We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barnsley Resort to your Saves list
Barnsley Resort
597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to spend the day at the spa and decided to stay overnight. The property is so beautiful you can feel yourself relaxing as you drive in. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We had three treatments at the spa and they ordered us lunch from the Woodland Grill to have at the spa to save us having to leave. We had a facial, massage and pedicure and all treatments were excellent. We made use of the sauna, steam room and whirlpool. Left the spa feeling very relaxed. We dined in the Woodland Grill and the food was great.

We loved it so much we plan to go back with our families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    54
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
140
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Barnsley Gardens for two nights and had a fantastic stay.

Service: Excellent from check-in to check-out and everything in between. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
The Resort: A beautiful layout. All of the cottages and facilities are within a five minute walk, although a lot of guests were using golf carts to get around. The buildings are all unique but share a common architectural theme. The grounds are immaculate and the landscaping is extraordinary. I canot imagine how much work goes into maintaining 100s of species of trees, bushes, plants, flowers, but they do it well.
Cottage: We stayed in a 1-BR suite. It was roomy, well laid out, perfectly clean and very comfortable. The decor is completely consistent with the late 19th century theme of the resort but the rooms had all the modern conveniences. Loved the woodburning fireplace and both decks (a front porch w two rockers and a small deck off the bedroom).
Restaurants: There are two - one for all meals and one for dinner only. We had one dinner at each. Especially enjoyed the Rice House (dinner only) - creative and tasty choices.
Activities: We did not play golf but the course looks great - several scenic holes, a lot of opportunities for lost balls! We enjoyed the hiking trails, the historical area, the gardens. There is also a riding stable, swimming pool and tennis that we did not use but all looked to be very nice.
Overall: This is now one of my favorite places and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife found this amazing place for our wedding. Increadible property. I don't play golf, but I still really liked it. To me, the ruins are the reason to stay here. Very nice accommodations and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was able to get my husband out of the office for a mid-week getaway to Barnsley. We had never been even though it seemed to be "in our backyard". The food at the Woodlands Grill was great - we ate two lunches and one dinner there over our stay. The property itself was beautifully laid out with rows of cottage-type houses. The ruins were sadly pretty and made for some great photos along with the gardens and fountain. We lucked into meeting the author of the book, which is about the history of the place. He gave much insight into the old house and its ancestors and also signed our book. Very cool. We also enjoyed golfing and how the course wove into the countryside and wooded areas. After playing, we hit the spa for some time in the whirlpool before our massages. The spa was very nice, and we felt like it was our own personal place since no one was there on a Tuesday late afternoon. At night throughout the property, they have fire pits surrounded by chairs where you can make s'mores. They smelled nice as we walked in the crisp fall air. There was even a lit bocce ball court where we played like kids to end our night outside before we enjoyed our own fireplace in the room. A perfect trip and not too far away from home. We can't wait to go back and take family and friends. It would definitely be a fun place for a group to hang out together.

Room Tip: Our room was near the registration house so we didn't have far to walk or park. No complaints ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
312 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. Our cottage was very close to registration. Our cottage was clean. There is a small fridge in the room. We brought some wine with us to have wine before we went to dinner.

We ate dinner one night in the Rice House and one night in Woodlands. Breakfast was each morning in Woodlands and was very good. We rented bikes and rode some of the trails. Horsebacking riding looked interesting. We went to the manor house ruins and walked through the museum. It was being set up for a wedding and was very pretty.

The best part of the visit was the spa. We each had a massage and agreed it was one of the best massages ever! Cortney gave me the best sports massage ever! She was great.

20% gratuity is added on automatically for meals and services-we didn't have any issue with that due to the service being worth it.
We did not venture into the town at all-we had everything we needed on the grounds.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I must say the layout and feel of the whole property was eye catching and pleasing. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the bedroom suites with 2 beds. It was our anniversary so my husband wanted something nice and at over $200 a night it should be. I would really have liked to keep coming back but.... Housekeeping was a big issue for me. As you enter your room it looks clean. but clean verses tidy is too different things. the doors the furniture's needed soap and water clean down. There was visible dirty on furniture and doors and bathroom fixtures. Not dust mind you dirt. I had to Lysol spray myself and still wasn't comfortable. Cleanliness is a big thing for us. If it wasn't for the obvious dirt we would give better ratings. Housekeeping need to do a better job. The food at the Grill was fabulous. The old ruins are nice. It really is a nice relaxing get-away. But please clean you place not just tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a last minute trip my wife, son and I took to get out of town for a bit.

The cottages are extremely nice and well-appointed. We had a king suite with a living room, 1/2 bath, full bath and master bedroom.

Thanks to the Fairy Godmother, my 18 month old son was welcomed by a bunch of toys including bath toys. In addition, they left a black bear for our second which is on the way.

The staff bends over backwards for you in a sincere southern way. You can walk to a few different restaurants or order in and at night there are firepits ready to be lit around the property. Low on firewood? The staff has that covered.

The grounds are worth spending a few hours walking, pool is very nice. We did not participate in hunting or golfing but there are a host of activities.

Room Tip: we enjoyed staying on the esplanade, a burmuda grass lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adairsville
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Adairsville
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Adairsville
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
Hilton Garden Inn Cartersville
#1 of 18 in Cartersville
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
6.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
Magnuson Hotel Countryside
#5 of 5 in Adairsville
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calhoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting of incomparable service. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites to choose from, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include gourmet dining, an award winning spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf, a 15 station sporting clays course and hunting at SpringBank Plantation - Georgia's most unique hunting preserve, and horseback riding along scenic trails. Other amenities include hiking, biking, paintball, Frisbee golf, tennis, swimming, fishing, garden tours, historical museum and more. Opportunities to explore the immaculate gardens and historic ruins should not be missed during your visit to this one-of-a-kind resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.