely loved this resort. I could not say enough good things about Carlos and Isabelle (the property managers) and also all the staff.

The resort has about 10 brightly colored bungalows on an amazingly beautiful beach that is second to none. It is at the very north end of Ambergris Caye and is very remote. It is like your own little paradise - no crowds and your own private beach where you rarely see anyone else. You won't compete for a hammock or a beach chair. It is paradise. If you are looking for a big resort/all inclusive then don't stay here and save it for those of us who want a unique, quiet and charming place without the crowds! This is secluded and picture perfect gorgeous.

The little bungalows are perfect for families. They is a bedroom downstairs and one upstairs in a "loft" area and each house also has two bathrooms. There is also a little kitchen area. While this is not a 5 star "luxury" resort, it is a beautiful casual beach resort and perfect for this secluded island location.

There is a restaurant right over the water for all the meals. It is as fun as it looks in the pictures. You can sit outside and see fish swimming underneath you . . . we even saw sting rays. There really isn't another option for dining because you are very remote but we found the staff to be BEYOND amazing and the food was delicious and there was plenty of variety. They had wonderful drinks and enough variety of food that even our very picky 10 year old loved it there. Despite that there were plenty of menu options, I could have eaten that Belize shrimp dish every night - delicious!! The food was moderately priced - I wasn't expecting inexpensive as I had read in the guide book that the food on all of Ambergris Caye is more expensive than the mainland because is has to be shipped out to all the restaurants. One other fun thing in the restaurant is they have many different games for guests to use and we enjoyed playing some of them while waiting for our meal.

When researching hotels on Ambergris Caye I noticed in some of the reviews for other resorts that you could not snorkel right off the beach - you had to take a boat out. At Tranquility, you can walk right out and snorkel. They also have some kayaks you can use to go out further which was amazing. I was a little worried about being so remote and so far from San Pedro town (it is a half hour boat ride), but we did the shark ray alley trip (HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!) and they stopped in Caye Caulker and San Pedro Town and the few hours there is really all you need - small but quaint towns.

The service of the staff was AMAZING. Carlos and Isabelle are quiet and friendly and very accomodating for any request we had. My husband had not been diving in many years so when we went out to shark ray alley they sent the dive master along to give him a refresher course. (I don't recall the cost for this service but it was very reasonable and much less than we would have expected). My youngest daughter was a little apprehensive snorkeling and our guide made sure he stayed very close to her so she was comfortable. And talk about going well beyond expectations for customer service . . on our flight home we got stuck in Houston overnight . . . and when we got home my oldest daughter realized her jewelry container was missing out of her bag (it must have disappeared while in the luggage storage at the Houston airport) - she was very upset as she had some souvenir earrings she had bought in San Pedro Town in there - - and Isabelle did a HUGE favor for us and bought an identical pair earrings on her next journey to San Pedro Town and mailed them to us!! Talk about SERVICE!!!!

This is somewhere we will definately come back to - - we are in process of planning a trip to the Carribean and our girls were begging us to come back to Belize. They loved this resort so much.

Thank you Carlos and Isabelle!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You only need ten minutes in San Pedro to appreciate that you are staying 12 miles up the coast at Tranquillity Bay! Great 30 minute speedboat delivers you to the hotel jetty and as you speed up the coast, the touristy hotels fall away. At Tranquillity Bay there is nothing else. Powder sand and crystal clear water. The review by Tom K below says what needs saying about the cabanas. They are in dire need of updating but exceptionally roomy. The food is simple but very well prepared and excellent value if you like seafood (also brilliant chicken satay!).If you don't unwind here, you are incapable of unwinding!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Looks like a postcard! Really! Quiet and remote location. Great for adults wanting to get away to an unspoiled area. Comfortable cabanas right on the beach. Good food, kayaks supplied for inside the reef, great snorkeling. Dive shop on site. Will plan tours to Lamanai Mayan Ruins. they pick you up at the airport in San Pedro and take you by boat to the resort. Internet service in the bar and in the cabanas would be helpful.

Room Tip: All ebachfront cabanas. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: Basil Jones Beach | San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize, Ambergris Caye P.O.Box 149, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#9 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.