We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Windward Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Windward Parkway to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Windward Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5595 Windward Parkway, Alpharetta, GA 30004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Alpharetta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few years back and although it wasn't the greatest stay I thought it was better than the negative ratings I read about it. Boy was I wrong. What a difference a few years make. Let me start by saying the staff are very friendly and polite. Sarah was great at check in and provided me with a warm welcome. I got to my room (601) and there I could see where the hotel was in need of an update. Although the rooms look clean and modern with large flat screen televisions the rust stains and the spots on the bathroom walls were a giveaway. This room was quiet since it was away from the elevator and the freeway. After the second day, the television in my room stopped responding to input from the remote or when buttons were pushed on the television. This resulted in a move to a different room down the hall to room 622. This room showed much more wear and tear. The faucet on the bathroom sink actually swiveled due to it not being properly mounted and tightened. I found myself moving it to keep the water from running onto the counter. If that wasn't enough, during my last night with a flight to catch the next day, the toilet backed up and flooded the bathroom out into the vanity area soaking the rug. I actually had to go through the water and turn off the toilet valve to keep our belongings from getting wet.This late night move was down two floors with all of our luggage was not a good ending. After being told we would be credited for having to move when the television went out in the first room,I discovered the deduction was not on my final bill. After talking to the front desk, the one day charge was removed. When asked about any modifications to the rate due to the flooding in the second room I was asked if I wanted a credit or points which could be redeemed for a future night at Hyatt Place. After this adventure, I don't know if I'm ready to risk it again at another Hyatt place. The rooms on the freeway side of the hotel I would highly discourage unless you enjoy waking up a few times each night as a loud truck or speeding car goes by. The beds were not very comfortable. The food in the kitchen is a step above a continental breakfast but also leaves a lot to be desired (cold oatmeal dried out skillet sandwiches and rancid coffee). There is very little room to move around in the bathroom. They should remove the tub and install a shower only to fix this problem. This hotel is should be given less than two star rating.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    39
    16
    15
    5
See reviews for
27
21
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Right off the highway, clean,and great breakfast. and very affordable.I would definitely stay there again .the staff was friendly and helpful I can't believe the room was only 57 dollars. I give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Clean, lovely hotel with the most caring attentive staff. Delicious complimentary breakfast, really know how to treat their guests, very warm and welcoming.
By far, best hotel in the Alpharetta - Roswell area
Very nice clientele - never noisy

Room Tip: Very kind front office staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My stay in this hotel surprised me as I realized quickly that this is a remodeled Amerisuites hotel. I expected there to be some shortcomings with this remodel but in general the furnishings were very nice. There were little things such as the condition if the elevator that revealed its prior condition but the retro furnishings in the rooms, larger space, large tv, and comfortable bed were all bonuses. Unfortunately, the upstairs neighbors were very active at 2am and then a car alarm went off about the same time (related? You decide...). The next morning there seemed to be a real mixture of clients in the breakfast nook. Vacationing families as well as professionals. The oatmeal was rather sticky but the blast sandwich that I had was good. The coffee and OJ were rather good also.
The hotel location threw my GPS into a swivet more than once as it tried to lead me into the strip mall lot next door instead of the hotel parking lot. There is a nice mall nearby as well if you need to stretch your legs. They even have 2 Auntie Anne's for the pretzel fans out there. All in all it was a decent experience but I would probably prefer the Hilton if I had a choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good place, and great value. Do not make reservation through third party here your room will not be held. Overall the staff were congenial, and nice. The service was excellent, and my family felt comfortable. If not for the mishap with the third party reservation the weeken would have been perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roswell
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

All Hyatt Place hotels are nice, reasonable and updated. This property stands out because of all the great restaurants within walking distance or close by shuttle. Also great shopping nearby. The only negative is that the cable channels are limited and geared toward men with many sports channels and no Food Network, my favorite. Management please address this. Cookies available in lobby are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was married in September and recommended this place for my guests to stay at for about $69. Everyone seemed pleased with their rooms and hotel and enjoyed their stay. Although their rooms were fine and all, I was extremely disappointed with my experience at the Hyatt Place.

Before the event, the event planner and I talked about the shuttle that would take our guests to and from the wedding. We had an understanding that as many runs would be taken as necessary. On the day of the event I had a discussion with someone at the front desk and confirmed what the drop off and pick up times were to be. It was agreed that the first pickup time was going to be at 11:10. I was alerted by one of my guests at 10:40 that the shuttle had arrived and they had to leave now in order to get a ride back to the hotel. This was not acceptable at all. That was not what was agreed upon earlier in the day and prior to guests booking at the hotel. We still had activities and surprises for our guests at the end of the wedding. Unfortunately the wedding was cut short for our guests and nothing can be done to give that experience back. I was and still am very disappointed in this establishment and unfortunately cannot recommend the services of Hyatt Place to anyone.

The above happened on 9/1/12, and I have since heard that this happened to another "Wedding Block" group on 10/3/12. This must occur many times so I thought I would post this for other brides and grooms looking to put their guests at this establishment

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Windward Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Windward Parkway

Address: 5595 Windward Parkway, Alpharetta, GA 30004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Alpharetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alpharetta
#9 Family Hotel in Alpharetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Windward Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Windward Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Windward Parkway Hotel Alpharetta
Hyatt Place Alpharetta
Hyatt Alpharetta
Hyatt Place Hotel Alpharetta
Alpharetta Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Windward Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.