We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsley Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adairsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnsley Resort
Save
You added Barnsley Resort to your Saves list
597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I must say the layout and feel of the whole property was eye catching and pleasing. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the bedroom suites with 2 beds. It was our anniversary so my husband wanted something nice and at over $200 a night it should be. I would really have liked to keep coming back but.... Housekeeping was a big issue for me. As you enter your room it looks clean. but clean verses tidy is too different things. the doors the furniture's needed soap and water clean down. There was visible dirty on furniture and doors and bathroom fixtures. Not dust mind you dirt. I had to Lysol spray myself and still wasn't comfortable. Cleanliness is a big thing for us. If it wasn't for the obvious dirt we would give better ratings. Housekeeping need to do a better job. The food at the Grill was fabulous. The old ruins are nice. It really is a nice relaxing get-away. But please clean you place not just tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    51
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
128
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a last minute trip my wife, son and I took to get out of town for a bit.

The cottages are extremely nice and well-appointed. We had a king suite with a living room, 1/2 bath, full bath and master bedroom.

Thanks to the Fairy Godmother, my 18 month old son was welcomed by a bunch of toys including bath toys. In addition, they left a black bear for our second which is on the way.

The staff bends over backwards for you in a sincere southern way. You can walk to a few different restaurants or order in and at night there are firepits ready to be lit around the property. Low on firewood? The staff has that covered.

The grounds are worth spending a few hours walking, pool is very nice. We did not participate in hunting or golfing but there are a host of activities.

Room Tip: we enjoyed staying on the esplanade, a burmuda grass lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The "rooms" are cottages with a large bedroom, living room and bath. We had a single cottage (some were twin/duplexes) with a front porch and back porch with a swing. It was clean and comfortable. The grounds are well taken care of with fire pits and lawn games scattered throughout. We played some horseshoes. The ruins of the manor house and the gardens and trails around it were lovely. It was a nice peaceful walk that can be as long or short as you want.

The restaurants were nice and the food was very good, but keep in mind that a 20% tip is added automatically. We didn't need to dispute that, but it is a bit odd. We also took advantage of the spa. Our massages were nice and relaxing. Afterwards we used the hot tub and pool for added relaxation.

Overall, we had a very nice time and would recommend the resort to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we pulled up, I felt like I either went back in time or into a town tastefully created by Disney! Beautiful grounds/ gardens... Awesome old ruins to explore... Gorgeous cottages. And a bar that stays open as long as you are drinking!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Jenntish: I'm so glad you enjoyed your getaway at Barnsley and do appreciate your great review. You are so right, our village is a little like a Disney set!

We wish you could come back more often too!
Jen Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

OMG...if you're looking for a gorgeous, comfortable, relaxing place to "get away", this is your spot. Had no idea it was even there. From the quaint cottages to the lush gardens and scenic views, it is the perfect spot for a family gathering, retreat, or birthday/anniversary. The ONLY negative is its distance from the Atlanta airport if you're flying in. (You might try Chattanooga.) There is also a lovely spa and pool and a spectacular golf course. You get lost in the atmosphere and forget where you're at. The food at the Woodlands Grill was also exceptional.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Sunlovergodfrey: Thanks so much for your stunning review and thank you for visiting with us. We hope you'll return again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have celebrated my birthday and anniversary at Barnsley Gardens the last 5 out of 6 years. We spent the occasional weekend there in between. My husband and I have travelled the world and there aren't many places we want to go back too. Barnsley Gardens is my favorite place to visit and I absolutely love the resort. I can never get enough of the golf course, the food and the excellent service. Everywhere you look, there seems to be a little piece of heaven that you missed the time before! Can't wait to go back again!!!

Room Tip: I've stayed in several cottages and they are all great. If you have a family or multiple friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for making Barnsley your special occasion getaway and for your lovely review. It is such a pleasure to know we' ve become your favorite place!

Hope to see you again soon!
Jen Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Came for a quick getaway with my family (one 3 1/2 year old child) over Labor Day weekend. The cottage set-up is excellent for families. The room are spotless and well-equipped. We appreciated the visit from the Fairy Godmother with a toy for our little one and the different activities geared towards kids for the long weekend. Great pool and playground. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We love the suite cottages with a living room and separate bedroom. In my experience the cottages wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Barnsley Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I'm happy you enjoyed your family getaway with us and do hope you'll be able to visit with us again in the future! Thanks for your fantastic review.

Warmest Regards,
Jenifer Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting of incomparable service. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites to choose from, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include gourmet dining, an award winning spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf, a 15 station sporting clays course and hunting at SpringBank Plantation - Georgia's most unique hunting preserve, and horseback riding along scenic trails. Other amenities include hiking, biking, paintball, Frisbee golf, tennis, swimming, fishing, garden tours, historical museum and more. Opportunities to explore the immaculate gardens and historic ruins should not be missed during your visit to this one-of-a-kind resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.