We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unexpected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Merry Acres Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merry Acres Inn to your Saves list
Merry Acres Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Dawson Road, Albany, GA 31707 (Formerly Quality Inn Merry Acres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf Package
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The unexpected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Merry Acres, was not so Merry when we arrived all the way from Florida with a extra large group.(41) people. That had 15 rooms reserved on a block. We were told (over the phone) before arriving that we would be able to get into our rooms since we were coming so far. To discover that there was only ONE front desk clerk available when we arrived. Finally when we all were able to get our rooms. Realizing that all 15 rooms were all over the place from one end of the hotel to the other end. My grand-ma which is 88 years old. Was all the way on the other side of the hotel. The clerk lied she told us that if we waited then she would keep all of the rooms together. We left so that they would have time to prepare for us. But when we returned they just gave us rooms were ever they wanted to. Just messed up our family reunion. We come to Georgia every year around September time for the Labor Day Weekend. But coming back to Merry Acres Quality Inn in Abany. I really don't know that experience is nothing that I look forward to having again. That was the first time that we have ever stayed in the City of Albany.
The Taylor Family

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
15
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frostproof, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Wow .... what a nice place. Arrived at 11pm at night after a long drive from south Florida. The grounds were well lit and the desk staff gracious. The room we received was in the original part of the motel. It was quaint and very clean. The bathroom was great and had a nice soaking tub. A good hot southern breakfast was included. We sat by the pool after breakfast that was situated in a well manicured courtyard. Merry Acres earned the 2009 Quality Inn Award which to me was rightfully given. If you are looking for a nice place to stay with Southern charm and hospitality you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I can't understand all of the glowing reviews and recommendations for this hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Actually calling this a hotel is very misleading, it is actually a motel with outside corridors. The rooms are old and badly need updating. The bathroom had mold in the shower and in the tile grooves on the floor, I didn't even feel comfortable enough to take a shower in the morning. The rooms have old loud air conditioning units and refrigerators that will disrupt your sleep. They do allow pets so expect to smell pet urine in the bushes and grass outside your door. I know this seems quite negative but it is the honest truth, I just want people to be fair warned before they spend their hard earned money on this hotel, spending a few more bucks for better quality would be worth it. I only stayed one night and I will never stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed at the Quality Inn Merry Acres on the Friday night before the Snickers Marathon and had an okay stay. The hotel is an older property that is built more like the old fashioned motor lodges, with doors that open directly to the parking lot with your car right out front. The room was nice enough but the walls were very thin so much so that I could hear our neighbor's TV at night, and their alarm clock go off in the morning.
The staff was friendly, but seemed a little overwhelmed by the volume of visitors at check in. We missed out on the breakfast because we wanted to be at the start line early.
If I had to do it over again, I'd probably stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, which is more expensive, but more like the hotels I personally prefer to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBANY, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Staff courteous. Stay was very memorable. Looking forward to staying there again. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

I stayed two nights in Albany, GA. The staff is exceptional, they have a manger's reception Tuesday and Wednesday with beer and wine. The internet is good and fast. The breakfast is awesome and hot. Best Stay in Albany. And the price is cheap.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I stayed at Merry Acres for 1 night on a business trip while traveling through Albany, GA. I only paid $59 + tax for 1 night. The front desk was quick and courteous. The room and grounds were very clean and well kept. The free internet was fast and worked great. The free hot breakfast was an actual buffet with eggs, grits, bacon, sausage, etc. While this is still a motel, you won't be able to find a better room for your money. If you need a clean room with high speed internet, and free breakfast, this is your place.

  • Liked — Clean, Great Value
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany at Albany Mall
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albany
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Albany
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Mall Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry Acres Inn

Address: 1500 Dawson Road, Albany, GA 31707 (Formerly Quality Inn Merry Acres)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merry Acres Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merry Acres is known for its impeccable service, spotless accommodations, and beautifully landscaped grounds. The large variety of amenities make it a place where you can relax around the secluded swimming pool and enjoy the shade of the gazebo; work out in the state-of-the-art PT GYM; enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet; or utilize the 24 hour business center with two personal computers, high-speed internet, fax, copier, and printer. The rooms themselves are tastefully decorated yet comfortable, with all rooms offering a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryers, and high-speed internet.A particularly attractive feature of the Merry Acres Campus is the 5,900 square foot Event & Conference Center. For decades, it's been a favored spot for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, banquets, corporate seminars and retreats, class and family reunions, showers, birthday parties, and fundraisers. That list has grown to include private parties, cocktail parties, and wine tastings.The appeal of Merry Acres Event Center is its ability to offer a number of various configurations to provide just the right amount of space for each group. But whether a large formal soiree or a smaller, more personal gathering, Merry Acres Event Center coordinates with your particular theme and enables a one-stop approach for your guests' lodging, meeting, and catering needs.In fact, the Stewbos Catering service works within the Merry Acres Restaurant, located within the Event Center. While the Merry Acres Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and each Sunday from 11:00AM - 2:30PM for our Southern Lunch Buffet, the enormous kitchen now serves as the headquarters for Stewbos Catering on a daily basis. More recently, Merry Acres has added a full transportation to its list of services, including a complimentary shuttle van service for Hotel Guests and City Club Members. We are proud to announce our newest additions to the transportation service - a 1939 Studebaker and a Mercedes-Benz Sprinter, both available for rent for your next special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Merry Acres Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Merry Acres Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merry Acres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.