We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal House -- a lunchtime favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midway Meal House

Midway Meal House
5150 Atlanta Hwy, Alpharetta, GA 30004-2923
770-442-3738
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 437 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Meal House -- a lunchtime favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Love the Meal House for lunch, I meet girlfriends there often... I usually get a vegetable plate... Vegetables cooked the way they should be. Sometimes I'll have a chicken salad sandwich, always good. Good menu of southern style cooking. Never heard anyone say they didn't like what they got. Service is friendly and good, very reasonable prices. If it's a nice day, eat on the porch -- nice breezes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Southern Charm...Down Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This little gem reminds me of days gone by. The building is a converted charming old house and the atmosphere is outstanding. When the weather is nice, you can dine on the porch. I have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner here and was never disappointed. The service is great and the wait staff is friendly. But the real star here is the food. Fried Chicken and Liver and Onions are two dishes I really love. Cooking either one just right is not easy. Midway meal house really shines with both dishes. The various sides are likewise great with no overcooked veggies. Portion sizes are more than generous.

No matter what time of the day you go, the food is outstanding and the prices are reasonable.

Breakfast for two about $13. Lunch for two about $15-$20 . Dinner for two $20-$25. It's food that you wish Mom could have made. (That is unless your Mom was a super cook...mine wasn't)

The charming decor hearkens back to the 40's or 50's....

I love this place and eat here often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy southern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We have frequented this restaurant for many years. The food is always outstanding. Large portions of southern goodness served by friendly attentive staff. It is a meat and two vegetables type place in an old converted house. They serve rolls and cornbread with real butter before the meal with lots of iced tea. Their fried chicken, meat loaf, fried chicken livers, hamburger steaks, and country fried steak are the standard meats served every day and the special of the day changes to other meats such as baked chicken, beef tips, and on Friday an Saturday fried catfish(some of the best we have ever had.) the vegetables change daily too. There ate many to choose from. They also serve good salads, burgers, and sandwiches. We love their breakfast also. Our favorites are omelets, pancakes, and southern biscuits. Go there on a pretty day and sit in the porch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“REAL southern home cooking for all three meals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although it is an old home made into a restaurant it actually is roomy inside. Service is very quick and very friendly and hot fresh made rolls and corn bread are brought to your table along with your beverage order. The menu is full of good southern entree's from fried chicken to a delicious meatloaf. So many good choices at reasonable prices. Don't forget the homemade peach or blackberry cobbler... Been back many times

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Home Cookin around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I go here for lunch a few times a month. I'm big on Meat Loaf and real mashed potatoes. Home fried chicken is wonderful also. Large menu of home made comfort foods. You will love it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midway Meal House also viewed

 

Been to Midway Meal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midway Meal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.