We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bbq ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Character's Famous BBQ

Character's Famous BBQ
7283 Adairsville Hwy 140, Adairsville, GA 30103
678-481-6701
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Adairsville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best bbq ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Characters is the best bbq I've ever had. Pulled pork falls apart. Very busy at lunch so get there early. Average price for bbq. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't EVER eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This eatery was so dirty I actually threw the food away after getting some kind of grit in the first bite. Looking behind the counter I could see why something had gotten in the sandwich (I cringe to wonder what it was i bit into).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best BBQ I have had in Georgia by a mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I went here about a year ago for the first time, and I make the trek to visit about once a month. It is about an hour each way for me, but well worth it.

The pork is just fantastic, the sauce is vinegar based and soaks nicely into the meat. Michael loads it up on the sandwich pretty heavy, so maybe ask for light on the sauce if you aren't into it.

The brisket is outstanding also, and I am a brisket fan, but I have to say the pork is my favorite. The sides are great too, and all homemade.

The prices are awesome. $5 for a sandwich, $1 for a soda, $10 or so for a meat plate with two sides and a slice of cake.

I don't know how anyone could claim this place is dirty. While it is definitely not fancy, I find it to be very clean. The food is worth the wait, it is a one man show, and usually takes about 20-30 minutes to get your order done. I applaud Michael Character's efforts and skills in making the best BBQ around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude with Crude food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place needs to be leveled! The owner was extremely rude and the food stinks. The place was about the most unsanitary place I've ever seen. He must really think this stuff is great too for the price I paid. I ate a bite or two and threw the rest in the garbage. Money lost is all I can say!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
“couldn't believe they called it bbq”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is just a little shack about the size of a bedroom. the place was dirty behind the counter which made me wonder about the safety of the food. One day it was open, the next it was closed. The bbq was dry and nothing special to be sure. don't waste your time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Character's Famous BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Character's Famous BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Character's Famous BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.