We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High prices not justified” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Albany to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3019 Kensington Court, Albany, GA 31721   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“High prices not justified”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

This was my first time at a Courtyard location. The basic room for $119 felt small for the price, but the king size bed was very comfortable and the flat screen LCD with HD channels (including Showtime) was acceptable.

My real hang up with this hotel is their ridiculous pricing and no complimentary breakfast! This is no 5-Star hotel, so why do they think they can charge so much? On a typical night, the Fairfield Inn (also a Marriott property) next door has nearly three times as many cars and a complimentary breakfast - perhaps the Courtyard manager can learn from this to raise the level of customer service at his hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
2
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Even an otherwise lacklustre and run of the mill Courtyard hotel experience can be easily marred by clueless management - and that is exactly what one should expect at the Courtyard in Albany, GA. The facility itself is acceptable - standard early 2000's era decor and furnishings, well kept by the excellent housekeeping staff. The rooms on the third floor are furnished with a small refrigerator and Flat screen TV's without HBO or any other premium TV channel. Alarm clocks, in-room coffee makers and Irons are of the older type (early 2000's). In-room climate control is sub-par and there is no wall-mounted thermostat, so one is left with the controls on the noisy unit to attempt to keep the room comfortable.

One of the most disrespectful things hotel management can do to its premium guests is to not inform them of major construction work at the hotel. During my stay, the hotel had scheduled roofing work. According to a roofer, this was scheduled over a month in advance. He also pointed out that permits need to be applied for in advance of such work. However, I nor any other Marriott Rewards Platinum guest staying at this hotel was informed about this work either prior to or at the time of our arrival. Further, I was placed on the top floor per my profile preferences, but one would expect that even a reasonably astute front desk employee would warn a customer that stays over 100 nights a year about something as major as a roof replacement. The work on the roof began early in the morning and went on till well after 8:00PM every evening. If, like me, one was counting on getting some sleep early in the evening due to needing to be at work in the very early hours, one was simply out of luck.

A note communicating my disappointment at this oversight, left for the manager at the front desk yielded no response. A phone call to an evening shift manager during which I asked why guests were not contacted ahead of time resulted in the alleged manager feeling the need to make up a story on the spot - namely that the work was a last minute decision and that there had been no time to contact any of the guests, presumably even during check-in. I am a big fan of the faux-apology and can normally spot it a mile off - indeed, it is the closing line of every poorly talented manager in these United States. I was not disappointed by the faux apology rendered by one Kerwin (sp) who stated that he was sorry I was upset. Certainly, such behaviour does not instill great confidence in the management of this hotel.

I will be back in town in a couple of weeks but shall be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn across town. My sincere advice to other travelers planning on staying in Albany is to do the same. On the other hand, there is a recently built Fairfield Inn (also a Marriott property) right next door to the Courtyard that may or may not have better trained management.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

The rate was 119 but they add a 9 occupancy fee and, of course, so the rate ends up being nearly 140. Not sure what an "occupancy fee" is since the room will be occupied when you book. The have continental breakfast for $10 more per person but I'd rather go to Ihop for that price. The girl at the front desk wasn't friendly at all. She just asked my name and how I was paying. No mention of the pool or checkout time. The rooms were clean and updated. No signof bed bugs. It's overall a nice hotel..just over priced for no reason. Also, they claim 24 hr coffee service but everytime I looked there was no coffee. I will stay at Hampton Inn next time, at least the continental breakfast is free there!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Great hotel! The staff was very professional and super friendly. Plenty of places to eat right around the hotel and several stores close by. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Arrived with flashlight in tow to check the room for bedbugs. Worried for two weeks about it and finally decided I would have to check for myself. My room was beyond clean, it was immaculate. I cannot say enough about the staff's friendliness and eagerness to please. Very nice stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

Although the Hilton Garden Inn may be rated as the best hotel by Tripadvisor, this is the best area to stay. It is close to the Albany Mall, and all the city's best restaurants and shopping (Target, etc.). The Courtyard is the best hotel in the mall area. We had business associates who stayed at the nearby Hampton Inn and were very disappointed (exterior corridors, old). This Courtyard is relatively new , nicely appointed and clean. The reception area and restaurant are excellent. However, there are some problems and lack some features of the new Courtyards. For example, the hear/air is controlled with hi/lo switches rather than a thermostat. The TV lacks pay-for-view movies - HBO/cable only. The restaurant lacks a computer and waitresses hand write the bill. WiFi access code changes daily. Another minor annoyance is that (besides the hotel) there are no other good breakfast restaurants in the area. The food at the hotel was very good but the buffet lacked variety (only 1 variety of muffins - the same each day). There isn't even a McDonalds nearby (one is under construction). Also there are no nearby movie theaters. These are the only reasons, I did not give it 5 stars.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2006

This is the nicest Marriott Courtyard hotel I have ever stayed at. I am a Platinum Marriott member so I log a lot of stays each year. It is so modern and clean. The staff is super friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet is was great. I always look forward to my company sending me to Albany because of how awesome this facility is.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany

Address: 3019 Kensington Court, Albany, GA 31721
Location: United States > Georgia > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 floors, 81 rooms, 3 suites * located off Hwy. 82, near Albany Mall and 5 miles from downtown Albany * minutes away from popular attractions * affordable buffet breakfast every morning * free USA Today (Mon.-Fri.)* 2 meeting rooms; 1,028 sq. ft. of total meeting space. * full service business center * outdoor pool & whirlpool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.