We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - just not worth the cost.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mambo Restaurant

Mambo Restaurant
Mata Chica resort North ambergris caye | 5 miles North of San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
011.501.223.0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 143 Restaurants in Ambergris Caye
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good - just not worth the cost.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I will start with the fact that I got horribly sun burnt that morning so that definitely affected my mood while eating and that has nothing to do with Mambo. It has a great ambiance, but the menu is limited and is very expensive for what it is. It is really far north on the island, and they will pick you up, but then you have to wait forever to get a ride back. It was good, just not as good as they want you to pay for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    55
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I ate there at the recommendation of others at our resort. The resort water taxi picked us up and took us back free of charge. I had a shrimp appetizer for my entre which was plenty. They serve a wonderful bread with dipping oil for dinner. My husband had carbonara which was excellent. We took a golf cart back the next day to see what the resort looked like in daylight...it is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mambo Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Mambo Restaurant- located at Mata Rocks resort- has a very cool, chic setting.The food was okay for the price (pretty pricey!)- they have a large italian selection (brushetta, caprese, etc..) but everything was ordered was just So-So. It was a cool experience because they come pick you up on a boat, and the grounds are trendy, but the food was just okay.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner at Mambo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Mambo was one of our favorite restaurants on Ambergris Caye! Our dinner was delicious and everything was presented beautifully. Their water taxi will pick you up and drop you off if you are at another resort which was great. We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast with an ocean view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sat in the bar facing the sea and had a hot breakfast served with fresh fruit in minutes. Short bike ride south of X' tan Ha Resort. Awesome food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mambo Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Mambo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mambo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.