We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - incredible value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12505 Cingular Way, Alpharetta, GA 30004 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Alpharetta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Alpharetta
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great stay - incredible value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this property as we attended a concert at the nearby Verizon Wireless Amphitheater. This hotel is clean, modern and well taken care of. They are currently under construction completing a renovation of the lobby and the hallways. A beautiful new lobby floor was in the process of being installed during my visit, and the hallways were being painted. The final result will prove to be beautiful, I am sure. This is a hotel that is geared more towards weekday business travelers as it is located in an area with lots of office complexes. The entire surrounding area was clean, and I felt safe. Many restaurants located close by to the hotel. Free breakfast is included. Choices were bread items, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage patties, made to order omelets and waffles. Fresh orange juice and Starbucks coffee completed the breakfast choices. There was a glitch in the service while I was there,as there was only one person cooking omelets and he was backed up with at least 8 orders. All the pre-cooked food ran out and at least 8 people were waiting for it to be refilled. The one person working went to cook the food for the buffet and it was pretty much chaos with everyone waiting. Two other staff members finally came to help and order wad restored relatively quickly. The staff remained calm and friendly through a stressful situation. The breakfast was delicious, despite the long wait. Every staff member I came into contact with was pleasant to deal with. I paid $65 total for a Saturday night stay. I would definitely return to this location of I find myself traveling to Alpharetta in the future. I how you have found this review helpful. If you did, please give it a helpful vote. Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for your kind, detailed review. We appreciate your details about our property, team, location and service. This is what makes us smile, knowing our guest leave, review and want to return. We thank you so much for your business and look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    39
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
34
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

To be fair to the hotel it is currently in the midst of quite a major overhaul as it now comes under the Holiday Inn wing. The reception floor was being relaid and plenty other work going on so it was in a bit of a mess. Nevertheless the staff did a grand job coping with this, especially the reception staff.
I had a larger king size room and this was nice and spacious. Good size bed and separate desk area with an armchair with a kitchen area off to the side. Decor was a bit tired, carpet rippled up and fittings a bit worn, but I assume this will be rectified under the refurbishment. I found the bed very comfortable though, although the sleeping experience was ruined by an extremely noisy air con unit. Turn it off and it is too warm so you just have to suffer the noise. Also, as previously reported, the room had a very strong smell of air fresher or maybe cleaning products. Quite over powering.
Pool area was scruffy with discarded towels, litter in the pool and cigarette butts on the floor. Just did not give the right impression.
I did not enjoy breakfast. Yes they would cook omelettes for you but if this is not to your liking then there is not a lot of alternative variety. Also if you take breakfast later then items were not replenished. I asked for butter which created total confusion involving three members of staff, eventually resulting in being told they had none. Actually the problem was more of staff not being totally conversant in English.
To summarise, reasonable value for money but the experience could be a lot better with some attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we are currently going through a complete renovation, so we sure hope you will return once we are finished with the entire renovation. You will be pleased!
Thank you for your review and thank you for your business. Please come back and see us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I were quite pleased with our weekend stay in August, 2013. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. When we needed extra bath cloths, they were more than happy to provide them. I believe our room was supposed to have an alarm clock, but we could not find it. However, we called the front desk to set up a wake-up call and no worries.

Hot and intercontinental breakfast items were available for guests. To add, they served Starbucks (brand) coffee, and provided a selection of Tazo (brand) teas. There was also a cook on hand to prepare omelets (with guests' choice of toppings) and Belgian waffles.

The hotel is in a busy location; but the area was really quiet. The traffic noise was never a problem, and it is in a nice area for walking or jogging. The fitness center is really nice also. At the time, there were some signs of ongoing painting projects (internally)...but management did not have the contractors working during the time of our stay (a very considerate gesture by management to ensure their guests' comfort).

We will definitely be willing to stay here again, and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear we met your expectations! We hope you will always make our hotel your hotel when your travels bring you back to our area! Thank you so much for your business. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Family stayed for 4 nights over a weekend, 2 db bed suite worked fine. Only negative is why Double beds instead of Queen size ? Front Desk staff was very polite and addressed all our needs. Hotel was going through a 'rehab' , painting and hall repair when we visited - staff made visit comfortable by warning us of the mess and bad painting smell. Overall hotel is in great shape, staff was friendly and heplful and priced right. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate your time to post about your recent stay. We are very excited about our new fresh look, so we are happy to hear you will return to our property when your travels bring you back to the area! We look forwarding to see you again soon. Thank you for your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room was comfortable, we appreciated the mini-fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast was fantastic, if not quick - made to order omelets were delicious, and prepared by a very friendly chef. Other than the omelet-maker, there was one employee responsible for the coffee, waffles, and omelet ingredients - he was working hard, but having a hard time keeping up. The hotel was in the midst of guest room renovations. Staff was friendly. Good location, we got a great price through Hotwire.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. Chef Tim loves to make a great breakfast for our guest, so we will let him know you mentioned him in your review. We sure hope you will be back in the coming months to see the new product we will have for our guest.
Thank you for your review and thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend "getaway" and we loved it! The hotel is a little older and undergoing some renovations, but the stay was extremely relaxing and comfortable. The bed was perfect, the suite was very nice. Probably the best part (to me at least) was the breakfast. Free breakfast bar including eggs, sausage, potatoes, the usual cereal and muffins, but also...made-to-order omelets! FREE!!! I've enjoyed omelets at a few different hotels, but never free! That alone makes this hotel a great value! In addition, the staff was very friendly (especially Ismael, the omelet chef). The Alpharetta area is beautiful and peaceful, and there is plenty of shopping and dining just across/down the street from the hotel. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We love hearing all of your kind comments about our property and staff. We are so happy you enjoyed our complimentary cook to order breakfast. Its always a great way to start your day. We hope you will be back again for a "get-away" in the near future and make us your home away from home!
We appreciate you and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here on the weekend with my daughter.We had the exec double room and it was nice and roomy. Small kitchen and pull out sofa. The products were Gilchrist and Soames and very lovely. We used our AAA when making our reservation and it was a value.
The staff was very friendly and the room was quite clean. They were doing some renovation preparations.
The only complaint i have is the air conditioning was quite loud.
Location is great and there are places to eat everywhere. Easy interstate access also.
The breakfast was very good. There was an omelet bar and homemade waffles. Starbucks coffee.
I understand that it has been bought out by Holiday Inn and will be changing over the next few months. Renovations and changes in store.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct, we are making some great changes and hope you will be back to see the finished new IHG product. Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Address: 12505 Cingular Way, Alpharetta, GA 30004 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Alpharetta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Alpharetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Alpharetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites delivers a fresh take on modern day travel by beautifully blending southern hospitality and charm with intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 124 smartly designed suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations. Our features include breakfast with our signature cinnamon rolls and pancakes, WI-FI throughout the hotel. Conveniently located off Windward Parkway with easy access to fast-paced Atlanta just 35 miles south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.