We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Countryside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Countryside to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Georgia North Industrial Circle, Adairsville, GA 30103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
kingport tn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

oh what a place one of the best we ever stayed at it was very clean and the owner was so gracious i had surgery that day so he gave us the jacuzee room and made us very comfortable i would recommend anyone to stay there i plan on going back soon thanks so much to this hotel

Room Tip: the whole place is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking for a place to stop for the night on a Monday road trip and pulled into the Magnuson because it was an interior-hallway hotel. At first, we thought the place was abandoned; the pull-through by the check-in was mostly torn down, but a small sign in the window told us that the hotel was, in fact, open. We went into the lobby and were greeted by a very friendly and slightly pushy proprietor.

The proprietor tried very hard to get us to book a jacuzzi room ("Won't that massaging action feel great after a long day of driving? Would you like to see the room before you make a decision?"), but we just wanted a place to sleep for the night, so we declined. We booked a regular room with our AAA discount, and we took our key and walked to our room. The proprietor was right behind us, though, and he came into the room with us to turn on our A/C (it was very still and hot in there because the A/C units aren't left on between guests). Then he lingered to tell my husband about all the hotel amenities (hot breakfast, etc) while I went to the car to get the bags.

This was unsettling: The proprietor left the room and closed the door behind him, but then he realized he hadn't told us about the hotel pool, so he turned around. But instead of knocking, he USED HIS MASTER KEY to open the door again and mention the pool. Granted, he had just left, but once the door closed behind him, he should have knocked instead of just letting himself back into our room. We were careful to keep the security lock on for the rest of our stay.

The room itself was a strange mix of old and new. The bed linens seemed nice, but the bathroom hadn't been updated. The ceilings were high, but there were bare walls and very cheap furniture. The soaps provided for the bathroom were so cheap that the bath bar snapped in two while I was showering. The towels were plentiful, but the shower head was so high in the wall that I had to stand on my tiptoes to adjust it (I'm a 5'5" woman). The hallway outside the room reeked of smoke, even though there were no smoking signs in the lobby and on all of the room doors we saw (not sure if smoking is allowed in the rooms further down the long hallway). But the room itself didn't smell like smoke, which was a relief.

The A/C unit was under the window and was VERY loud. It would kick on throughout the night, with intermittent clicking noises and water leaking on the floor. Then it would turn off for a while. The cycle continued all night and made sleep tough.

When we checked in, we were the only guests in the place. I think a few more checked in after we went to bed, but overall, there was almost no one in this hotel overnight. We were near the check-in area and also near the ice machine (which worked) and the soda machine (75 cents for a 12 oz can, all Coke products).

In the morning, we went to experience the hot breakfast (available 6:30-9:30 am - we went in around 8 am). We were the only ones there, but the spread looked like it had been picked over. The "hot" offerings were watery eggs, biscuits and gravy in a warmer. There was also a waffle iron for make-your-own waffles, which were pretty good. There was a juice dispenser and 2% milk, plus a few varieties of cereal. I found a single packet of instant oatmeal and another of instant grits, and the pastry case had two or three danishes and about a half dozen mini chocolate donuts (the rest of the case was empty). There were a few slices of bread near a toaster, and two unlabeled bottles of syrup for the pancakes. I couldn't find any fruit until I saw a few apples in a basket. Aside from the waffle iron and cereal, it looked like most of the food was an afterthought, or that they were trying to use it all up before putting out any more. We ate alone and went back to our room to pack up.

Overall, this wasn't a horrible place to lay up for the night after a long day of driving, and the proximity to gas and fast food options was nice (we had Zaxby's for dinner), but the place did leave a lot to be desired. I don't think we'll be staying here again if we pass this way next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
The customer might have asked about the damage to the hotel. We have put out thousands of dollars to not only renovate the hotel but repair the damage from the tornado that came through Adairsville. But we were glad to have you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If driving on I-75 north of Atlanta, do not stop at this hotel, keep on driving. It's a dump! It's an older property (previously a Best Western acquired by Magnuson Hotels) and has not been updated. But worse than that, it was just plain nasty; however, it was late and I was too tired to pack up and move to another hotel. The bed pillows smelled like greasy hair, there were droplets of something on the toilet seat (I cleaned it before using it), and I found someone else's hair + what might have been bedbugs in the bed. The hallway floors and carpets were filthy. I reported it to the person on duty at the reception desk the next morning, but he just stood there looking dumbfounded, never apologized much less offer a refund. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
we are aware of this person. they saw a dirty room on a computer glitch and didn't even stay. they left before we could even show them a room that was ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a joy to spend the night there on April 4 th 2013 ! Reasonable clean very sweet people and great breakfast ! Don't pass it up! In the middle of nowhere we found this place we paid 98 bucks and they gave us a military discount along w firefighter discount just ask !

Room Tip: Just give it a try !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datona, fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family stopped in and got the family suite. LARGE room with 2 tv's queen size beds and a connecting room for the kids, unbelievable. Fantastic staff. Will definitely stay at another Magnuson Hotel !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your review! We strive to give the best service available to our guests. Please come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. About what you would expect. There were plenty of restaurants in the are to choose from. Our stay was very pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. Will choose this hotel every time we visit family in the Adairsville area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for your review on the Countryside Inn & Suites! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped in a this hotel after spotting the accommodation signs on the highway and being exhausted from 14h on the road. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and splurged for the deluxe room (comes with a premium mattress) - only an extra $10. This was definitely worth it, the bed was very comfortable.

Even though we arrived late and it was dark, the pool was still lit. It's a small pool, but the water was clean and warm and made for a nice relaxing swim.

Although the beds were comfortable and conducive to sleep, the hotel has HUGE security parking lights that unfortunately blast past the black out curtains. That being said, the hotel did feel secure.

In the cold harsh light of day, it was more obvious that the rooms were tired (a bit dingy) and the bathroom was a spartan design, but functional. Breakfast was included, but consisted of microwave-your-own-from Jimmy Dean Sausage and make your own waffles. This works unless the room is crowded or the supplies of food run out (which it did).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranu p, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Countryside, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks you for your review. We use the reviews to see what needs to be improved on and make your next stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Countryside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Countryside

Address: 100 Georgia North Industrial Circle, Adairsville, GA 30103
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Countryside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Countryside Inn is located directly off Interstate 75. Downtown Adairsville is 2 miles west, and the Barnsley Garden Golf Course is a short 10 miles.The Magnuson Countryside Inn's amenities include free breakfast, an outdoor pool, free wi-fi,free parking, business center, microwave, mini fridge,free local calls, HBO, Cinemax, and ESPN, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Countryside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adairsville
Adairsville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Countryside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.