We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12505 Cingular Way, Alpharetta, GA 30004 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Alpharetta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Alpharetta
Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is my second time staying at this Hotel Sierra. This is really a great hotel. The staff is very friendly. The location is convenient to the restaurants on Windward Parkway.

The "Bistro" dinner is always very tasty and includes free beer and wine. The breakfast is very good with made to order omelets. The workout room is nice with good equipment; there is even a refrigerator in the workout room to keep towels cold.

The rooms I have stayed in are very nice with a small kitchen / refrigerator.

The best thing about Hotel Sierra is the great value. I usually stay for around $100, and feel like I am getting the amenities of an Embassy Suites or something similar.

The only minor problem I run into is that the elevators can be a little slow. That is it, everything else is great.

The Hotel Sierra chain was recently purchased by Hyatt, however, the desk clerk told me that this hotel was not included in that purchase since there is already a Hyatt Place nearby and this hotel is slightly different that other Hotel Sierra’s. The future of this hotel is somewhat up in the air, but I hope it continues to be the hidden gem in Alpharetta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
It sounds like you have had a few great stays at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review of your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfast and all the wonderful COMPLIMENTARY amenities offered. Thank you again for such a wonderful review of the "Gem" in Alpharetta as you so kindly referred to us as. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    41
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
34
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Sierra this week. Was my first time to the hotel and I can say that I was very impressed. The service was amazing. Staff was very friendly and responsive. The hotel has been very well maintained and clean. The rooms had been recently updated. Modern and comfortable. Loved the sectional sofa in my room. The breakfast was great. Made to order omelets and an abundance of other choices. Fresh scrambled eggs as well. Nice t see something different than the same old make your own waffles. I would definately recommend this property and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I truly can't believe we received such an amazing great deal for such a beautiful hotel. The breakfast was amazing, I have stayed at a much more expensive Full Service Hotel in this area and was forced to pay $20+ for the exact same breakfast I received here at Hotel Sierra Alpharetta. The staff across the board was AMAZING! Everyone I encountered was genuinely friendly and you could tell they loved their jobs and wanted to take care of us!! DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone who is hesitating to choose a "non-branded" hotel and stick to an old favorite choice....definitely step outside the box and choose this hotel, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

WOW! My family and I stayed here for a recent soccer tournament and had never heard of "Hotel Sierra" were we totally blown away by the service, the awesome free HOT breakfast and the total cleanliness of the hotel!!! TRULY the best value & service I've ever found!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone who has ever had a bad experience at one of those "big names" hotels.....truly a diamond in the rough!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
It sounds like you had a great stay at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review of your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfast and amenities offered. Thank you for recommending to others and we hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbern, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and accomidating, especially the hotel shuttle service. There are several options for dining out near the hotel and the shuttle service is very convient. The rooms are nice & clean. The only complaint would have to be the air conditioning in the room is VERY loud when it kicks on and off. I would have had a better nights rest if the a/c would have been quieter. This was only a minor complaint for me, but for others it might have been a bigger deal. The suite is very nice with a full kitchen & full size refrige. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, I am so delighted to know you enjoyed your time at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for the great compliments regarding the breakfast and amenities offered. I'm sorry to hear that your AC unit was louder than you would have liked. I do apologize for this inconvenience. I hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We checked in to this hotel to find stained furniture and carpets. Chipped paint was visible throughout the hallways and doorways. The microwave had some schmutz on the outside of it. There was a general lack of upkeep and the hotel appeared extremely dated.

Also, the door that would enable the room to adjoin to another room was in the kitchen, over a tile floor. The noise coming from the adjacent apartment as they made dinner was considerable.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful, but this hotel is not at all what I was expecting given the reviews. This reminded me of a hotel that 6 guys would cram into over spring break, not at all something meriting the reviews it received.

Needless to say, we hastily left and found alternate lodging.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When 250+ reviewers gives this hotel a 4.8 to 5.0 rating, look no further. The remodelled establishment was formerly Amerisuites. For the bargain weekend rate, you get plush & roomy accommodations with waffle terry bathrobes, designer & eco-friendly toiletries in pump-up dispensers, bright white linens, a mini kitchen area equipped with complete flatware / silverware / glasses / goblets for 4, micro-ref, and a flat screen tv. Breakfast is usual sausage/eggs/toast/muffins with 'starbucks' brand coffee. An "omelette chef" will cook to order your choice of omelette!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so delighted to know you enjoyed your time at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for the great compliments regarding the breakfast and amenities offered. I hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the area.

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Address: 12505 Cingular Way, Alpharetta, GA 30004 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Alpharetta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Alpharetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Alpharetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites delivers a fresh take on modern day travel by beautifully blending southern hospitality and charm with intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 124 smartly designed suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations. Our features include breakfast with our signature cinnamon rolls and pancakes, WI-FI throughout the hotel. Conveniently located off Windward Parkway with easy access to fast-paced Atlanta just 35 miles south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.