We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least as good as the first visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Nuova Italian Restaurant

Casa Nuova Italian Restaurant
5670 Atlanta Hwy # A1, Alpharetta, GA 30004
770-475-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 413 Restaurants in Alpharetta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“At least as good as the first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

You either love or hate this place... I love it! Not very busy a little before 6 PM on a summer Thursday evening. Highly personal service from the family owners and much above average food at very reasonable prices make Casa Nuova a favorite. Small room and even smaller bar with kitchy decoration. Excellent wine selection, if you want to pay the price. They breaded and cooked our calamari appetizer perfectly and I enjoyed the lobster ravioli. Great garlic bread. The rest of the party enjoyed their meals, too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    28
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“BAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went here with my boyfriend to celebrate him coming home. The service was good but both our entrées were terrible even though we got the most recommended items (veal and the seafood dish). It was just bad neither of us enjoyed it. Atmosphere was eh. Do not waste your money here. I can't understand why this is rated so high... Seriously. Don't go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Casa Nuova is busy every single night ... with good reason! Good food! I'm in love with the eggplant parmigiana but you pretty much can't go wrong in here. They have several specials every day and they are always fantastic, although I do suggest you ask the price before ordering. The specials tend to be quite pricey, where the regular meals are not. Maria, the owner, and her son Pepe come around to all the tables checking on their guests and they make you feel like family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Everything I hoped, plus more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After moving to the Alpharetta area, and reading the reviews, my wife and I decided we had to try Casa Nuova. Last night we finally had the opportunity, and it was a great test run with family from New Jersey in town.
We called during the day to make reservations for around 7:00 pm and were told "just come, don't worry about it". As they predicted, it wasn't too busy and we were seated right away.
Appetizers included fried mozzarella, clams casino, stuffed mushrooms, and escargot. Everything was great. The mushrooms (3) were stuffed with Italian meats and sat in a delicious sauce. I only got a brief taste of this as they were my wife's favorite. The fried mozzarella is not your run of the mill fried cheese stick. Fresh mozzarella fried in a pool of authentic red sauce, very well done.
My dinner was the veal saltimbocca, which came with a side of pasta. Out of this world. The dish was cooked to perfection, and even the side pasta, which is only supposed to support the dish, could have been a star on its own with its freshly made sauce that had a slight kick to it.
We finished the night with Gelato, Tiramisu, and cappuccino. All great, all homemade.
Everyone agreed this place could hold its own in New York. So glad we have this little gem in the south!

The staff was attentive and friendly. The owners son even spent time with us at the end of the night chatting with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Slice of Italy in North (very North) Metro Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For a long overdue date night, my wife and I decided to try this Italian restaurant and are glad we did. Sure it was a little out of the way (it says Alpharetta but I'm thinking it is actually S. Forsyth), so we called at 2:00 pm for a same day dinner reservation and spoke to Maria (more on her later) and she welcomingly offered a reservation for 6:00 or after 8:00 so we opted for 6:00 pm early dinner and headed north (only 30 minutes from Johns Creek).

Despite the early hour, the restaurant was busy, approximately 65% full with a nice vibe and good activity. Maria welcomed us at the door asked our name and immediately recognized the name- no fiddling with any book or delay in seating. Maria is a women with a plan. She is exactly what every Italian restaurant should have- a welcoming but take-charge person. She was impressive. We were first timers but she knew many of the patrons by name as it was clear there are many "regulars" here and for good reason and they were smart enough to come early.

Our server was from Milan (with full accent) and was delightful with impeccable service. Take a sib of water and somehow the cup was refilled. It was a diverse and informal place accommodating couples, families and groups. The Caprese salad was solid and the Veal Pizzaiola was excellent. Be careful, the garlic bread is plentiful and good and easy to fill up on. We're not the lingering type so the pace of service and food delivery was perfect for us. We were in and out in about 1 hour and 15 minutes but had no dessert. When we left the place was packed with folks waiting in the bar and outside. On the weekends, this is definitely a place where early or late is probably best. Also, the price was right, a good value.

At the end of the meal, Maria came over and gave us some cherry tomatoes picked from their garden. What a nice touch to complete a very nice meal. Well done Casa Nuova and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nuova Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Nuova Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Nuova Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.