We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Week In Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Blanca Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambergris Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Blanca Villa
6 miles north of San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantasic Week In Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We’re just back from a week at Playa Blanca and fantastic would be an understatement. The previous reviews are spot on and I plan to add a few pictures of our activities with Tacio the boat captain. The photos of the house and grounds are accurate and the services of Marana and Esau are great. The house was spotless when we arrived and was kept that way by Marana visiting several times each day to clean, do the dishes, and laundry. She would wash any cloths you left out for her and return them folded in the late afternoon so be careful not to over pack.
Tacio was there every day at 9am and stayed until about 5pm. He would do any water sport you wanted to including fishing, snorkeling, spear fishing for lobsters, day trips to neighboring islands and sights, and trips to and from town. Tacio picks you up at the airport and takes you to the house with a grocery store stop along the way. He is a wealth of knowledge about things to do and places to go since he grew up on the island. The boat holds 55 gallons of fuel and is full when he picks you up. He stops back by the gas dock on your last day and you pay for the fuel. We did LOTS of boating and used about 42 gallons @ $5/gallon during the week. So be prepared for that final expense.
Transportation is by water only since there is no real road on this part of the island. The water taxi system follows a published schedule but does not come around very often. If you are in town and miss the last taxi you are stuck. Esau can give you the name of a private person who will pick you up at specific times and places and it’s a good idea to use him especially if anyone in your group plans to stay in town very late.
There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance of the house. Our favorite was a local “Jerk” restaurant where we ate one night and returned another night with our own fish and the chef cooked them several different ways and provided veggies for $10/person. The other restaurants served $20-$30 entrées and we did not eat there. Esau also gave us directions to a nearby (very small) market where we picked up a few things during the week. It was about a 20 minute walk one way. I say all that because if you plan to cook at the house very much you really need to plan your grocery trip(s) to town when Tacio is available to take you.
We had a great time and would love to return. If you have any specific questions just drop is a message.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was our second trip to Playa Blanca. We make it a policy never to go to the same place twice. Not only did we return, we chose Playa Blanca for our wedding! Cindy and I were married on the beautiful dock in front of Playa Blanca and everything was made perfect by the owners, Ruth and Graham. The Playa Blanca staff is top notch. Catering to your every need, but not bothersome or smothering. THE perfect place to stay in Ambergris Caye. I am quite sure that we will return for a third visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Such a Fantastic place to stay. Tacio is the boat captin and took us on many great adventures. Fishing, Snorkeling, Lobster diving, we also swam with the Nurse Sharks and Ray's. Morena took care of the house and dishes and kept things clean all the time.
What a wonderful time for all 7 bof our family. I would recommend this place to everyone.

thanks again Playa Blanca

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken. The house was perfect and, honestly, much better than we expected. The pictures are great, but do not do justice to the property. Everything was super clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the A/C in the bedrooms had the rooms cool within minutes. Even the other livng areas, with only the ceiling fans, were always cool and comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need if you decide to cook. We grilled fish and lobster that we caught ourselves for several dinners. The pool was small, but very refreshing after being in the salt water all day. It was also really nice to have someone picking up behind you all day long. The kitchen and house was always immaculate and every time we turned around, our clothes had been washed and folded and placed back in our rooms, although no one ever got in our way at all. To top everything off, we had Tacio and the boat every day at our disposal. We were again surprised by the size and quality of the boat, not to mention the huge selection of high-end snorkelling gear and fishing and spearfishing equipment. We had no problem at all finding great gear for me and my wife and our 15 and 12 year old children. Tacio was super nice and very informative. We caught a lot of fish and even caught about two dozen lobsters which we shared with everyone at the house. We enjoyed learning more about the area from Tacio and Esau. For those times we did not want to cook, there were plenty of restaurants for us to enjoy. We had lunch almost every day at one of the mnay local spots we visited by boat. For dinner, we walked to several local resorts and the food was always very good. All in all, we would highly recommend the house to anyone visiting the area. Much, much nicer than staying in town with the rest of the tourists.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010 via mobile

Wonderful villa and absolutely the best staff anyone could ask for equalled the splendor of the Caribbean !
Tacio was superb in every way as a guide and captain.He also cooks a fish,potato, and lobster meal fit for royalty.
Mareno and Esau were the greatest at keeping the home clean and operating smoothly.the home made tortillas each morning were a special treat.
We have booked again November!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at Playa Blanca Villa last month and I have to say it was amazing! The house far exceeded our expectations. We were a group of 6, myself, my husband, our daughters, and their husbands. The house was very spacious and there was plenty of room for everyone. We got the use of the Toucan Nest so we all had our own rooms and bathrooms which was very nice. Although the house was great, the best part of the entire trip was the staff. I can't say enough about how much we appreciated them. Tacio is the best tour guide, boat captain, source of knowledge, and fishing guide you could ever ask for. Morena kept the house so clean and you never even heard her! Not only that but she did our laundry every day and for anyone that's been on a tropical vacation you can imagine how great it was to come home to a suitcase of all clean clothes! I've decided Esau is just plain psychic, either that or he has hearing that is unmatched. He was always there when we needed him, whether it was getting back from town to unload groceries or back from fishing or snorkeling to unload gear or even to help my husband get the grill going.

So, if you are looking for a relaxed, peaceful vacation set in paradise, definitely check this one out. We are definitely going to go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Picking a vacation rental on the internet can be scarey, but we were thrilled when we arrived at this beautiful home right on the beach, and found it to be immaculate, beautifully decorated, and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. Tacio, the boat captain, went WAY out of his way to make every day exceptional. He was knowledgeable, fun, and knew all the very best places to snorkel and fish. One day the six of us caught 22 fish, ALL keepers! We had a feast that night. Highly recommended place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Blanca Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Blanca Villa

Address: 6 miles north of San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty lodging in Ambergris Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious villa, private boat with captain, personal fishing guide, unlimited fishing trips, snorkel trips, explore the islands, lagoon adventures, kayaks – bicycles, swimming pool. Our luxurious villas are situated on the oceanfront of Ambergris Caye, Belize, six miles north of the quaint town of San Pedro. Panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and the Great Belize Barrier Reef abound. Playa Blanca is private and secluded – yet within walking distance to the finest restaurants on Ambergris Caye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Villa Hotel Ambergris Caye
Playa Blanca Villa Belize/Ambergris Caye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Blanca Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Blanca Villa to your Saves list