We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlow's Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marlow's Tavern
3719 Old Alabama Rd, Alpharetta, GA 30022-8675
(770) 475-1800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 418 restaurants in Alpharetta
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quick and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We only had a few minutes for a quick bite before an engagement and this place served the purpose well. Very reasonably priced, quick and very friendly service. Wish we could have enjoyed longer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    23
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Your results may vary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I have visited this location twice now and the two experiences were exact opposites. The first time we had such great service, almost too much as the wait staff all checked in on us continuously. The second time not so much. The first time when we stated it was our first time in, we were served a complimentary appetizer. This time, we had no special treatment and when we asked about the local beer on tap we got the response, oh we're out. Someone at another table with another waitress ordered one later and was served a pint. First time we ordered the burger lettuce wrap and the stuffed turkey burger and both were amazing! Second time we ordered the open face steak sandwich and the rustic grilled cheese, both left us wanting those burgers back. The steak was tough and the sandwich was dull. The grilled cheese sounded amazing with several gourmet cheeses and grilled sourdough bread but it was slightly burnt and the cheese wasn't fully melted. The cheeses didn't pair well together either leaving just an unidentifiable cheese-ish taste in the mouth. We are now concerned that the third time could be a coin flip. We may find other options the next time out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Have been going here for quite a while. Dinner is always delicious. Atmosphere is nice, a little loud when busy, but if you sit on the patio it's fine. Heat lamps on closed in patio in winter so you can still enjoy patio dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

They have such an electic menu and great service. Big patio for summer or winter dining. Even some of the servers remember us from other visits and say hello...great staff

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High-quality, consistent, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been going to Marlow's Tavern for over a year and have consistently had excellent meals and top-quality service. The seasonal menu always has interesting options, and everything I have tried from it has been great. Most recently we had a BBQ burger and a deviled egg appetizer that were both tasty. Their soups are especially amazing. Always delicious with a great flavor profile. One meal I ordered the bowl of corn and crab chowder twice - once as my appetizer and once as my entrée! It was that good! Their burgers feature high-quality and tasty meat, well-cooked and good toppings. The variety of available sides is nice, including fried asparagus, but the regular French fries are always killer. All the sauces that they feature with items have been good. The fish tacos are a favorite of my husband's and it has been consistently great. The shrimp and grits are creamy and delicious with lots of shrimp, very decadent. All their portions are generous without being obscene. The value is extremely high, as the food is delicious, portions generous and prices very reasonable. Drink menu is fine. Service has always been top notch. Well-trained, friendly servers, knowledgeable about the menu, helpful about special requests, timely in their service, and just plain nice. They serve all day so you can get food at odd times too. This is about as perfect a place as you can get for a neighborhood bar/pub/bistro with excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlow's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlow's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.