We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, great Mexican meals, fantastic Margaritas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border Mexican Cafe

On the Border Mexican Cafe
10575 Davis Dr, Alpharetta, GA 30009-4747
404-991-2660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 418 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As always, great Mexican meals, fantastic Margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have visited two On the Borders in Florida and enjoyed them. This is my first time at this one in Alpharetta, Georgia, and I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED!!! Oh, man, the Watermelon Margarita was so delicious!!! I should have ordered the large one! I also enjoyed the Chicken Quesadilla and the smoky taste of the chicken is so tasty and mouth watering!! My service was great, Nicole did a great job making sure I had all I wanted for my meal. This time, since I was traveling alone, I ate the Quesadilla and had gotten too full to order my favorite Kalua ice cream pie! ;( maybe next time!
On the Borders, please get a new restaurant in Gainesville, FL!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Definitely a cut above the ordinary Mexican restaurant; great patio with breezy fans; tasty chips and salsa; if you like iced tea, try the hibiscus/Jamaican tea; excellent guacamole made fresh; and a Kahlua ice cream pie that is awesome

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Quality of service here has a lot to be desired! Hardly worth the wait. The taco was stale and the drink order was wrong. It took forever to get and pay the bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great To-Go service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I very rarely eat in this restaurant; I usually call ahead and pick it up (at the bar) while I am running errands on my lunch hour. Their lunch chicken burrito is great! I get it with queso sauce on it. It comes with rice and your choice of beans. They always provide me with their tasty chips and salsa. Just over $7.

The food is always ready when they say it is going to be and they always get my order correct.

When my husband and I actually do eat here, the service is always great (friendly) and our order is always provided in a timely manner and correct. The inside is brightly decorated, really cute. Recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
215 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The food was good, but nothing memorable. Original order came out different than what we ordered, which is annoying. Drinks left empty for extended periods due to waitress not even visible on the floor most of the time. Waited nearly 15 minutes just to be able to pay. I doubt we will return based on our experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to On the Border Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.