We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsley Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adairsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnsley Resort
Save
You added Barnsley Resort to your Saves list
597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros-The location is beautiful, the food is good especially the buffet breakfast. The garden around the ruins is must see. Perfect for families and couples. Very romantic setting.

Cons- The amenities in the rooms are mediocre. Nothing special about the spa. Communication between the Front desk and housekeeping could be improved. We asked for late check out and they still kept knocking at our door in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    51
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
128
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was really impressed with the resort and the accommodations. It is like staying in a cute little village. We ended up booking a Cottage Suite King as the Manor rooms were booked and it was worth it. Had a livingroom area and separate bedroom. Very nice. Great golf course and absolutely beautiful and enchanting manor house ruins and gardens. Both restaurants (Woodland Grill and Rice House) had good food, but I felt a little hungry still after I left. Also, a 20% gratituity/service charge is automatically added into your bill. I don't mind this practice, but feel the waitors should tell you about this. (Feel like its a little sneaky that they don't). Tip: Stop at the Food Lyon when you exit 75 on 140 and pick up drinks, snacks, fruit (and wine). There really is no place to get this there but the gift shop in the lobby and snacks were overpriced and not very good. The only place to dine is at the resort. Closest town is 1/2 hr away.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Cottage Suite King with its own living room area/wet bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the check in til our last meal at the Woodlands grill we were blown away. This was me and my husbands first visit and it definitely won't be the last. We fell in lkve with the quaint cottages, outstanding service and romantic setting. Perfect getaway spot.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had planned a trip to Barnsley Gardens this past week primarily to play its golf course. Unfortunately it rained and disrupted my plans. My frustration is that the resort has a seven-day cancellation policy. Weather.com called for rain the day of my plans, and in fact it was the only day of rain that week. It would have been much better to have an option of being able to cancel closer to the actual date vs. hoping that the weather forecast would change over a week in advance. I was told at checkout that I could have changed dates, but that information would have been much more beneficial if I would have known that in advance, not after the fact. Needless to say, be advised of their cancellation requirements and the impact it may have on your stay when booking at this resort. Otherwise, it seemed to be a pleasant place, with high quality facilities, a good restaurant, but very remote.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Barnsley Gardens ranks among the best country resorts in the nation. Their multi-room cottages are ideal for families and large groups. The grounds are well maintained and there are an abundance of activities. The staff also couldn't be friendlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Barnsley about 15 years ago and enjoyed our stay. It is only an hour from our home and we had not been back. We attended a wedding here recently and stayed on the grounds. What a great place for a wedding! The setting was lovely. The accommodations were outstanding. Everyone found something they enjoyed doing. We will not wait 15 years to return. Kudos to the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having visited Barnsley Gardens for a spa day with a friend and stayed overnight, we liked the resort so much we booked to come back with our families for the Easter weekend. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was excellent. We booked four rooms in one of their houses so we could all enjoy the lounge area. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We were four adults and four teens and all found different activities to enjoy. We played golf, hired bikes, played tennis and badminton. The new experience for all of us was clay pigeon shooting. Bob and Clay were really patient with us and gave us excellent tuition and made it fun. We dined in both the Woodlands Grill and the Rice House - excellent food. We celebrated one of our parties birthday at the Woodlands Grill and the staff helped to make her feel very special. We had lunch in the Biergarten - the burgers were delicious.

My only criticism would be the slow service in the Woodlands Grill at both dinner and breakfast.

We will certainly be back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting of incomparable service. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites to choose from, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include gourmet dining, an award winning spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf, a 15 station sporting clays course and hunting at SpringBank Plantation - Georgia's most unique hunting preserve, and horseback riding along scenic trails. Other amenities include hiking, biking, paintball, Frisbee golf, tennis, swimming, fishing, garden tours, historical museum and more. Opportunities to explore the immaculate gardens and historic ruins should not be missed during your visit to this one-of-a-kind resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.