We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Was Better Than the First!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of di Paolo

di Paolo
8560 Holcomb Bridge Road, Alpharetta, GA 30022-5988
770-587-1051
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 418 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Second Time Was Better Than the First!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and travel to the Atlanta area infrequently but we had a great experience at DiPaolo a couple of years ago, such that when we had a one night stay in the area in May, we decided to look them up again. What a fantastic evening we had! It's always such a pleasure when the entire experience--top to bottom--is consistent. We had an extremely knowledgeable waiter who clearly was enthusiastic about the "product" that is DiPaolo. Without going into the details of who ate what, please take it on faith that there just aren't any culinary mistakes here. We had a chance to speak to the chef/owner as we were leaving and while we heaped praise on him, he deflected it right back on his team. We only wish DiPaolo were in our area--we'd be regulars!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Under-rated Outstanding Italian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

don't let the strip mall location discourage you. The food is outstanding and the wine list exceptional-Wine Spectator agrees. I've eaten at this restaurant since they opened in 1995, and the food is consistently creative and delicious. The menu does change seasonally but always pushing to try new things. The shrimp with house made sausage and polenta was outstanding! Bacon wrapped dates appetizer, wow. Very tasteful reserve wine list too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We usually visit Di Paolo for special occasions like birthdays and last New Years Eve. We've never had less than great service. We have enjoyed every thing we've had there from salads, appetizers, main dishes to coffee with biscotti. Friday we went just for their thin crust pizza and salad. Together with a glass of good wine it was not cheap, but we enjoyed it and will do it again, when we have just a little something to celebrate.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Fresh, classic italian cuisine with careful attention to freshest seasonal ingredients and new idea. Spring menu just came out and the haibut as good as the server assured it would be. The polenta and bolognese was fantastic. Deserts are home made, including the gelato, and very creative. I keep going back and will continue to - whether its a getaway dinner with friends or a business meeting - can't beat it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Now That's Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very comfortable place, friendly vibe, pretty. Our group of 5 agreed it was well worth going back. I had the clams linguine, pretty salty even for a southern girl, but much better once I added a good bit of parm. Tasted the lasagne, FANTASTIC, and a rich and yummy pasta with duck confit which was another good choice. We all had a Caesar salad, way above normal. Really fresh shaved parm and a genuine Caesar dressing, one of the best I've ever had. If you're a fan of Caesar salad, you'll love this one. One of our party was a birthday girl and they brought a very unusual dense cake with coconut and anise ice cream on the side. Sounds a little odd, I know, but the anise was very subtle and it was so good we ordered a second one! This is one of those local places that has a family feel to it, I'd be a regular if I lived in Atlanta. The only downside we had was that our waiter seemed distracted. He was very good, knew the menu and wine list well; but disappeared from time to time and just didn't seem to be focused....just a down day maybe.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed di Paolo also viewed

 

Been to di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage di Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.