We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on me” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sicilian Oven

Sicilian Oven
20475 Biscayne Blvd, Unit 1802, Aventura, FL 33180
(305) 682-1890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Aventura
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aventura
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shame on me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Second visit to this restaurant. My wife and I ordered a large cheese-less pizza with chicken and spinach. At least one other table was served before us even though our order was taken first. It took about 30 minutes to be served. Our pizza arrived severely burned. When we asked the server about it he replied with a straight-face: "that is the way it comes." The chicken was dry of course and there was virtually little sauce. And whatever sauce was on the pizza was not evenly applied. Eventually, the manager was called over, apologized graciously, and promised us another one in just a couple of minutes. The new one arrived about 10 minutes later. Happily, it was not burned. However, again there was very little sauce. When we asked the manager why there was little sauce he explained we should have asked for the traditional pizza. Is it not incumbent on the person taking our order to explain there were two types? Though not culinary professionals, we think, more sauce on a cheese-less pizza would definitely be better. While acknowledging it was our responsibility to read the menu thoroughly, given that we complained about little sauce on the first (burned) pizza how much of a clue would the manager need to make a suggestion for the second one?

On top of that, our daughter, who ordered a cheese pizza with mushrooms got a cheese pizza without mushrooms. No effort whatsoever was made to correct that mistake. Our daughter was happy enough because the server managed to deliver her pizza to the table without dropping it which occurred the first time we were there.

Fool me once shame on me. Fool me twice...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italianiano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great salad, special "vegetable" lasagna, good soups
thin crust pizza very average (had margharita style)
quality of mozzarella leave something to be desired

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.W. Arkansas
1 review
“Finally an evening of everything that is right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We eat out a lot and travel a lot. It is rare that all things come together as it did Tuesday evening at the Sicilian Oven. We were greeted by Dan and our experience started right then and there. He was so enthusiastic about showing us how to enjoy the most variety of food without over doing it. We became excited before we even had any food. He was training a lady named LA and she did a fantastic job too. Dan suggested we have a starter with a rice ball and meatball. Both melted in our mouths. We have traveled to Sicily and this compares to that in every way, well maybe not the old building but the food was authentic. During our meal Pedro Fernandez stopped by our table no less than three times to make sure everything was fine and it always was. I don't know if he is the owner, manager or what but he made us all feel well taken care of and watched over. The next course was the Sicilian salad. Our waiter Dan suggested we order a small for the three of us so we wouldn't be too full for the rest of dinner. It was so fresh and different. It felt light and had so many flavors to it. It truly was a unique salad. We loved it. Next we ordered two small pizza's one was sausage and mushroom and the other was a small with pepperoni, sausage, and sliced meatball. Both with fresh mozzarella. They both were so very good. To top the meal we all split two desserts of cannoli's (fabulous!) and Tiramisu equally as good. The whole evening was just a great experience and one that is hard to find where the service, food, price and atmosphere all come together. I will definitely go back every chance I get!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food and Drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is good honest Italian food served in a pleasant atmosphere. Very good pizza and excellent meatballs.
House Sicilian salad is also excellent. A very good choice for a reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Neighborhood haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This restaurant is around the corner from our home. Everything except from the pizza is excellent!
The Sicilian salad and the soups are supper!!
We visit at least twice a week!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sicilian Oven also viewed

 

Been to Sicilian Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sicilian Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.