We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Di Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of di Paolo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
di Paolo
8560 Holcomb Bridge Rd, Alpharetta, GA 30022-5988
770-587-1051
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 424 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
atlanta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Di Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My family has been dining here for about 15 years and it's fantastic every time. Reservations are recommended at this popular place. Service is always good.

The last few times we've eaten here I've ordered the hearts of palm salad and carbonara pasta - both delicious. Hubby usually orders carbonara and tagliatelle bolognese. On our last visit I got the shrimp ravioli and even though I was almost full from the salad, I ate every morsel of the pasta. Nightly specials are always so tempting. Last night we shared a dessert special and I hope it goes on the permanent menu: a chocolate mousse cake over a chocolate hazelnut crust.

Di Paolo is delicious and delightful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend...have been going here for several years and have never had a bad meal. Worth the wait and don't let the funky deserted strip mall location turn you away!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best food, service, and wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This restaurant never fails. Always fabulous food, with a wonderful variety of selections. Ingenious appetizers, creative salads presented by well trained servers. Not a large place, so the intimacy is reminiscent of European restaurants. The wine choices are plentiful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hit or miss, but even a miss is still a hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is great. And when it's not great, it's still really good. I lucky enough to be from the area, and this place matches the quality of a place like Veni Vidi Vici in midtown. Although the curb appeal for this place is lacking in its suburban outlet mall setting, the interior is cozy but not too small. The inside of the restaurant has the feel of eating in a wine cellar, but one decorated with comfort in mind. They have a dedicated wine expert to assist with making the right beverage selection, and the menu is always seasonal (spring happens to be my favorite). All in all, this is a restaurant worth visiting before you spend quite a bit more at one of the better-known Italian hotspots downtown.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Or I should say out of town, we don't go often enough due to its proximity to our home, but each time vow to make more of an effort. I chuckle at the folks who claim this isn't Italian as I am sure they rave about Maggianos or Macaroni grill. This is clearly Italian. We love to go and simply sample what ever sounds good, although last night we actually got a couple of entrees (to share of course) we started with a couple of glasses of white a nice aromatic vermantno and a "grecci" I believe, recommended by our waiter Jimmy, which was bright with a nice minerality a perfect start next was ceasar which as always, is light and fresh and topped with some nice shaved parmagiana, not over dressed and cloying. We then split a half order of the best lasagna in town, because we can't go there and pass it up. We then moved to red wine a nice chianti classico and a ripasso (think little brother of amarone) also recommended by Jimmy which was lighter than you would expect and very enjoyable. Entrees were a veal parm very simiple just enough cheese and sauce to barely cover the meat and letting the veal shine, paired with simple tomatos and greens but the real start was a pan seared grouper served over corn rissotto with crispy pancetta and dressed with a red pepper coulis. Outstanding! despite our many visits and our tendency to enjoy the pasta and pizza my wife declared it the best dish she has had there.
Great food, well executed, a varied and reasonable wine list (with a staff knowledgeable about the wine) Wander outside the perimeter and give it a try you won't be dissappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed di Paolo also viewed

 

Been to di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage di Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;