We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merry Acres Inn

Save Saved
You added Merry Acres Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merry Acres Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Dawson Road, Albany, GA 31707 (Formerly Quality Inn Merry Acres)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Albany
Selma,Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here while on a visit to Albany for a wedding. It's an old fashioned drive in motel with updated rooms (hardwood floors, nice beds). The pool and common ares were nice. We liked the hospitality suite on the second floor of the main building- it was fun sitting outside on the balcony with the group. The room was very reasonably priced. Friendly staff. A slight drawback is the walls are a little thin. Overall, a very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool and the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
9
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cordele, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose to spend last New Year's Eve at Merry Acres because they have a shuttle for their guests. No worries about drinking and driving. We somehow ended up with a double size room up near the check-in. Huge! A very nice room, however due to it's size an area rug on the beautiful hardwood floor would have made it feel more cozy. I agree with one other reviewer that the bathroom, particularly the tub/shower, was quite small, however it was clean. The bed slept like a dream. They have an adorable little pub up front. Very friendly bartender and a creative mixologist as well. We had a great time in there when we returned from our NYE party. I'd say one of the better options for accommodations in Albany unless you like the standard, generic chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Older facility however the room was nicec and clean with required amenities. What I liked best was the location was not far from the civic center. It was also near local resturants and there was a resturant on site. The Breakfast included with the stay was fair for the price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

As a former resident of the great city of Albany,GA I had always heard great things about Merry Acres Inn. I travel all over the united states and abroad often. I typically stay at either a Hilton or a Marriott branded hotel. This past weekend I had a last minute trip back to Albany, and completely forgot to make reservations for a Saturday night stay in Albany. I called my Marriott rewards desk and they were unable to find me accommodations that were with in my request. I then called my Hilton honors desk. They were able to secure a room at the Hilton Garden downtown Albany. Upon my arrival to the Hilton I was checked into what they called a vacant ready room, it was no where near clean! I immediately checked out and called Merry Acres, as it was really my last option for nice accommodations. To my surprise Sandy the director of sales was more than accommodating and secured a room for me and my partner at a very reasonable rate! The room was fantastic the staff was outstanding right down to the pub for a few cocktails we went. Once again an excellent bartender awaited are arrival and made us feel like we were not just a guest but family! What a feeling! The next morning breakfast was excellent and the outstanding experience continued with great staff! Upon our departure Kathy the GM thanked us for our business! What an amazing experience! In all my travels an experience like this is far and between. Thank you to all the Staff at Merry Acres when I am in Albany I know right where I will stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here the same weekend the Shriners were in town. It wasn't my first choice initially, but having stayed here - this is my go to in Albany. Don't let the exterior fool you, while its definitely 1950s motel on the outside; its one of the more modern interiors I've stayed in in a while. My only complaint was the breakfast was rather lackluster.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This property is much prettier than we expected. There is a lot of landscaping and the grounds look very nice, even when we were there in December. Most of the rooms are set back away from the street. There are no interior corridors, you drive to your room and park outside your door. We had a king bed with a sofa in the room and everything was clean. There was a problem with the heating unit but the maintenance man came right away and replaced it with a new one. To get to the free breakfast you have to go outside to a different building but the buffet there was good. I have no problem recommending this to other travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back unit are quieter but farther from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Being a native of Albany, I am glad to see Merry Acres is back under the control of people who care about the history of the property. I was impressed with everything that had been done to the hotel, as were the other members of our party who had never been to Albany before.

Pros:
- Appearance and upkeep
- Staff
- Comfortable beds
- Breakfast buffet

Cons:
- Outside entrance rooms
- Small bathroom

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Merry Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry Acres Inn

Address: 1500 Dawson Road, Albany, GA 31707 (Formerly Quality Inn Merry Acres)
Location: United States > Georgia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merry Acres Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merry Acres is known for its impeccable service, spotless accommodations, and beautifully landscaped grounds. The large variety of amenities make it a place where you can relax around the secluded swimming pool and enjoy the shade of the gazebo; work out in the state-of-the-art PT GYM; enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet; or utilize the 24 hour business center with two personal computers, high-speed internet, fax, copier, and printer. The rooms themselves are tastefully decorated yet comfortable, with all rooms offering a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryers, and high-speed internet.A particularly attractive feature of the Merry Acres Campus is the 5,900 square foot Event & Conference Center. For decades, it's been a favored spot for wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, banquets, corporate seminars and retreats, class and family reunions, showers, birthday parties, and fundraisers. That list has grown to include private parties, cocktail parties, and wine tastings.The appeal of Merry Acres Event Center is its ability to offer a number of various configurations to provide just the right amount of space for each group. But whether a large formal soiree or a smaller, more personal gathering, Merry Acres Event Center coordinates with your particular theme and enables a one-stop approach for your guests' lodging, meeting, and catering needs.In fact, the Stewbos Catering service works within the Merry Acres Restaurant, located within the Event Center. While the Merry Acres Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and each Sunday from 11:00AM - 2:30PM for our Southern Lunch Buffet, the enormous kitchen now serves as the headquarters for Stewbos Catering on a daily basis. More recently, Merry Acres has added a full transportation to its list of services, including a complimentary shuttle van service for Hotel Guests and City Club Members. We are proud to announce our newest additions to the transportation service - a 1939 Studebaker and a Mercedes-Benz Sprinter, both available for rent for your next special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Merry Acres Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Merry Acres Hotel Albany
Quality Inn Albany
Albany Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merry Acres Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.