We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food, if not a tad expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
2335 Mansell Rd, Alpharetta, GA 30022
+1 770-643-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 418 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Point Parkway
Transit: MARTA Bus Stop on Mansell near GA 400.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
245 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, if not a tad expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my first time at any Buca di Beppo restaurant and we went for a friends birthday who really enjoys it. We ate family style, like everyone does and we ordered the Appetizer sampler. it had Calamari, which was good, mozzarella cheese triangles and stuffed mushrooms. You can't mess up friend Mozzarella so it was good, however I don't like mushrooms so I didn't try those. We had the Chianti Short ribs, which were surprisingly lean, and very very tasty. By far my favorite in fact. We had the Chicken Glorioso, which was very tender, juicy and well seasoned with sundried Tomatoes and Artichokes. We got Spaghetti and meatballs, which were good, but not special. We had the Italian Cake for dessert and it was both delectable and light after dinner. We sat at the table in the kitchen which was unique, fun, interesting and very hot. When they say "if you can't take the heat in the kitchen..." They mean it. Great experience though. Everyone should do it once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too expensive for pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I only had pizza there and a cocktail but both were way too expensive for what you get. A small cheese pizza is $14 and cocktail (small well drink) was $7. Not outrageous but just not worth it. The pizza is average at best. It's a cool place though with lots of old photos and very comfortable. It's novel but I'm not going to be a regular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good PLENTIFUL Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely a family restaurant! It is very reasonably priced and if you leave not filled up, it is your own fault. Definitely recommend sharing entrees as the portions are HUGE. The meatballs in the spaghetti and meatballs are baseball sized! The 1812 salad is superb and one of the best I've had in an Italian restaurant. Every room is a masterpiece of art and has it's own "throwback" theme. If you haven't been, you need to go! They start you off with a tour of the kitchen, which is a very unique experience. Well worth the trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, value, and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my fourth time visiting Buca di Beppo. Both the pastas and the pizza are very good -- in all the classic variations. The atmosphere is that of a traditional southern Italian "mom & pop" restaurant, with Italian and Italian-American photos -- in franchise version. It can get noisy at peak hours. The service was quick and attentive. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, but service was lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I do try to be optomistic and I am hoping that we just came in at the wrong time. We were seated at a booth in the bar area and it's a good thing they had so many interesting photos on the wall or my husband would have walked out for sure! We waiting far too long until the hostess finally returned to ask us if our server had been by. Enjoyed our calamari appetizer with spicy sauce :) Ordered the Penne San Remo and we couldn't even finish it! The portions are great and served "family" style -a shared dish. We would go back again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.