We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rico's Mex Mex Grill

Rico's Mex Mex Grill
3770 Southside Dr, Acworth, GA 30101-5152
770-917-9791
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 105 Restaurants in Acworth
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Had dinner with my wife tonight. Sat on the patio which was very comfortable and quiet..The wait staff was attentive and delivered our chips and drinks quickly. We order combination entrees. The food tasted great and the portion sizes were generous. The drinks were good and the music from inside wasn't bothersome. The prices were what you'd expect for mexican and reasonable. We'll be back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“#1 in Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We love Rico's - lunch menu on Sat until 3! Great deal for the family. Mexican is a family favorite and Rico's is our first choice. Its small but they always seem to have enough room for all.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pure disappointment!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I really don't know what to say about this place. It's a very small place. Not very fancy. I walked inside and the first thing I noticed was the fact that EVERYONE was wearing coats. Well, we sit down, and I quickly realize why there coats are on but I tell my wife, it will probably warm up in a few minutes. Hahaha it only got colder. Did I mention that my waitress had on a Eskimo coat!!! Anyhow, I get my order and it's COMPLETELY wrong... But, after sitting there FREEZING for awhile, I was just glad to have warm food in front of me. So, I ate it. It was actually EXCELLENT FOOD. I've been told by several of there EX customers that this place has really gone down hill over the past year or so.... The restaurant itself is just not appealing to the eye at all.... Kinda reminds me of those old barbecue shacks where u throw your peanut shells on the floor. So..... Use your own judgement when thinking about going there.... The food is great but you may leave with frostbite... That is why I can only give it 2stars at best.......This is the 2nd restaurant in 2weeks without heat!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“High hopes but just alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Glad I didn't see the C health dept rating before I ate! I heard this place had great food and low prices but I was disappointed.

The restaurant is small and not real visually appealing. The wall by us had sloppy patchwork done on it and touch up paint in spots that was a different shade of purple.

My man and I kept our winter coats on the whole time as the restaurant was cold. I got the veggie quesadilla as it was one of the few vegetarian options on the lunch menu. It actually arrived in just a folded tortilla, not a usual quesadilla.

My guy ordered the lunch #1 which was a cheese enchilada and a bean burrito but when it was delivered it was 2 beef burritos! That was my other option! If I ordered that I would have had to sent it back. He ate it because he said it was good but he was really wanting a burrito and cheese enchilada!

Well, I had to try it out. Sorry, La Bamba, for cheating on you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be our favorite...what has happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

When this place opened it quickly became our favorte! Fresh and perfect simple fare. Not your normal canned beans and packaged rice. Not the usual chile relleno mush on a plate. Serioulsy. We LOVED this place! Then, about a month ago, we went and ordered our usual and it was not good. Meaning, it was just like every other box Mexican place. The beans were actually dry and the rice tasted like it came out of a microwave package with no depth of flavor like it did before. The chile relleno was a great disappointment. It was like a scoop of mush plopped on the plate and inside was a sliver of a piece of bell pepper. What happened to the poblanos? We were so disappointed. Waited a few weeks and went back. This time the beans weren't dry but everything else was like the last visit except this time a sliver of bell pepper was on top of the chile relleno. Have they changed ownership? Not sure I wan't to try again but honestly, we had probably been there 20 times before and always loved it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rico's Mex Mex Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rico's Mex Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rico's Mex Mex Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.