We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JD's Bar-B-Que

JD's Bar-B-Que
4424 S. Main St, Acworth, GA 30101
770-974-8434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 106 Restaurants in Acworth
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
1 review
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The location, building and staff are nice, but the BBQ isn't that great. I would rather have Sonny's or Williams Brothers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service, and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went to JD's with friends and family and found it is their 2nd. location-very nice building with very good BBQ in a heaping full plate I had trouble finishing!
Lot's of good food for the money-clean, new, and nice-I'll be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

JD's started out with a little hole in the wall place over in Woodstock on Bells Ferry Rd. We had eaten there multiple times, and were excited when the new one opened up on Main St. in Acworth. We have now eaten at the new one multiple times, and have never been disappointed. We have had pork, chicken, plates, salads, and wings. Their Brunswick stew is tasty, their deep-fried corn on the cob (fresh corn, not frozen) is really good, slaw is good, meat is good, garlic bread is good. They make their own sauces and dressings. The building is a restored old school house from the early part of the 1900's, and it is a comfortable place with high ceilings and a few antiques for decor. Tea is served in mason jars, and a roll of paper towels sits on your table for wiping hands and mouths. We make it a point to visit at least once every 2 weeks! They have a nice outdoor deck for having your meal in nice weather. Good stuff!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eat the loaded chicken spud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I've eaten at JD's about 6 times. The loaded chicken spud is by far my favorite item on the menu. They start with a huge baked potato rolled in salt. Then the add grilled diced chicken, bacon crumbles, cheese, ranch dressing and I add their sweet bbq sauce. It is delicious! And often times I can eat 2 meals off of 1 potato. I've tried the pork bbq and I like it. I did not care for their brisket, however. The sides are ok. Eat the spud!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hoo Boy, that's good barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is my favorite place for Friday night takeout. Chopped pork with double fries is the real winner. You can easily make 4 sandwiches out of 1 plate. Yummy desserts and really fine iced tea.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to JD's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JD's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.