We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME RELAXATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caye Winds Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caye Winds Villas
Save Saved
You added Caye Winds Villas to your Saves list
Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME RELAXATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Beautiful resort!! I stayed at Caye Winds with my family as well as a few other families/couples. We occupied two mansions and a condominium. All of the rooms were beautiful, the decor unique, and the staff overly accommodating. Chap cooked the most delicious food found on the island. Because Caye Winds is on it's own separate island, it is extremely quiet and relaxing. Our group had a blast. Chap and Albert also make amazing drinks- the best bloody mary i've every had!!! I would definitely recommend staying here. The staff also has great recommendations and will arrange anything you wish to do. They will point you towards the best bars, grocery shops, etc. This resort is still under construction in parts which we did not stay in. This did not bother us or set us back at all, but I can not wait until it is completed!!! :)

TWO THUMBS UP

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, Belize
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is the second time we have used Caye Winds as a photo location shoot. Firstly, I must say that their level of hospitality goes well beyond the norm. The staff and owners are welcoming and and bend over backwards to accommodate. The architecture is clean, modern and spectacular, the pools inviting , the furniture comfortable and chic and the decoration, much handmade from local hardwoods - quite stunning. Those behind the design and decor have a delightful sense of taste and as photographers, this is much appreciated.

The site is still under construction, but having witnessed the evolution of the property, we have been incredibly impressed at the attention to detail and the new buildings and amenities. We certainly would recommend Caye Winds for a luxury and private get away. Chap, who cares for everyone who visits is an amazing cook and knows Ambergris Caye and San Pedro Town intimately. He'll make sure to cater to your every dietary and adventure desire.

You need to take a boat to get back and forth but the ride is little more than 5 minutes over shallow and calm water and adds to the private and luxury experience. We should also mention Chance, their charming, friendly and character filled dog rescued from the local humane society.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed at the "Mansion" with 5 colleagues; this resort had an amazing view of the beach; meals freshly cooked by chef "Chap". We received great service from the staff of Caye Winds. A relaxing and peaceful stay.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice and spacious.

A great place to vacation.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed at Caye Winds Resort Mansion with a group of 5 and had a wonderful time. Chap had amazing food prepared for us. The house is beautiful and has its own pool which was great to relax in at the end of the day.The hurricane hit and we still had a wonderful time. You didn't even know there was a hurricane outside unless you went out to look. We stayed in the media room and watched movies and was never even bothered by the hurricane. I would highly recommend staying at this home at this resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We reserved the large mansion for a Christmas -New Years vacation (9 days) with our entire family which includes 9 adults and 7 children 7 and under in March 2010. Three days prior to departure Neil Sullivan emailed me to tell me there were problems with the house and it was no longer available. This is the busiest week of the year on Ambergris Caye!!

This was to be a true vacation my husband and me. No cooking, no cleaning. Just enjoying our grand babies and children. Less than 48 hours prior to our departure he advise he was able to secure alternative accommodations at a very nice condo resort, the Grande Caribe in 3 2 bed/2 bath condos. To make a long story short, Sabn Pedro Town is small and we we saw Caye Winds staff members at various markets as we had to shop for food and, after inquiring with one, (Chap, the chef) we learned that, in fact, the mansion was being used. In other words, for what ever reason, Neil rented the mansion out from under us!

We did have a great time in Belize no thanks to Neil Sullivan. He wasn't even man enough to meet us once. He sent a sacrificial lamb to the airport to meet us. He did reimburse us our $1,000.00 deposit and returned to us what he thought he would have spent on food for us ($1,400.00). Which is no where near what we spent given the size of our family and the the cost of food and provisions in Belize. But, it was not the vacation we wanted, it cost us more money and my husband and I spent a large part of every day,shopping, cooking and cleaning.

Dawn M.

Tucson, Arizona

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

There are 2 large houses for rent on this island across the bay from San Pedro. Both are spectacular houses but are missing basic items like hand towels and Kleenex you would find in a hotel. Several rooms had broken windows which only became an issue when we had strong winds. The small pools at the houses were filled with salt water. There was no internet service. There was no cable or satellite TV. There is not much other than the house on the small island (its not really an island, but you can't get anywhere else like town unless you go by boat.) The grounds are under construction as Caye Winds builds out a larger convention center and hotel. Now, being isolated meant there was a lot of peace and quiet and we could go to town if we gave advance notice for the boat. All the excursions arranged were fantastic and the Caye Winds staff were very accommodating. Chap prepared some excellent meals and made due with the random availability of food items. We dined in the house often as it was easier than heading in to San Pedro for the night. San Pedro is a bit dingy itself and does not have that many places of excitement. Other hotels or resorts seemed to be where most people gathered. The other note for visitors to Belize is that people really don't swim right off the beaches due to all the crab grass, which renders the bottom squishy and gross. As long as you understand the type of place you are renting, the all inclusive price is a pretty good bargain and the house will likely be nicer than you would ever stay in for a resort. It is just missing all sorts of small things and is not as clean as one would like. There is not currently a professional hospitality group at the hotel, but one is coming shortly. They also said a bigger pool would be built and internet would be available soon.. but who knows. Check with the manager, they are pretty good about answering all emails. Caye Winds will be a fantastic resort in another 2 years.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

My family and I travel quite a bit and prefer island locations. We've been to Aruba, Caymans, Hawaii, Bahamas, St Thomas, etc... but Belize just became our favorite location. We loved the private island location. We stayed for 10 days in the largest Caye Winds home (6 bdrooms, 4 baths) and it was beautiful. However our trip was made by the staff and people we met. Chap and Albert are fantastic! The food delicious!The boating and excursions arranged by Chap and made possible by Tony and his staff really made our trip. I can't say enough about the kidnless of these people. The Lara family are incredible people and it was our pleasure to meet them. My 5 1/2 year old son had a great time and is counting the days until next year when we return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caye Winds Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Winds Villas

Address: Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Ambergris Caye
Also Known As:
Caye Winds Villas Hotel Ambergris Caye
Caye Winds Villas Belize/Ambergris Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caye Winds Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.