We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as upscale as CineBistro but great family outing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Movie Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Studio Movie Grill
2880 Holcomb Bridge Rd, Alpharetta, GA
7709928411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 418 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as upscale as CineBistro but great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Tonight will be my fourth time going to this location. I've only purchased movie tickets from Groupon for here, so without the discount, it is expensive for tickets considering the food prices aren't cheap. My kids (4&6) think it is fancy to go here for a movie. With the little kids, we choose the counter seating area. They can raise their chairs up higher and we all share food. For a date night for me and the hubby, I choose the 2 seater area, with the little table, for a more intimate setting. The waiters run into your chair at the counter seats. The food is good, not great, but worth eating. I think the sampler platter is around $14, chicken wings & chips & veggies & pizza. The warm chocolate chip cookies are worth ordering. Alcoholic mixed drinks aren't cheap. My martini was around $9. Plenty of alcohol, but not worth $9. Sometimes it is fun for my family to splurge to come here. I like the big comfy office chairs. They roll a little, that is ok for me.

The wait staff has always been super friendly. Once the bill was screwed up but it was fixed. You push a button at your seat and the waiter comes very quickly, all during the movie. I wasn't bothered by the waiters moving between the tables during the movie, they do try to crouch down and not make noise. The service can be slow, so order early in the movie, or before the movie starts is ideal.

I have been to several dinner and movie places, this one is worth trying out occasionally. CineBistro in FL is nicer but SMG is better than Cinema Cafe in VA.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WAY overpriced for what u get!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The theatre is nice but the food is average at best. Only 4 chicken tenders to an order. Come on. The fries were cold. The pizza is put on a pita bread thin crust where they have no business charging ten bucks. After said and done , its fun but expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to see a movie and have a bite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first visit to a Studio Movie Grill and I thoroughly enjoyed it! You can pick your seats online so you don't have to worry about fighting the crowds. And you can "kill two birds with one stone" by having a single place for dinner AND a movie! They have a full bar and the food was pretty average. The service was good and the atmosphere was better than most theaters. And check out the specials they have during the week!

One thing to be careful of, though. Double-check where the screen is on the seating chart when you're picking your seats or you might find yourself too close.

But we'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent sampler platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The food was great and we thoroughly enjoyed the movie as well! The wings were seasoned just right. The quesadillas, pizza, and chips were simply delicious without the dips. I was surprised by the freshness of the ingredients and flavor. Made a great movie all the better!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Experience Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The good was absolutely delicious! The menu for food and Alochol was unreal. They had a better menu than most restaurants around and the wine selection was terrific! A must

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio Movie Grill also viewed

 

Been to Studio Movie Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Movie Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.