We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Sherri at the Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsley Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barnsley Resort to your Saves list
Barnsley Resort
597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go to Sherri at the Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Had a work retreat over the weekend, 5 couples. Well appointed for this type of thing. Something to do for everyone (short term).

The good:
The spa is small and I had low expectations; however, I've had my fair share of treatments all over the world and had the best facial ever with Sherri Shelley. My friend had a hot stone massage and also said it was the best she's ever had. Highly recommend the spa.

Food at Woodlands Grill. I definitely recommend this restaurant before Rice House. Try the fried green beans!

The rooms. Our room 1810 had bedroom, living room, separate toilet, bathroom (clawfoot tub and shower) and front and back porch. Lots of space for the price. Bed was SUPER comfortable. Like the Thymes products too.

The bad:
Service was disapointing in the restaurants and horrible in the Beer Garden and we had to complain. I think there were trying, perhaps just lack of training or short staffed. Still, you are paying resort prices you have high expectations. Room for improvement here.

No TV in the bedroom (only in LR) which was a minor inconvenience. Just love to watch TV in bed on vacation!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    49
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
121
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My 18-year-old daughter and I recently spent a Sunday night at Barnsley, courtesy of my sweet husband! We arrived at the property around 2:45pm though check-in wasn't until 3:00. Our room wasn't ready yet, but the concierge brought us complimentary glasses of chilled sparkling wine to enjoy while we waited. We got to our cottage around 3:15, and everything was very pretty and very quiet. We then walked over to the spa for a 4pm massage appointment - the spa is beautifully appointed, and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We were told that, after our massages, we would have use of the spa's whirlpool, steam, sauna, and showers during the rest of our stay. However, while we were enjoying the whirlpool, a staff member came in to tell us that they were closing the facility for the day - it was only 5pm! That was disappointing. So, we got our things out of our lockers and decided to go sit by the pool. That, too, seemed to be closing for the day. I'm not sure if it's a Sunday thing, but the website and materials in our room stated that both the spa and pool were open much later - a little disappointing. When we returned to our room, we noticed that we only had one bathrobe, but housekeeping brought us another one plus extra towels very quickly. Room service dinner was delicious - served hot and well-presented. The bed was outfitted with very soft linens and down comforter. The shower pressure was a bit low but sufficient.

I would definitely return here with my husband when the weather is more conducive to outdoor activities - it was too hot to take advantage of all the property offers in mid-August! I'm looking forward to my next stay!

  • Liked — Very spacious and comfortable
  • Disliked — Early checkout and early spa closing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

My husband and I love this pleasant suprise nestled in the "middle of nowhere" which is part of its charm. You pull in to find a community of houses that are so charming. They have two wonderful restaurants where the service and food are divine. Activities to choose from range from fishing and golf, to just relaxing by the pool. We enjoyed the trails going on a countryside jog. You stay in little houses lining a street and they are so comfortable and cozy. The bathrooms have claw feet tubs. Very victorian. While there are chidren there, it is also very, very romantic as my husband and I chose there for a quick get-away. They have gorgeous gardens which you are free to wander in and about.

  • Liked — So quaint, unique and romantic
  • Disliked — reservations required for dinner
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

I surprised my wife with an overnight stay at Barnsley Gardens resort, and it was great! We stayed in one of their cottages at the back of the resort, and were surprised by a bottle of wine to celebrate our 20th anniversary. A few hours after check in we received a nice bouquet of balloons w/ a card recognizing our anniversary. Room service was excellent for an afternoon appetizer.
The spa was within a short walk and we had a first-class couples massage. Very quite and peaceful as we saw only one other couple. We had dinner at the Woodlands Grille, and although it was almost vacant on a Sunday night at 7pm, it was wonderful. Service was thorough and professional but never hovering. Steak and Duck were perfect. The staff were well-groomed and attractive young adults. After dinner we walked to the garden & ruins. Beautiful place. A bride and her husband were eating dinner in one of the rooms and we discreetly exited the area. The next day we had a great breakfast and walked the trails.
For a first time visit, nothing was left to chance. The entry gate guard has us on the list and directed us in. The staff escorted us to the cottage and advised us of all the things to take advantage of. Only complaints - Woodland Grille was hot and needed better AC, we did not have a daily paper in our room, the TV's speakers were broken (in 1910 cottage) and the staff delivering the balloons interrupted our quite time in the bedroom. They discreetly put the balloons on the mantel and left. Hey, who needs TV and the paper? I will be back if the rates stay down.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — heat in dining room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed overnight at BG June 22, 2007. It was only about an hour from our house in N. Metro Atlanta, so it was an excellent "jaunt." We got a decent price since we checked in on Sunday evening and only stayed one night, but for $484 we received a night's lodging, dinner (anything on the menu) at the only restaurant that was open at the time (wine was extra), a bottle of wine in our room, king bed, and a couples massage the next day. When you break down the price, you almost couldn't do that piecemeal on your own.

It was hot when we arrived, but a brief rain shower cooled it down a bit. The grounds are beautiful and the ruins of Barnsley "castle" were interesting. Bring your walking shoes because there are 12.5 miles of trails, a lot of it gardens, that you can casually meander. Pets are welcome for a $75 p/day charge and we saw lots of people we two large dogs with them. The lodging consists of nice little cottages, with all the amenities (sinks, coffee pots, sat. tv., large tub, small refrigerator, cd player). It really was a home away from home.

We didn't play the golf course, but it looked beautiful and wide open for those of us who...um...slice or hook off the tee. There is also a small bocce and crocket area for an after-dinner game with your family.

If you're looking for a place that you can stay onsite and just relax, BG is the place for you.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — The heat
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Wife and I were a bit saddened that the weather turned chilly and rainy on us in early spring during our stay. But no boo-hooing. We made the best of it at their clubhouse, spa, and kept a loaded fireplace roaring all evening long.

The morning cleared up, we explored the garden paths and the ruins and.... well it was all in all a fantastic trip.

My tip: bring your own bottles of wine! Cause definitely resort prices at the bar and for room service. Since you have your own little fridge you can easily save $$$ packing your own wine and picnic goodies!

cheers

  • Liked — Comfy rooms, fireplace, fridge, huge bath, ruins
  • Disliked — bit far of a drive
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Barnsley Gardens Resort is a high class place with service to kill for. Great guest service people, truly friendly and concerned about making your stay perfect! The Outpost, which runs some of the resorts activities was staffed by the friendliest and most knowledgeable staff I have encountered. Wonderful accomodations and a spa that is out of this world.

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnsley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley Resort

Address: 597 Barnsley Gardens Road, Adairsville, GA 30103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Adairsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Adairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 60 miles north of Atlanta, Barnsley Resort welcomes guests into a storybook setting of incomparable service. Encompassing 3,300 acres, the historic Barnsley Gardens offers a unique experience. Accommodations at Barnsley Resort are located within 36 unique guest cottages inspired by the architecture of Andrew Jackson Downing. There are 90 guest rooms and suites to choose from, or you may also reserve an entire cottage. Whether looking for a relaxing getaway weekend, strategic meeting or an elegant wedding, guests will discover a retreat of privacy and perfection. Amenities include gourmet dining, an award winning spa, and exciting recreational choices such as world-class golf, a 15 station sporting clays course and hunting at SpringBank Plantation - Georgia's most unique hunting preserve, and horseback riding along scenic trails. Other amenities include hiking, biking, paintball, Frisbee golf, tennis, swimming, fishing, garden tours, historical museum and more. Opportunities to explore the immaculate gardens and historic ruins should not be missed during your visit to this one-of-a-kind resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your Barnsley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley Gardens Hotel Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Adairsville
Barnsley Gardens Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.