We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buffet spread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Chettinad

Madras Chettinad
4305 State Bridge Rd, #108, Alpharetta, GA 30022
(678) 393-3131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 418 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good buffet spread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

An excellent variety of vegetarian and non vegetarian food. Spice level is good.

The manchurian is mushy and not that great. The chicken 65 is crispy and tasty. Usually had custard, gulab jamun and one more dessert.

We only visit here for the buffet. Have had a-la-cart before and somehow food doesn't taste the same. Stick with the buffet, you wont be disappointed !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Food was excellent! Atmosphere was great. Service was very good. Overall, we enjoyed everything. We would be happy to be back to Madras Chettinaad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“lunch at the restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had lunch in this place with my family. It was a buffet lunch. There was a good array of food both vegetarian and non vegetarian. Plenty of food selection available. Mainly Indian, especially south Indian. Very tasty and mildly spicy. Those who had visited city of Chennai ( formerly known as Madras) in South India would love to see the pictures decorating the walls depicting ancient Chennai, bringing back old memories and glory of the place.

I told the management to consider having pictures of present day Chennai ( formerly Madras) along with the old pictures to understand the vast change

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Indian Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is considered as one of the oldest Indian restaurant in town. Majority of time I visit this place for their lunch buffet. They have a really busy lunch buffet. You should go accordingly if you want to dine in during the lunch hours. The restaurant is spacious and I like the interiors as well.

The lunch buffet is really huge. They have like 3-4 entree for both the categories(veg ad non-veg) along with good number of appetizers option as well. The food is not that great but it is not that bad either as well. They keep on changing the buffet menu, I think which is a good thing. I once tried gulab jamun and they were too sweet and too hard to cut. Gulab Jamuns are really soft. The entrees and naans were ok.

I might try there South Indian menu someday for dinner. I have heard some good reviews about there dosas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Had a great family reunion lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great family place and lots of variety food for weekend lunch buffet. We had a great time. Best Chettinaad restaurant I have been to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Chettinad also viewed

 

Been to Madras Chettinad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madras Chettinad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.