We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATLANTA MARRIOTT HOTEL, ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta

Save Saved
You added Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5750 Windward Parkway, Alpharetta, GA 30005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
American Girl® Getaway
Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Alpharetta
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“ATLANTA MARRIOTT HOTEL, ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

OK, so last weekend (Labor Day weekend, 2013) we stayed at the Marriott in Alpharetta, GA. Was our stay perfect? No. But, when necessary they did a good job of “service recovery.” Here are a few details:

• Upon first use of the toilet in our room we discovered it was plugged up, and a flood ensued. I managed to turn the valve off to stem the tide, and within 6-8 minutes a maintenance person arrived to fix the problem and mop up the mess. Problem solved.
• After 3-4 uses it was obvious that the sink was draining very slowly. Within about 15-20 minutes of calling, someone arrived to fix that problem, as well.
• After the first night of poor quality sleep, due to three overly stuffed and very hard pillows, and three very soft and under filled feather pillows, we explained the problem to the front desk and were offered foam filled pillows that made our second night much more comfortable. Order the foam pillows immediately upon check in.
• The Wi-fi worked flawlessly in our room and in the lobby, and all other room amenities were up to the Marriott standard.
• They had roped off a large part of the parking lot for some reason so competition for parking spaces was intense. This situation only eased late Sunday night when enough people had checked out. I don’t think they have enough space to create enough parking when they’re fully booked, so be forewarned.

We observed an interesting incident while having the Sunday buffet breakfast. One person had cleared dishes off a nearby table and a small packet of jam fell on the floor in front of the buffet line, unnoticed. It sat there as another employee (name withheld to protect the guilty) came by, eyed the packet, and then made a very conscious decision that it was “below her pay grade” to bend over and pick it up. She passed by again in 30-45 seconds, and again made the same decision.

Then along came Raphael, pushing a huge cart full of clean dishes. He spied the packet, paused with his heavy load, walked over and picked it up and tossed it in a nearby wastebasket, then went on with his “real” job. This guy seems to "get it."

Just then some guy in a nice suit came by wearing a Marriott nametag, so I motioned him over and inquired if he were somehow connected to the restaurant. Turns out he was the Director of Operations for the whole hotel, Mark Van Wagenen. I related the story of the errant jam packet, and he said he would make a point of telling that story in the staff de-briefing at the end of the shift. Sort of a real-world “teachable moment.”

To the young lady who refused to pick up the jam packet, you have much to learn from Raphael.

The next morning I was in the lobby and along came Mark V. He offered to get me a cup of coffee, which I declined, and we chatted a bit more. In the 6-7 minutes we chatted he stepped aside at least 4-5 times to open the doors for entering and exiting guests, some with kids and strollers. He sees everything. He misses no opportunity to be of service to others. That same young lady has much to learn from Mark V.

Would we stay again? Sure. But we’d try to schedule our stay when there would be more parking spaces available.

Dean Herrington

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dean, It was very nice speaking with you and your wife during your stay. I really appreciate that you took time out of your day to detail your guest experience at the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel. It is only through this feedback that we can hope to improve your future service experience. This information is truly invaluable and you can be sure that I will share your review with all of our associates. I hope you and wife had a nice breakfast at Cracker Barrel on your way back to Las Vegas. It was an honor to to brillantly host you and your wife. Please come back and see us the next time that you visit the Alpharetta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    100
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
43
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Marriott properties rarely disappoint and this is no exception. The room was comfortable with a good bed. The food was good and the property clean and well maintained. A niggling note, we were with a group and our room was missing its mini-fridge, which was present in the rooms of other attendees.

The area is close to lots of restaurants and we had a fantastic meal at a nearby Cuban restaurant (Mambo's Cafe, 4915 Windward Parkway).

The staff and management were extremely accommodating to our car club, roping and maintaining a separate area for us to gather and park. - Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We really appreciate that your S2000 Club of America held your car event at the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel. All of your members had a great time and we truly thank you for all of the nice comments about our property and associates. Please accept my apology that you didn’t have a refrigerator in the room that you were assigned. We are in the process of installing refrigerators in all of our guest rooms which will be completed in 2014. In the meantime you can request one to be delivered upon request. Many thanks again for your business and we hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to the Alpharetta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Attended a conference on the weekend. We got a very low rate. This hotel has all the extras such as outdoor and indoor pool and whirlpool. Lobby and grounds are lush. Full serve dining onsite. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Very fast elevators. Right off the interstate. I would send the most fussy traveler there. Do not let the low weekend rate scare you away.

Room Tip: Corner room is a plus. A bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so happy to hear that our hotel has provided you with the outstanding value that you have come to expect from Marriott. Thanks for pointing out all of our most popular features and especially our pleasant and helpful associates. It was a pleasure to brilliantly host you and we look forward to your next visit to the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our fourth time staying at the Alpharetta Marriott for the American Girl weekend. Again, our stay exceeded our expect ions. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Christina, at check in, went above the call of duty to make my daughters feel extra special. I am always overly impressed with the staff, they are always as friendly as the staff in Disney, very impressive. They know how to make each girl feel very special, from the pink rooms, doll beds, pink robes, movie night, cookies and milk and eating breakfast at a pink table. The AG stay is truly a memory to make with your daughter, niece, granddaughter or friend. You will not be disappointed!! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I really appreciate all of the awesome feedback about your American Girl Package weekend! We are truly honored to have you stay on our American Girl Package four times. It is so nice to hear that your American Girl Package experience gets better with every visit to the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to detail your American Girl experience and we look forward to having your family visit us for your fifth American Girl stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Everytime I travel to Alpharetta, I stay at this Marriott. It's conveniently located just off the highway and near great restaurants, shopping and industry. The hotel is always clean and the staff is very accommodating for whatever I need. The restaurant on site is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I truly appreciate all of your outstanding feedback about your stay here that the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel. Many thanks for being one of our repeat guests. We hope that you will try our new Marriott Mobile Application available for iPhone® and Android™ devices to check-in the next time that you make your next reservation at any Marriott Hotel. This new app makes booking and checking-in for your Marriott stay more convenient than ever. Plus, you’ll earn Marriott Rewards points for your trips to either business or vacation destinations booked through this free app. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Alpharetta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay was in July 2013. The purpose of our trip was to see Robert Plant at Verizon. We loved our stay. The room was perfect! it was clean, roomy and quiet. I had requested feather free bedding on the reservation and the room was ready when we arrived around 3 pm. The shuttle service to/from the concert was FANTASTIC ....it was so nice to have a ride and not worry about directions or fighting through traffic. Our driver was very nice and we enjoyed talking to him (sorry, I forgot his name!!) He dropped us off at the curb at Verizon and was waiting for us at the end of the concert...what great service!! We also thought the bar off the lobby was a nice touch...obviously other guests liked it because it was almost full around midnight. It was nice to have coffee ready and waiting behind registration when we woke in the morning. Overall, a great experience. This hotel will be our first choice when we're in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our Verizon Guest Room Package here at the Alpheatta Marriott Hotel. I am so glad to hear that you had a flawless trip to the nearby Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre at Encore Park. We hope that you will tell everyone you know about your "Excellent" service experience at our hotel. Thanks again for choosing the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta for a birthday weekend. Beautiful hotel, tremendous and gracious staff. We were so pleased with every aspect of the hotel, clean, beautifully furnished, close to everything! Price was amazing for the accomodations. Will definitely return for another special occasion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark V, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are so happy that you could spend your birthday weekend with us at the Alpharetta Marriott Hotel. Be assured that I will share your review with our associates. Your total satisfaction is job #1 and we are overjoyed that you had such a stellar stay with us. Please be sure to tell all of your family and friends about your experience. Thanks again for staying with us on your very special day and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta

Address: 5750 Windward Parkway, Alpharetta, GA 30005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Alpharetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alpharetta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alpharetta
#8 Business Hotel in Alpharetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta Hotel Alpharetta
Marriott Alpharetta
Alpharetta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.