We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The setting is unreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bay Resort
Save
You added Tranquility Bay Resort to your Saves list
Basil Jones Beach | San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize, Ambergris Caye P.O.Box 149, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Ambergris Caye
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The setting is unreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I loved TBR. The location is so key for what we were looking for.

A World class reef we could swim to
Away from the noisy tourist stop of San Pedro. The beach is actually a beach unlike other resorts on tge Caye. There is no boat traffic. I caught bonefish right in front of our cabanas. The prevailing wind was so relaxing as it put us to sleep on the beach.

Insider tip:

Buy beer and rum in San Pedro before you take your ferry to TBR. The cabanas have mini fridges and it was crucial to be able to have bold beer on the porch each evening before walking to dinner.

Definitely go to Hol Chan to snorkel. It is better than any carribean spots.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    55
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
92
197
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We came to tranquility bay at the end of our trip to belize. This was the perfect way to plan our trip. We did all the crazy adventure jungle stuff in San ignacio first, then we went to caye caulker and did all the diving/snorkeling and we came to tranquility bay to just chill out. And that's exactly what we did. It was incredible. The beach is wonderful, perfect for evening strolls. The rooms were fabulous and have incredible views of the water. I took a picture with my phone and it honestly reminded me of the stock photos that come loaded on your computer.

The food was amazing. The staff was even better. Each day we woke up, had a great (FREE!) breakfast and then headed to the beach or out snorkeling. I have never been so relaxed in all my life.

The resort is 12 miles from San Pedro, so it's definitely secluded. Don't come here expecting to go out to dinner in town (you don't need to... the food here is so great, you won't miss anything). When we were headed back to catch our flight, we walked through SP a bit... and I'm glad we were so secluded. I wouldn't have wanted to be that close to all the chaos anyway.

I would recommend this place WHOLE HEARTEDLY to any couple, family or anyone looking for their own slice of heaven.

Room Tip: All the cabanas are very nice... the budget traveler's room is actually a great room, just on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Low key to say the least, but just what we were looking for. Everything you want they set up for you; Diving, Snorkeling, Fishing...and it's usually just you and the captain. The diving was exceptional and they have the best beach on Ambergris too, white sand for a few miles north of the property. It's a long boat ride (we never actually went back to town) and there are only about 10 cabanas, so it's a small resort and you get to know your neighbors. The cabanas are rustic, but nice, just don't expect a flat screen. The restaurant's TV was down too, but it was easy to forget about that thanks to the location. The service was off the charts, from the dive master to the bartenders (Hill is the man), everyone was eager to make our vacation awesome. The restaurant on site was really the only one around, but the food was beyond great. The whole trip was perfect. There's no pool, but you can make up for that by drinking at the bar, jumping off the dock, showering off in the outdoor shower, then drinking again at the bar. This is why you come to Belize.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place is total chill. If you can't lose your tension here, you might be too far gone. Great place to lay in a hamock and read or just gaze out into the water from your front porch. First let me say that is not for the Ritz or Four Seasons crowd. The accommodations are nothing great and need to be updated. The furniture in the main room is damp and the best way to access the safe is by standing on a stool (unless you're over 6 feet tall). Yet I slept like a baby, give it a 5 and would go back in a heartbeat. Ah, this was very special. My wife said it felt like summer camp. Friendly neighbors (shout outs to Zach and Lynn), friendly staff, and nothing or everything to do. The water at some spots is waist high around 50-100 yards out and is great for snorkeling. You can kayak, tether your boat and hop in. Happy hour is a good deal and the food is decent enough. Let them know if you are gluten free, they worked well with my wife. After dinner hang outside the bar and watch the spotlight shine down from the deck onto the fish.....no spoiler alert here...but we saw some amazing things....thank God they didn't have a TV in the room. Don't be shocked if you see a local 13 year old towhead kid fishing from that deck.....he made 2 of the most amazing catches I've ever seen....shades of Huck Fin meet the Crocodile Hunter . Head in the direction of the Turtleman's shack for a great run or a long walk with someone you love. We spent 4 nights there and tasted a bit of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Where do I begin? This place is a perfect piece of paradise!

There was a total of 23 of us who came to Tranquility Bay Resort for my wedding, most staying for 5 days each. None of us left dissapointed with our venue selection. It was secluded (VERY SECLUDED) and perfect in every way for a romantic and intimate celebration! No noise, no hustle and bustle of the city, just PURE relaxation.

The staff here REALLY make this resort unique. When we checked out to move to the mainland of Belize, we all kept wishing we could take Albert, Hill, and Andre (AWESOME WAIT STAFF and BARTENDERS!) with us. "Sometimes you wanna go, where everybody knows your name..." THEY HAD US DOWN! And always made sure we were having a good time. I cannot say enough kind things about them. We even boogied down with them at the wedding reception!

Isabelle handled EVERYTHING for our wedding - Hiring a florist, a last minute (suprise!!) band, the cake baker, and even a last minute tent rental (due to unpredicatble weather). Her attention to detail was flawless, right down to the last flower petal. She is amazing! She even became "bridezilla" so that I wouldn't have to be! She planned a perfect wedding! She worked with our budget and in the end we were not given ANY suprise wedding costs. She knows what she's doing!

The food was great! Many props to the kitchen staff. TRY the stuffed pork tenderloin! ITS THE BEST! And breakfast is even better. A plethora of fresh made menu selections (no yogurt and bagels here! Made to order french toast, fruits, breakfast burritos, etc.) and fresh HAND squeezed orange, pineapple, and papaya juices every morning! We drank so much orange juice they ran out of oranges our last morning there! And for that I apologize ;-)

I cannot say enough about the amazing location of this resort. Its located on the northern tip of Ambergris Caye, and you don't have to worry about too much boat traffic passing through when you are out snorkeling or scuba diving. Its wonderfully private!

We will return one day for sure! Maybe with kids in the future! THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH!!! We enjoyed every last second we had there. And hope that it will continue to prosper and be successful, so that others may get to enjoy this untouched paradise too!

Room Tip: The Prime Ministers cabana is worth every last penny! Its air conditioned throughout, not just in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Owners were friendly and quick to help. Cabanas were nice and so was the restaurant. The BIG attraction here is

1. The general atmosphere of total relaxation.
2. The snorkeling off the beach

You are so far away from everything and the scenery is just stunning. It was so nice for my kids to be able to snorkel without having to take a boat!

It is quite a ride to get back to San Pedro so don't stay here if you want nightlife or variety. But to get away from it all and just relax this is the place. We would definitely come here again and we rarely say that since we like to try new places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My family and I recently returned from a 3 week trip to Belize, which started with 5 nights at TB. I was immediately impressed when our flight was delayed into Belize City and when I contacted TB they had already rescheduled our connecting flight and made all of the arrangements. We have 2 young daughters and everyone was so welcoming and they felt completely at home (a special thank-you to Andre for being so great every day!!). The snorkeling from the beach was fantastic and hol chan was the best trip we did in Belize. We enjoyed the food, especially the fish tacos, and found the prices reasonable given the location. We were sad to leave, it couldn't have been a better start to our trip and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
19.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
19.2 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
15.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
13.4 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Resort

Address: Basil Jones Beach | San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize, Ambergris Caye P.O.Box 149, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#11 Family Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ambergris Caye
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing 12 miles North of San Pedro Town, Tranquility Bay Resort is a secluded paradise. 10 Separate cabanas line the nicest beach on the island. The only resort on the island where it is safe to snorkel from the beach to the reef! Relax and enjoy our beautiful setting from our water top restaurant and watch the Tarpon, Barracuda and Eagle Rays swim under our dock lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Hotel Ambergris Caye
Hotel Tranquility Bay
Tranquility Bay Resort Belize/Ambergris Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.