We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Retreat in the midst of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tara del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tara del Sol
Save
You added Tara del Sol to your Saves list
Beachfront, Ambergris Caye 99999, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Retreat in the midst of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My family and I stayed at Tara del Sol over Christmas. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this 3br/2ba condo to others. Of course, the location is on the beach and there is a pool but what really differentiated this condo from other alternatives was the condition of the unit. It was basically brand new. The master bathroom was stunning. The kitchen had granite countertops. There was a nice veranda to relax on. It was a very special place. The managers Ana and Erik were extremely helpful throughout every phase of our trip from planning to our stay and our departure. I would advise whoever rents this unit to also rent a golf cart. The cart is a necessity as the condo is a couple of miles plus south of town. If and when we return to San Pedro, we will be staying again at Tara del Sol.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

When I learned that we were staying at a condo for our first trip to Belize, I was inherently skeptical. However, Tara del Sol is guaranteed to satisfy even the pickiest traveler. Our unit was just the right size for a group of six, and has all the amenities you could want (modern kitchen, spacious balcony with view of the water, private dock and palapa, etc.). It is an incredibly convenient location (all of the dive trips and other excursions we took started with us being picked up on our dock) and is just the right distance from town (close enough to get in easily but far enough away that there are no worries about privacy or noise). Additionally, the owners (Ana and Erik) are most helpful and provided us with super advice on everything from restaurants to tour companies. Will definitely try and stay there again on future visits to San Pedro.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed in unit 3C I believe it is, on VRBO website http://www.vrbo.com/162184. This is a 3 bedroom 2 bath, beach level condo in Tara del Sol. Our family group of six stayed there for eight nights. The pictures on VRBO for this unit are exactly right. It is about two years old and outfitted very nicely. You are 70 feet from the beach and less then that from the small pool. Nice furniture, comfortable mattresses, granite and stainless steel in kitchen, which also comes with pretty much everything you would need if you want to prepare meals yourself (we didn't other then breakfast).

If you have specific questions you have the option of communicating with the owner by phone and by e-mail once you send your initial request for info through the VRBO listing. This condo is about two miles from San Pedro town. Ana and Erik Lausen are the property managers for Tara del Sol , and quite helpful.

One word of caution, if a washer & dryer on site is important to you, this unit does not offer that option although the property manager did indicate to us that a washer and dryer is available for renter's use in some of the other condos at this property. In this unit the laundry room is locked and your only option for washing clothing, towels etc. is if you hire a maid through the property manager and they will unlock the laundry room for the maid to do the laundry for you. I personally do not like anyone doing my clothes, so we did not hire a maid for that purpose. In the other VRBO properties we have rented we have always been able to do our laundry, and it was my fault I guess that I "assumed" that we would have that here. It will be a deal breaker in the future.

Our family group ranged in age from 10 to 69. The younger four did several excursions through Suya tours. They did scuba diving and snorkeling for two different days, and an all day trip to the mainland to Mayan ruins, etc. They had a great time and felt the tour guides did a good job, but again another word of caution. Work out the payment price prior to committing to the tours. There is a difference in price if you are wanting to use a credit card so you don't have to carry so much cash. They charge extra for credit card users but did not make that known prior to the excursions, and it was unexpected.

If you want really great meals where someone else shops, prepares and serves the meals, Chefs For Hire are wonderful. They are a group of three sisters and a lot of fun. Their service can be arranged through Ana & Erik also. We had them come for our dinner on our last night there and they are great.

DandE's frozen custard in San Pedro town was a stop we made almost every night. Very nice people.

My husband and I are the older two of our group and we really enjoyed investigating the island by golf cart. We arranged for the carts in advance through the Tara del Sol property manager and they were delivered to the condo and then picked up the morning we were leaving.

We also took the water taxi to Caye Caulker one day and it is quite charming.

It was a great trip, and our first to Belize. From the Belize City international airport you have the option of being picked up at the airport and taken to the water taxi, and then taking the water taxi to San Pedro town, or you can get a flight (small planes) from Belize City airport to an airstrip on Ambergris Caye. We did the former but when we make another trip to Ambergris Caye we will probably take the flight due to the time involved. If however you want to do the water taxi I arranged our pick up at the airport and transport to the water taxi in advance with Don Ramirez at [--]

I hope this review answers a few questions that someone may have if they are taking their first trip to Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We just got back over Thanksgiving from the best family trip we have ever taken. Every one had a great time from start to finish. A once in a lifetime experience. Ambergis Caye is just a great place to scuba dive, snorkel and experience outdoor activities. Much of the trips enjoyment is because of where we stayed, Tara Del Sol, and the advice, guidance, and other help we got from Ana Lausen and her husband Erik. From the time I contacted Ana, she answered all my many questions, gave great advice on almost every aspect of the trip and it all turned out to be useful, very helpful, and saved us money.

The 3 bedroom condominium at Tara del Sol was all we coul've asked for- clean, quiet, comfortable, very new with every convenience, great location, very nice swimming pool and dock, with easy pick-up access to all activities. And very affordable. The view of the ocean was great and supplemented by the view from the roof-top deck.

I couldn't recommend the place and Ana more highly. Will definetly go back. Super.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Our family just recently returned from Ambergeis Caye, where we stayed at Tara del Sol. Those condos are the most beautiful of any we have ever stayed at. The owner of the condo that we rented, has it so home friendly that you do feel at home. Beautifully decorated, well equipped and just beautiful.
We were there for scuba diving as well as enjoying all the beauty of the town, people and sites. Ana Larsen is the most wonderful person at Tara del Sol. She is your right hand helper. She made our trip very relaxing as she took care of our flight arrangements from Belize to San Pedro, meet us at the airport, arranged for our golf carts, and told us so many places to explore. Thanks Ana.
I would recommend Tara del Sol to anyone who wants to enjoy the island. You have your own pool plus a boat dock right at your front door and the views are spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambergris Caye hotels
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.8 mi away
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
#5 of 26 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara del Sol

Address: Beachfront, Ambergris Caye 99999, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Del Sol is a beautiful beachfront condominium complex of 10 units overlooking the shimmering blue waters of the Caribbean and barrier reef. Just 2 ½ miles south of San Pedro and within leisurely walking distance along the beach to town, Tara Del Sol offers luxury accommodations nestled in a quiet neighborhood. These two and three bedroom condos are beautifully furnished with fully equipped kitchens including stainless steel appliances, custom cabinets and tile, granite or tile counter tops and more. Off the master bedroom is a large private bath with double sinks, a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Each condo has central air conditioning, with ceiling fans throughout and cable TV for your entertainment. Step outside the front door to the veranda and enjoy a relaxing afternoon reading a book or a quiet evening recounting your days activities. The freshwater pool is perfect for that refreshing dip while soaking up the sun. Each building has a rooftop terrace perfect for that awe-inspiring view, witnessing a breathtaking Caribbean sunrise or awesome tropical sunset or just relaxing under the stars in the cool evening breeze. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Del Sol Hotel Ambergris Caye
Tara Del Sol Belize/Ambergris Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.