We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere, great food and friendly service ... This place has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Bakery and Trattoria

Alpine Bakery and Trattoria
12315 Crabapple Rd., Alpharetta, GA
770-410-9883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 440 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, great food and friendly service ... This place has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We found this restaurant online while heading to Alpharetta from Orlando. We were looking for a beautiful cake to celebrate a birthday. It had great reviews so we decided to try it.

This place is fabulous. We had dinner on the patio which wasn't really a patio at all. It was enclosed with curtains and heaters. The service was excellent. Our server Jessica went out of her way to make our meal enjoyable. The food was delicious and the bakery ... OMG - the best. If you're looking for something sweet this is the place to stop. We couldn't settle on just one cake so we bought two. The were the hit of the party.

Definitely put the restaurant/bakery on your list of places to visit while you're in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Slipping and the service is just bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food was better a year ago, it is still good just no longer great. Our pizza was greasy, the calamari dry, too bad this place as good. The service is awful, the hostess just kind of stares and doen't really communicate and I never understand why it takes 5 minutes to seat you in an empty restaurant. Our server took ten minutes to approach the table, another 5 to get water for everyone. Drinks took forever, the check was wrong hate to see a place that was so good slip like this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best pizza around, PERIOD, and great dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although we can get the $5.99 pizza across the street at Domino's we always spend a lot more for MUCH better pizza at Alpine. You can just tell the ingredients are the best money can buy. If you have a sweet tooth beware, the bakery in there is amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Close but NO Cigar!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family and I just left Alpine, we have been here many times, and always feel the same way when leave..it was just ok. My wife and I have Italian parents, and wish there would be some Italians in the Alpine kitchen..and if there are..then some Italians with good taste.
Tonight I had a "flash fried flounder special" they took a presumably nice piece of flounder, over breaded it, and fried it in oil that was not hot enough so It absorbed too much grease. It was not properly seasoned..if at all. My wife and children all had really boring dishes as well... The guys in the kitchen do not know how to properly season food...salt and pepper are good when cooking..perhaps a little Chianti in the gravy!
Alpine has gotten better, not worse but is still much closer to good "diner food" than it is to a fine Italian restaurant. The room is stunning, the bakery is awesome, the wait staff seems to have lots of turnover which is never a good sign...but the food is just ok.
May I suggest..get some real Italians in that kitchen...even if you have to fly a few in for a couple of weeks!! This food is just fine for most of our neighbors who have no clue what good EYE-talian food should taste like, but for those of us who know... Alpine is close..but NO cigar!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected in a strip mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My daughter and I were visiting relatives. They took us here on our first night. What a pleasant surprise. Atmosphere on the patio is lovely. You can't even tell you are on the edge of a parking lot in a strip mall. There are large curtains, ceiling fans and nice lighting. The food was very good and portions are generous wine list has some nice options and good prices too. The loaf of bread they bring to the table with olive oil for dipping is hot and fresh. The cheesecake topped with fruit that the teens ordered looked great too. They said it was yummy. If you live near Alpharetta or have reason to visit, go to Alpine Bakery for dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Bakery and Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Alpine Bakery and Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Bakery and Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.