We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very plush, clean, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12505 Cingular Way, Alpharetta, GA 30004 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Alpharetta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Alpharetta
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very plush, clean, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel at the king suite. We were very impressed with the hotel. The hotel looked new and everything was clean. Herman, at the front desk, was very friendly, helpful, and accomidating. We were checked in quickly and at our first step into the room, we were greeted wtih soft music playing from the radio. The room was very spacious. There was a full sized fridge, microwave, sink, and dishes. There was a comfortable sitting area with a desk in the room. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The room even had a robe to use. The night we were there, the vending machine was out of water and the lady at the front desk gave us one of their bottled waters for free. The breakfast the next morning was very nice. There was your usual continental breakfast options, but there was also eggs, sausage, a waffle making station, and an omlet station with a chef there to prepare your omlet (this was on a Sunday morning). I am not sure if the chef is there every day. They also brewed Starbucks coffee which was also a nice treat in the morning. We were very happy with our stay and will definitely recommend the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

It sounds like you had a great stay at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review of your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfast and amenities offered.

Thank you for recommending to others and we hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    44
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
59
37
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Arrived here late at night and nice lady at the desk checked us into our room in under 5 minutes.

Walked into the room and the first thing I noticed is the extremely soothing sound of music playing on the digital music/clock player and the room was at a nice cool temperature. The beds and sheets were extremely comfortable and the sheets were clean.

Bathroom was spotless with plenty of bath towels, however they could probably be replaced with newer plushy ones.

Arriving so late, we were hungry with no nearby restaurants open except for a sports bar but, having kids in tow, decided to opt for the options in the hotel's vending machine which was not too bad. We purchased some Schwann's frozen chicken pot pies for $3 each and that satisfied.

Room was fitted with microwave, small fridge, sink, utensils, dishes, glasses, cups, coffee maker, dish soap and paper towels. Hotel Sierra you are amazing!

The comfy sofa converts to sleeper sofa and room came equiped with a nice desk to do any work on.

Woke up too late to take advantage of the buffett free breakfast and never had a chance to eat at the nightly free dinner but the menus looked very enticing - spaghetti, bbq, hot dogs, burgers, fruit, chips, drinks. This place is awesome!

Out the back door if you walk across the street, you'll find a Starbucks, Subway, Costco. This appears to be a very newly developed area of Alpharetta and looks secure and maintained. ATT was right around the curve from Hotel Sierra.

This is the perfect hotel for our trip to Georgia.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the amenities, cleanliness of the hotel and the staff. We are so glad we were the perfect hotel for your trip to Georgia and hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Florida only for 1 night. The other reviews here on tripadvisor are what made me chose this hotel over others. The fact that management took the time to personally respond to each one stood out from the other choices by a mile! We were not disappointed. The service was great. Rooms were way above average, and the breakfast was tasty. Stayed somewhere else on the return trip trying to save some money and boy was that a bad decision! I'll never stay anywhere else in the Alphretta area again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive review of your recent stay at Hotel Sierra. We are so glad you gave us a chance and now we are your favorite hotel in Alpharetta!

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in the area.

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

The staff at this hotel really go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel at home. We arrived late in the evening to check in and received a cordial welcome from the desk agent who also kindly offered me several water bottles when I asked if I could buy some (there are vending machines she could have just pointed me to). The daytime desk staff were also very accommodating for our needs in meeting informally within the common reception area which while not elaborate has quite a few tables and chairs available for dining at various intervals.

Speaking of dining, the hotel has an average continental breakfast plus omelets made to order which is a nice touch - unfortunately they couldn't accommodate a request for egg whites only. We opted to go elsewhere but give E for effort here since it's complimentary - they also serve some hot dishes which appeared to be very popular with some of the guests as dinner. If you don't care for these options there's a Starbucks and Panera Bread within walking distance as well as an outstanding Italian restaurant, Vinny's.

Rooms are well appointed with large size bottles of Gilchrist & Soames toiletries ready to tap. Showers were excellent. It was unusually chilly during our stay, so the only issue I would report is that the blankets and bedding being very lightweight, it was necessary to run the heater occasionally which is a fan-type and pretty noisy. Workstation was well lit and Internet access flawless.

For the price point this is definitely worth a look. The overall experience was very positive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sierra during your recent visit to Alpharetta. We thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and amenities offered. We are glad your overall experience was very positive and hope to see you again.

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

It is locationed at winward and 400 making it easy to meet with fiends in ATL and family in Cumming.

It is a new hotel and everything sparkles.

Check in was extremely smooth. I even asked for nearby restaurants. The concierge gave me a hard copy with with nearby restaurants and directions. I picked Taco Mac from the list and had some very good TexMex.

The room was a suite with an office and mini kitchen. The bed was a king size with about 10 pillows on it.

The made to order breakfast is what you find at a much more expensive hotel.

I do not think you could find any better service for the price in Alpharetta than Hotel Sierra. Book it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Sierra and the location was perfect for your needs. Thank you for the nice compliments regarding the staff and breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a mid-range all-suites hotel. Better than Extended Stay America, not as good as Embassy Suites.

The staff was exceptional. Every one was pleasant, helpful and accommodating.

The room furnishings are fine, nothing special but perfectly all right. The bathroom has the toilet and shower separate from the vanity area and is a bit small. My only complaint about the room would be the HVAC - it's very noisy, too much for me to sleep through.

The breakfast is very good for this level of hotel (unless you're looking for fresh fruit, though they do have apples at the front desk.) The evening happy hour is a pleasant surprise, and depending on that night's menu may be enough for a light dinner. If you want more there are places within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here except for the fact that the HVAC was too loud in your room. We hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and comments, we really do value these.

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This is why I love tripadvisor. I lived in Alpharetta for years and had never heard of this hotel. We flew back to attend a wedding and started checking tripadvisor for places to stay. Based on the reviews, we were afraid this place couldn't possibly live up to the high marks. But, from the moment we arrived, it felt as if we had been there many times before. The staff is incredibly welcoming and provides customer service like we haven't seen in a long time. A lovely lady named Tan was there to check us in and seemed to be so happy to provide what we needed. We absolutely LOVED the room. Cozy and warm and we walked in to hear spa music playing in the background. They have these wonderful sound machines and they are playing as you walk into your room. Our room had a small living area and a kitchen with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and it was the kind of room that felt as if no one had every stayed there before us. It also felt as if updating and cleaning had happened just prior to our arrival. Little extra touches like an iron and a blowdryer and a magnifying mirror and built in shampoo and body gel and coffee......we loved it all. Homemade waffles and omelets in the morning along with snacks in the afternoon. So the reviews are true. And the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSierraGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives me great pleasure to read your review and know that Hotel Sierra exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the staff, amenities, breakfast and extra touches that set us apart. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

In hospitality,
Julie Muriuki, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Address: 12505 Cingular Way, Alpharetta, GA 30004 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Alpharetta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Alpharetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Alpharetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites delivers a fresh take on modern day travel by beautifully blending southern hospitality and charm with intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 124 smartly designed suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations. Our features include breakfast with our signature cinnamon rolls and pancakes, WI-FI throughout the hotel. Conveniently located off Windward Parkway with easy access to fast-paced Atlanta just 35 miles south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.