We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tranquility Bay Resort
Save Saved
You added Tranquility Bay Resort to your Saves list
Basil Jones Beach | San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize, Ambergris Caye P.O.Box 149, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Ambergris Caye
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Honeymoon Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My fiancé and I had a few simple requirements for our Central American honeymoon resort destination. First, it had to be somewhere quiet. Secondly, it had to serve good food. Third, there had to be some cool spots for snorkeling nearby. And finally, there had to be a great beach just footsteps from our door where we could just kick back and read a book peacefully in a hammock all day if we wanted. That was pretty much it.

When we found Tranquility Bay Resort online it appeared to have everything we were looking for, and now, after returning from our wonderful trip, I can say that it exceeded our expectations.

It was very quiet. Even at full capacity, it felt like we were only one of a few people staying at the resort. We had a quaint two-bedroom cabin just 20 feet from the ocean and there was no noise, tourist activity or distractions to be found.

The food was also really good. The resort has its own restaurant, serves free breakfast (try the flapjacks), fresh fish and held a memorable beach dinner for the guests one night during our stay where we had lobster followed by a fun bonfire. And the service was great. All the bartenders, waiters and staff were friendly and helpful, willingly to deliver a six-pack of Belican Stout (great Belzian beer) within a few minutes of my request.

The snorkeling also did not disappoint. We love snorkeling near colorful corral reef and marine life, and were delighted with the guide that Tranquility Bay Resort had on staff, who brought us out to Shark & Ray Alley for a great afternoon at a great price.

The staff was also knowledgable about exciting day-long adventures that you can have on San Pedro or Belize City, if you are interested in leaving the resort for a day during your trip. We did this one day by going to see some Maya Ruins, which was a long trip, but well worth it.

Overall, it was great, no major complaints to report of any kind. Just wish we could've stayed for longer! Would for sure recommend it to travelers who just want to escape and relax. The word "Tranquility" in the resort name is not false advertising.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    49
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
172
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This review is long over due! We stayed at Tranquility Bay in January of 2012. Isabella and Carlos are incredible. There is a great staff to meet your every need. The drinks and food were never disappointing. If you like to roll out of bed and into the ocean this is the place. The snorkeling tours to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley were amazing. There is great snorkeling right out your front door if you chose to stay close to the resort. Tranquility Bay is so peaceful you really don't want to go anywhere! We love Belize and this resort is a gem....the worst thing about going to Tranquility Bay Resort is leaving. You will make new friends and take home some wonderful memories!

Room Tip: There is no bad place to stay here ! Everyone gets an ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at Tranquility Bay. Really, it came down to Carlos and Isabella being the best possible hosts. I hope they never leave this place, as they are the heart and soul of it. The rest of the staff was also fantastic, especially Andreas and Orlando. Orlando took us on some fantastic excursions and scuba dives.

We loved the fact that some dogs were at the resort, and we even "adopted" Foody for the week and let him sleep inside with us...lol.

The food was excellent at the resturant, and the kitchen very accomodating to all of our needs. They even baked my wife a cake on her birthday!

The bad: the first night our air conditioner went out, and it was HOT. Although, the staff fixed it immediately the next morning after I reported it. Also, the cabannas were all being painted during our stay, so there was some construction noise and workers hanging around. Neither of these things were major issues, but should be noted.

We can't wait to come back and see Carlos and Isabella!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is back to reality today after spending a wonderful week at Tranquility Bay Resort. We had great weather, great food, new friends and a relaxing time. We spent our 7th Anniversary here at TBR with a nice romantic touch presented by the staff with having dinner on the beach. Awesome! The staff brought out our delicious lobster dinner to us checked every so often to make sure that we were satisfied. We felt that the staff was very helpful and the food was delicious with lots to choose from the menu. Half day trips to visit San Pedro and snorkeling. Sea life was better than an aquarium. Relaxing on the beach was so worthwhile leaving all technology at home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnMoto, Owner at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed our little piece of heaven! Hopefully we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are normally budget to midrange travelers but the ability to snorkel from shore and flyfish unguided lured us in and will keep us heading back to Tranquility Bay Resort. The off season (summer) rate on the Budget Traveler's Room was under $100 US and included breakfast off the menu and everything else you've read about in other reviews: over-the-top service from Isabel and Carlos and the staff, a clean, gorgeous beach, excellent snorkeling and flyfishing, cute, well appointed cabins, and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.

We'll choose the Budget Traveler's Room every time - the perfect size and configuration for us and the king sized bed was the most comfortable we've ever had on a trip. When our air conditioning unit struggled to keep up with the afternoon heat, a replacement was ordered immediately and installed the next morning and we were offered a neighboring cottage for the night - stellar customer service.

Neighbor boy and flyfishing prodigy Daniel was a bonus and helped my husband figure out the tides, flies, and locations to make his week of fishing a blast; the last bonefish he caught was so large he couldn't control it with 1 hand in order to get a photo. I enjoyed a morning of diving and, thanks to easy access to snorkeling, was wet more than I was dry during our week there; snorkeling highlights included a resident scrawled filefish, an octopus, big rainbow parrotfish, huge barracuda, and a turtle. A beach wedding, the murals and Bob Marley playing in the restaurant/bar, and manatee swimming by the dock added to the charm.

We arranged for the taxi to stop at local grocery and fresh produce shops enroute to the dock in San Pedro so we could stock up and prepare most of our own meals. The meals we ate in the restaurant were wonderful - breakfasts always delicious and the beach barbecue dinner fabulous; my husband will never forgot those 2 huge lobster tails.

We can't wait to head back and share this paradise with loved ones - highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Budget Traveler's Room was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Location is amazing but the service was not. When we first got to tranquility bay we were met hy the management & served a drink & provided an overview of the place. That was the end of the hospitality. The staff (restaurant especially) seemed annoyed or put out whenever we ordered a basic meal. They seemed more interested in visiting with each other. I was with a small group and it is the only restaurant to order your meals from. If we asked or inquired about something no one ever got back to us. The food was good only at the end, there seemed to be a different cook at the end Between our group we have been to Belize 6 or 7 times over the last 4 years. There are many beautiful locations to stay with far better service.

Just as an FYI, if your traveling as a group & need to sleep on the sofa bed there is no air conditioning in the living area. The wind or even the lack of it can make it hard for that person to sleep. People ended up taking turns sleeping out there as it was pretty hard to get a decent sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBR-Manager, Manager at Tranquility Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not like the hospitality at Tranquility Bay Resort. We will have a talk with the restaurant staff. Generally the bartenders/waiters get great reviews. I would also agree that the bedrooms are much comfortable and peaceful than the pull out couch in the living area. I'm sorry that, as we were fully occupied during your stay, we could not rent another unit to you as per your wishes.

Cheers,
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a perfect end to our vacation after visiting Mexico, Guatemala and the Belizean jungle. It was time to relax and stay disconnected from all technology and the crush of humanity. From the moment we arrived San Pedro airport we had our transportation arranged by Elizabeth and Carlos (Host and Resort owners). Upon arrival to the resort we were greeted by our Hosts and offered a fabulous drink at the bar. Quick tour to cover our basic needs and asked us up front if we needed help with arranging any activities. Our little house was perfect. The sand white beach was several feet away from the turquoise crystal water. Falling asleep to the ocean waves was like a relaxing dream.

Back home we completed the Closed Water part of the PADI Cert so one of the influencing factors for staying at TBR was that they have an onsite PADI Center. They helped us arrange the Open Water PADI Certification (2nd part of the cert requirement) with Nef our Dive Master. Everyone was very knowledgeable and helped us feel comfortable with our SCUBA training. Two days later we were officially SCUBA Certified. On to the Blue Hole. Again Carlos and Isabelle went above and beyond to help us find a tour guide with an excellent reputation (Amigos Del Mar). Our Host test out several different guide services and recommend the one’s they think are the best. It was comforting to know that they recommend from experience.

Everything was perfect. From the time of arrival, welcoming smiles, our clean and comfortable cabana, SCUBA adventures, Kayak galore, food and services. Next time we’ll be sure to stay here longer than 3 nights!

Thank you to everyone at Tranquility Bay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: Basil Jones Beach | San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize, Ambergris Caye P.O.Box 149, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;