We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected and needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Albany to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Albany
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2735 Dawson Road, Albany, GA 31707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected and needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Traveled to Albany/Plains on business. Needed a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay, and that's what I got. Lobby was clean and clerk was very nice and professional. Check-in took exactly one minute to complete. The pool looked nice, but I didn't have time to indulge. The room was large, comfortable, and clean. I got the king bed with pullout couch. About half the room was "bedroom" while the other had the couch, chair, desk, fridge, and microwave. Bath was typical and clean. Breakfast was also typical of what I call "hot continental", i.e. make-your-own waffles, pre-made eggs and sausage, and the typical cold stuff. The attendant had it out before the 6am start time, and I was well fed and off to work by 6:15.

All in all, the hotel was perfect for what I needed, and typical of the nice, moderate hotels of our day. Not the Ritz, but also not one of the yucky HoJos I've endured over the years. Highly recommend you give it a shot. Oh, and it is also conveniently located close to restaurants, the mall, and only a few minutes from downtown and the airport. I didn't pay, so I can't make a statement on the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    57
    33
    10
See reviews for
122
28
19
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The room was in need of a little updating an smelled like smoke a bit. Staff was very courteous and lobby was very clean. Nice breakfast. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I just completed a stay at this hotel in Jan. 2012. Every time I went to take a shower it took several minutes for the hot water to heat up. I mean it took about 15 minutes. I called the front desk and I was told to turn the dial back to halfway and then turn it back to the hot setting. I was also told that they had called someone and that they had not arrived yet. It was Sat. morning about 5 am. I had started to give up hope of having a warm shower when it did start to warm up. The night before I took a bath it never did get very warm but I thought is was just a temporary issue. The third time I tried to it was the same results. It did warm up to being acceptable but it never really got real hot and it took forever to warm up. I stayed on the second floor if that was a factor or not. Also the side entry door to the hotel never did work. When I asked at the front desk I was told I had to put the key in and slowly remove it but I tried it fast and slow and it never worked. I was told it was tricky but it seemed there was no interest in getting it fixed and apparently they were already aware of it. I stayed a total of two nights and it never was fixed. Frustrating. The hotel staff was attentive and helpful but it just did not seem there was an urgency to fix anything. I had stayed there on a previous trip and the light in the bathroom never did work right. It never did get bright. When I checked with the front desk they said they would have someone look at it but they never did before I left. I am just not impressed with the maintenance of this hotel. Other than that, the front desk people are nice, the hotel is clean, the bed was comfortable. It did have a fridge and microwave in the room. I never had time to eat breakfast so I can't comment about that. The workout room had a stair master, treadmill, and recumbent bike. It had only dumbbells and they only went up to 10 lbs. I think. I did not use the equipment but just went in to see what was available. The hot tub was not available due to maintenance. This is a pet friendly hotel and I saw about three dogs. I am an animal lover so I thought it was nice that they allow them. I have stayed there with my dog and it was a $50 fee for the whole stay. I never heard a dog in the room so if I hadn't seen them I would never had known they were in the hotel. One night when coming into the hotel. I saw a couple of guys standing in the parking lot and I smelled weed. It made me feel uncomfortable and of course the door would not work so I had to walk around to the front to get in. I don't think they have security at night. The hotel is right behind a steak restaurant and next to an extended stay hotel. There are other places you could walk to near by.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

clean room, great service, easy check-in and out, nice place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROSSVILLE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

On a recent return trip from Florida to Tennessee we decided to spend the night rather than drive straight through. We chose to stay at the Wingate by Wyndham in Albany, Georgia and we are glad we did. The staff were professional and friendly, the room clean, the beds very comfortable, and the surprise of our stay was a offering of hors d'oeuvres in the evening. We learned of this talking to one of the guests in the elevator. He told us not to miss going down to the lobby around 5:30 PM. We were treated to shrimp, cheese, chips and dip, beer and wine and other delectables. The next morning the free breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals, fruit, waffles, beverages and much more. The hotel is also conveniently located off the highway, right behind Longhorn Steakhouse (good food here also) and near the mall. If you are traveling and need to stay in Albany, Georgia this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The price was a little high but not for the hotel. It was like new, the bed was great and the room was large. For this area at the price I expected what I got and was not disappointed. The location is excellent, near the mall and many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and quality of the Wingate by Wyndham in Albany GA.
We had stayed at other garden style hotels in Albany over the past several years while visiting relatives. We found a really good price for this room on Expedia and with a bit of skepticism, snapped it up! The hotel was very clean, the front desk experience was delightful. The common areas were well lit and had no odors other than clean. The hotel appeared new, but we had remembered it being there for a few years, so this must have been a recent redecorating. The room was large, had a small refrigerator and microwave, a LCD TV, and very comfortable bed. Bathroom was clean and the room temperature was easily regulated.
Breakfast feature hot eggs and sausage along with the customary fruit, breads, cereals and beverages.
All in all a delightful experience. Thanks guys, we will will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany at Albany Mall
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albany
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Mall Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Albany

Address: 2735 Dawson Road, Albany, GA 31707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Albany Hotel Albany
Wingate Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.