We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carters Cat Fish House

Carters Cat Fish House
Reed Bingham Road, Adel, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Adel
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Carters Cat Fish House is the best catfish and seafood restaurant in the South Georgia and North Florida. It is located 6 miles west of Adel, Ga. The restaurant is high quality with excellent food, service and excellent service. Open on Thursday through Saturday night from 3:00 to 10:00 each day.
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Catch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food. Fish , fries, slaw and tea? What better way to spend a summer evening at dinner time. Nice people and clean restrooms.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Difficult to find restaurant but worth the search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We tried to find Carters at night and our GPS was of no help as it took us past the turnoff. If you want to stop, make sure you get directions from Trip Advisor or an Adel local. We only found it by accident. Several cars turned into what looked like a road to nowhere. On a whim I followed and found Carters where all the cars were going.

We thought the food was worth the hunt and will stop again in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Seafood dinner at Carters Catfish House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Last of many trips to Carters Cat Fish House. The food and service was great. Food was prepared very well and very efficient on a busy night. The seafood platter for 2 is an excellent choice for 2 adults. The catfish is always great. I would highly recommend this restaurant for I- 75 travelers near mile marker 39, Adel, Ga. It is 6 miles off I-75 westbound at entrance to Reed Bingham State Park. Thursday, Friday and Saturday Nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terribly disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to try Carters Catfish House tonight for the first time since it opened under new management. We anticipated the food to be somewhat as good as it was when under old management. We were terribly disappointed. The whole catfish were fried hard and did not taste like they had even been salted. The twice baked potato was not a potato but instead looked like instant mashed potatoes in a ceramic bowl with bacon bits and cheese stirred into it. Ugh! Another family member had mullet and it was not seasoned either and was fried too hard. The food here does not even begin to compare to the food served by the previous owners. We could have gone to Homecoming in Thomasville and had food of the same quality for a lot less money! Oh well, our search for good seafood continues.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

It's about five miles off the interstate, down a country road. If you don't know where it is, or have something like Trip Advisor to show you, you would never find this place. We were very surprised by the size of the restaurant. It is out in the middle of a rural area after all. We arrived a little before five PM, and the restaurant was almost empty. The service was excellent, and the food was great! I had the whole catfish, and my wife had the shrimp. Both were well prepared and full of flavor. At the recommendation of the waitress, we tried the apple turnover for dessert. We weren't really hungry for dessert, but she made it sound so good, and she had taken great care of us. Wow! So glad we decided,to try it. This alone is worth the trip out there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carters Cat Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carters Cat Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.