We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's on the Creek

Ray's on the Creek
1700 Mansell Rd, Alpharetta, GA 30004-4753 (Formerly Ray's Killer Creek Restaurant)
7706490064
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's on the Creek is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 413 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mansell Road and Georgia 400
Description: Formerly Ray's at Killer Creek, we have a firm belief that food should be enjoyed for its intrinsic flavors and not masked under a barrage of sauces or pretentious seasonings, Our talented kitchen delivers a delicious menu for everyone's tastes. For your wine glass, our cellar is stocked with premium vintages — Caymus and Jordan, Opus One, and Mondavi Reserve to name a few. Our list includes an extensive reserve section and 50 labels that are served by the glass. Tying it all together is a professional wait staff, many of which have been with us for 5+ years. Genuine and attentive, each server personifies Ray’s on the Creek’s dedication to having a great time eating out.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I looked for a place for 4 of us to have brunch and found good reviews for Ray's on the Creek/Ray's Killer Creek so made reservations. The service was very good, most of the food was very good. We were seated promptly and a server explained the layout of the offerings. Coffee, iced tea and water were replaced/refilled by the waitstaff before we could request them. The variety of breakfast and dinner items was good. Peel-and-eat shrimp were slightly undercooked, leg of lamb and prime rib were sliced to order and rare, just as we like it. My family enjoyed the made-to-order omelets, mashed potatoes, salmon cakes, gumbo and other items. The green salads were a huge disappointment: limp and tasteless. We did not try the seafood or pasta salads, just went to the desserts, which were delicious. Mimosas were mostly ice with a little orange juice and a wave-over of champagne at a price of $7! The brunch was $30 per person, which was a reasonable price for Easter brunch. However, the lack of vegetables will make me possibly look elsewhere next holiday and may keep us from returning for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    23
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SE USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our 6th visit to Rays and 3nd Brunch. I still recommend Rays for a nice upper scale dinner........... but no longer recommend its Brunch, 1. The set up and traffic patterns for getting up to get your own food is very disorganized and clumsy, Several people almost slipped and fell on the sloped walkway down to the tables and the areas where the food was located were rather clumsy and cramped when there were more than a few people. This can be over looked I suppose, since it is a special event only offered a few times a year. We have noticed a drop in the quality of the overall brunch itself......... somewhat cheaper. The desserts were very poor.......... the majority of them were frosted small cupcakes and brownies. Not what you would expect for a $30 pp brunch, No slices of pie or cake anywhere. The hot food looked good when we first got there,,,,,, but if you book this brunch get there for an early seating so you have a choice of food before they run out. I noticed that some nice crepes were all gone by the time we got seated, Prime Rib and Lamb were good.......... surprised no ham for Easter. None of the other items really stood out as good except for the mashed potatoes and the eggs Benedict. Also, only water coffee tea included. Orange juice extra charge. Ray’s brunch has fallen in quality. We will try another place for our next special event.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Rays on the Creek for Easter Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant was known as Rays Killer Creek but is now known as Rays on the Creek. Tripadvisor needs to catch up!

We've been in Atlanta for a couple of days when daughter (D) and American son-in-law (SiL) treated us to an Easter Sunday brunch here. The first impression on arrival is one of awe (for an Englishman) at the size of the place and the striking contemporary architecture. In side is vast with seating on two floors stepped down to a terrace overlooking the creek. The buffet was remarkable in its variety enabling diners to eat through breakfast to lunch over two or three hours. I shall never get used to the quantities many Americans put away. Heaped plates for breakfast followed pretty soon after by heaped plates for lunch...and I mean croissants, bacon, eggs, waffles, cheese and ham rolls and more, then beef, lamb, roast potatoes, a wide variety of vegetables, fish, shellfish, salads, then an impressive array of desserts.

However, what made the biggest impression on me was the archetypal American family, i.e. mum, dad, boy and girl, having brought their food to the table, sat down, held hands and with bowed heads, prayed. They looked to be straight out of the fifties in the dress and hairstyles. Don't know why it struck me so but it did.

Anyway, we all had a great time. It was a wonderful all-American experience and we were hugely appreciative of SiL for organising it. The food was extremely good given that it was a buffet and there was plenty available for those of us watching their weight. The service was attentive although ona couple of occasions we had to go looking for our server. My espresso arrived hot; always a good sign.

What is perhaps most impressive is the fact that every table was fully occupied from 10.30 when we arrived to 1pm when we left and there was a lengthy queue waiting. There were plenty of families with young children enjoying themselves, as well as tables of older families and friends. Overall, it's the sheer scale of this type of operation, obviously very successful, that deserves our respect.

So glad we were there on this occasion. Would I want to return? Hmmmmm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wife and I went Easter Sunday for their Brunch. This was our first visit to any of the "Ray's", and it wasn't bad. The place was packed. We got there about 20 minutes early for our 1:30 reservation, and they seated us about 10 minutes early. The brunch selection was extensive and the service was attentive and pleasant. The food was all "good", but it didn't blow us away. But then, that's kind of what you expect from a buffet. The only down side was that my beers turned out to be $9 each! Ouch! We will return for a meal of their regular menu, and we'll also try out the other Ray's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You MUST get to Ray's this Saturday! Sit at the bar or a bar table and have the time of your life! The entertainment this past Saturday was fabulous and I hear they are returning again this coming Saturday. This is a show NOT to be missed, hurry for the best FREE seat in town!
And, the steak is fabulous, the bartenders pour a mean martini and there is plenty of eye candy for desert!!! JK

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's on the Creek also viewed

 

Been to Ray's on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's on the Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.